BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Predator (Kay Scarpetta Series #14)

Average Rating 2.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic but different

Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time ...
Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so good

In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in ...
In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

posted by kat5900 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    not so good

    In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic but different

    Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I don't know why there were so many negative reviews on "Pr

    I don't know why there were so many negative reviews on "Predator"! I am half way thru & it's great! Perhaps the readers who dissed it were reading the books out of order. Because of the poor reviews from readers, I got the book from the library first. When I realized it was good, I went ahead & bought it for my Nook. I will take readers' reviews less seriously in future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Dissapointed reader

    I have read many of Cornwells books but did not like this book at all. I wish I would have read the reviews before I ordered this book. I will never order another nook before reading the reviews. I'm sure I will never read another Cornwell book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I have been an avid Patricia Cornwell/Kay Scarpetta reader and fan for many years, but this book was truly disappointing. The book itself was a horribly slow read, whereas with most of this series I haven't wanted to put them down once I started reading. I also feel like the main characters (Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy and Marino) are changing, and not in a positive way. Bring back the old characters!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I too have really enjoyed the Kay Scarpetta books, but this one stinks! I wish I had trusted the bad reviews, but I really hoped they were wrong. I won't waste my time on characters that I no longer even like. I won't try another Scarpetta book and that is sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Complex, confusing, very hard to follow.

    I loved the Kay Scarpetta books 1 through 10. Then she changed point of view from first person to third omni, as well as switched from past tense to present tense. It bothered me. But the quality of the stories has taken a nosedive, and "Predator" is the penultimate example. There are more untied strings in this book than in a kindergarten class. New sections start with "he" or "she," leaving the reader to guess or read ahead to figure out what's going on, and often it's never clear. Clues the author inserted drift into the ether and are never explained. I am sorry, for I really loved the early books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I wanted to love this book. I've always enjoyed the stories of Kay Scarpetta, Marino, Benton Wesley, and Lucy. Even the premise of PREDATOR intrigued me-- Benton is heading a new program where he studies the brains of volunteer test subjects, mostly convicted felons of heinous crimes. He hopes to find a scientific and physical reason for why people do the things they do, and sets out to find if the molecular make-up or abnormalities of the brain cause people to commit vicious crimes against each other. Sounds good, right? <BR/><BR/>It could have been a great story. There's a plot, of course, where people are dying, strange events are taking place with related murders that seem random, and where an inmate might hold the key to solving the deaths. <BR/><BR/>The problem is I wanted to shoot almost each and every character that I've grown to love over the years. Benton Wesley is his same, staid self, and I don't have too many complaints about his behavior in PREDATOR. After all, the guy is back from the dead, and I'm happy about that. Kay Scarpetta, on the other hand, has turned into an alternately brooding/b***y whiner. Marino is a bad-boy-wannabe who now talks in monosyllables such as "mmm" and "mmm-hmm". And Lucy. Sigh. What the HECK has happened to Lucy? As if it wasn't bad enough that in Cornwell's last book, TRACE, Lucy was involved with a psycho-woman, in PREDATOR she's doing all the stupid things she did last time, except this time her involvement with a physcho-woman might get her killed. <BR/><BR/>What has happened to my favorite characters? I was eagerly anticipating the release of PREDATOR, only to be so let down that I've decided to wait and rent each new Patricia Cornwell release from the library. <BR/><BR/>I gave the book three stars for the basic plot, which was interesting. If I had to rate the behavior of the characters, it would be in the negatives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Gripping ... until the end...

    I've read all of the Kay Scarpetta books ... this one was by far the most difficult to follow. I couldn't put the book down until the last few chapters. I became so confused by the plot that I had to scan through the other chapters to see if I missed something. It is an interesting book ... but she could have explained everything in more detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2014

    Awful and nonsensical 

    Awful and nonsensical 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Kared

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Bounty hunter

    .....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Not recommended

    This book was long and tedious. The story did not unfold to the point it made sense until the last 25 pages. Too much psychological babble, too much Benton, Lucy and Marino and not enough of Dr. Scarpetta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Kala

    She walked in. She looked to be in her mid twenties. "Im here. Lets do this."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Not Bad But Cornwell Usually Does Better

    I've read the series up to this point, of course. In general, I have enjoyed them very much although certainly some have been better than others. The problem with this segment is that plot development becomes confusing as the author attempts to build suspense by jumping from story line to story line. This is a common technique used by many/most writers of this genre but sometimes it is difficult to determine which story line I'm reading, and therefore I found the book confusing at times. If you are reading the series, you must read this segment because there are what appear to be important character developments that I suspect will affect future books in the series. But unlike some other Kay Scarpetta episodes that I found hard to put down, this one at times seems like a chore to get through because of confusing plot development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Dofiyodkz

    Grooms herself

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Very good

    Love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a huge let down

    I was very disappointed in Predator. The plot did not have any substance to it at all. It did not hold my attention and I had to literally force myself to finish it.

    I have read the entire Scarpetta series and loved every book except Predator.

    I would not reccomend this book for a stand-a-lone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You Go Kay Scarpetta!

    Dr. Kay Scarpettta works for the National Forensic Academy in Florida. She sees all kinds of horrendous crimes and murder's, but thank goodness she has a great team to back her up and work with. Now changing the subject, what the heck is with all these one star review's? This book was great, and as Kay Scarpetta gets older so do we. If there were no changes in these books, just think how boring they would be. You go Patricia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Ms. Cornwell does it again!

    The Kay Scarpetta stories are some of my favorites of all time (I keep them all), and I am as happy with this installment as the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11