Customer Reviews for

Predator (Kay Scarpetta Series #14)

Average Rating 2.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic but different

Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time ...
Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so good

In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in ...
In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

posted by kat5900 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Dissapointed reader

    I have read many of Cornwells books but did not like this book at all. I wish I would have read the reviews before I ordered this book. I will never order another nook before reading the reviews. I'm sure I will never read another Cornwell book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I have been an avid Patricia Cornwell/Kay Scarpetta reader and fan for many years, but this book was truly disappointing. The book itself was a horribly slow read, whereas with most of this series I haven't wanted to put them down once I started reading. I also feel like the main characters (Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy and Marino) are changing, and not in a positive way. Bring back the old characters!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I too have really enjoyed the Kay Scarpetta books, but this one stinks! I wish I had trusted the bad reviews, but I really hoped they were wrong. I won't waste my time on characters that I no longer even like. I won't try another Scarpetta book and that is sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Complex, confusing, very hard to follow.

    I loved the Kay Scarpetta books 1 through 10. Then she changed point of view from first person to third omni, as well as switched from past tense to present tense. It bothered me. But the quality of the stories has taken a nosedive, and "Predator" is the penultimate example. There are more untied strings in this book than in a kindergarten class. New sections start with "he" or "she," leaving the reader to guess or read ahead to figure out what's going on, and often it's never clear. Clues the author inserted drift into the ether and are never explained. I am sorry, for I really loved the early books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2014

    Awful and nonsensical 

    Awful and nonsensical 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Never again will I read her books

    I first read Isle of Dogs and couldn't understand why everyone loved Patricia Cornwell. I felt like I was tripping at a Dead concert. Everyone told me to give her another try. I must have taken the bad acid. The third person point of view doesn't really get you into the characters, everyone has a secret or a reason for something but they don't let you in on it. I thought maybe it was because I didn't read the other books but after reading the reviews I'm not alone. I didn't finish because everytime I picked up the book, I had to backtrack and then I felt angry. Her books make me ANGRY. Life's too short, pass this one up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Never Another Cornwell!

    I noticed a change in Cornwell's writing right after she wrote the Jack The Ripper book: She's caught up in her own glory. Leaving behind the formula that took her to the top of the Bestsellers List, she became lazy and started being inconsistent in her story lines and 'facts' surrounding them. Then, to compound matters greatly, she began to flaw her characters. Whether because she wanted to be seen as a 'serious' writer or because she ran out of ideas ... it was a gigantic mistake. With 'Predator,' she has finally sounded the death knell for her series. Her characters are so flawed none of them are even remotely likeable. Never again will I waste my 'too' large reading budget on a Cornwell-written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Not the usual story layout

    What a bummer. I have been a huge fan of the Scarpetta series and had to force myself to finish it. In this one, Marino was the only one I liked. The interaction between every character was forced. Boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    What has happened to the author?

    Last book I will read in this series. There is no humanity in any of Ms. Cornwells last few books. No life is completely humorless or black and dismal all of the time. Most of her characters in the last few books exist in a vaccuum, all are in some type of trouble, there is not one spark of normalacy in any of the lives written about in these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Cornwell has lost it

    I've been a loyal fan of Cornwell, especially with the Scarpetta series, but her last few books have stunk!! She must be going through a personal crisis to make all her characters so depressed. And I really dislike the third person, present tense writing. The ending is a complete let down anti-climatic and boring. All the build up, for what? A lot of story line that is a waste. Never before in her books have I been so disgusted with the arrogance of her characters. They all know some secret that nobody else on the planet can possibly figure out. Why? Because they are so much smarter than the rest of us poor schmucks. They embody a false sense of high intelligence that allows them to outwit everyone they come into contact with. And they have too. After all, they know the 'secret' and have to guard it 24/7. And I'm tired of reading about the wealth of Lucy and Benton and all their toys. BTW, they never seem to work they just brood and play with all their expensive equipment. My advice, stay away from this book. As a med student, I have little time for 'fun' reading. I'm sorry I wasted my precious time on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Who are these characters?

    Would give this a 'zero' if that was an option. Made it to Chapter 48, not sure I can finish this one. It is so choppy that you need to review previous page or so. The characters all seem like they need therapy. Why are they so angry with each other & depressed. Been a fan for years but after reading reviews of Cornwell's other recent ones, think I'm tossing in the towel. Early ones in series were very good. 'So Many Books, So Little Time'. Think will spend my precious time with some other recommended authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Total Crap

    What a disappointment! I won't go into the reasons - they've all been mentioned before. When I first started reading the Kay Scarpetta series I couldn't get enough of them. After a while I had to take a break because the characters were getting increasingly depressing & the storylines sucked. This book is the worst yet. I'm so weary of my favourite authors disappointing me (and wasting my money!) For example: Catherine Coulter's FBI series, James Patterson's 'Alex Cross'. I'm about to start 'Mary Mary' so we'll see. This one got more good reviews than bad, so I'm hoping. Bottom line.....Kay and Co. need to get some serious therapy or at the very least, a group hug. Either that, or I'M going need therapy before I tackle another Scarpetta book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Buyer/Reader Beware

    What a shame that the once-spectacular Scarpetta series has been reduced to this poor excuse for a suspense-crime procedural. The early books, especially 'Postmortem' and 'Body of Evidence,' were can't-put-them-down good. Smart, innovative, informed, challenging and downright fun and suspenseful to read. As the later novels have been churned out with increasing speed and, seemingly, decreasing care, their quality has gone into a tailspin. The plot of 'Predator' is utterly nonsensical and drags on uninterestingly for a couple hundred pages before there's a wholly unforeshadowed and unbelievable 'twist' of an unending that is just cheap and lazy. The principal characters--Kay, Marino, Lucy and Benton--have become each less likeable than the one before. If I have to read another page about Kay's problems with Benton or her inability to communicate with Lucy, I'm going to scream. That's it for me. I'm going to take a break from Kay Scarpetta. Patricia Cornwell should too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Where did she go?

    I sent this book to consignment before finishing. That has never happened with a Patricia Cornwell novel. Plot, people, motives were all confusing and didn't connect. I so miss the original Kay Scarpetta novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    not even 1 star!

    This is such a boring and confusing story (like the two previously) Not the Kay Scarpetta I loved in all those novels written in first person style. I only read this one because I was given the book. Please go back to they way they were written- the strong Kay character who led you through all the thrills and spills of the story - not the way the last three have been written - all the characters seem to be so different to what they were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Confused and bothered

    I recently began reading the Scarpetta series, although not in order apparently because when I read Point of Origin Benton Wesley died and I was devastated and wondered what the new storyline would be like without him only to find him alive and well in Predator which ended without explaining about Lucy's health, Marino's turning on Kay, and whatever happened to Amos and what did he do with the missing shotgun. And don't forget the murdered twin doctor whose death was never explained. All the gore left me feeling unsettled and I don't plan to read anymore of her books for now. What a shame - I enjoyed the earlier stories very much. Too much darkness has crept into the characters' lives for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Why the anger, Patricia?

    As I read this book I started to feel real anger coming out at me. I felt her last novel was the same way. No warmth from Kay Scarpetta, only anger. I felt it. I didn't like it. Is this anger a new twist in her writing or does this author really need some psychological help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    What has happened to Cornwell and Scarpetta

    I have been a huge Cornwell fan who was addicted to the Scarpetta series. Key word is WAS. What has happened? The books are not written as if Scarpetta is telling the story anymore, huge dissapointment for me. I love reading a Scarpetta novel and have Scarpetta talking to me. This book took me so long to finally get into it, I felt as if I kept reading out of obligation, then when it finally started to pick up a little it was over. Just like that. As if Cornwell didn't feel like writing it anymore. As if she got bored. I miss the old Scarpetta novels, I miss the medical examiner. I know that things change, life changes, but I don't even know what Scarpetta does now, nor do I understand Lucy anymore. What has happened to her? What has happened to Lucy and Scarpetta's relationship and Marino and Scarpetta's relationship? It's as if no one even likes each other anymore. I really hope that Cornwell brings back the old magic and the suspense which is what got me hooked to begin with. As you can tell I'm dissapointed and I think my review is longer than this book. I don't even want to give it one star but I didn't have an option for none. I'm sorry Patricia. I guess I'm not one for drastic change with a snap of my finger. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Predator (Kay Scarpetta Series #14)

    Ughh! What a dreadful book! Not at all like some of the earlier PC books. Lucy's lesbian love life seems to be a central theme now! Also, the book is written in present tense which makes for very difficult reading. I wouldn't recommend this one to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Disappointed Reader

    I have read all the Scarpetta books, and enjoyed most of them. Not this one. Cornwell should stick to dead bodies -- mental illness is not her thing. I'm glad I got this book at the library rather than purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4