BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Predator (Kay Scarpetta Series #14)

Average Rating 2.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic but different

Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time ...
Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so good

In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in ...
In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

posted by kat5900 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    not so good

    In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Not recommended

    This book was long and tedious. The story did not unfold to the point it made sense until the last 25 pages. Too much psychological babble, too much Benton, Lucy and Marino and not enough of Dr. Scarpetta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a huge let down

    I was very disappointed in Predator. The plot did not have any substance to it at all. It did not hold my attention and I had to literally force myself to finish it.

    I have read the entire Scarpetta series and loved every book except Predator.

    I would not reccomend this book for a stand-a-lone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Will the real Patricia Cornwell please stand up?

    This book left me feeling like I had been through a washing machine, all tossed around. I don't know what happened to the fluid, exciting style that was in her earlier books but something is definitly missing. I read the book, but it was difficult the way she jerked the reader from one character to another. I was very dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Bonnie--Disappointed With Scarpetta

    I cannot understand what is happening with this series. As an avid reader, I am extremely disappointed in Cornwell's last few Kay books. I don't know what is happening to this series, but I don't like it. This one was particularly confusing. She switched gears so quickly I had to re-read some pages. The book got really interesting towards the end. I have always been one to run right out and buy this series when it comes out. One more book like this and I won't be doing that anymore. Bring back the nail biting suspense from the beginning of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Needs a second reading to understand

    I think the only way to understand what is going on in this book is to read the last couple of chapters first or to read the book twice. The way it's presented is confusing and hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    too many red herrings

    the conclusion was by divine machination and there were too many characters that didn't seem to have much to do with the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    Very confusing

    I have read all the the Scarpetta novels. I kept thinking I missed a book between this one and Trace but I didn't. I couldn't understand why the characters where behaving the way they were. Something was definitely missing in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Disappointing

    Patricia Cornwell¿s books used to be reliable forensic mysteries with a fine balance between science and fiction. Most recently the balance has been leaning toward science this makes Predator a rather boring read lacking the usual character development and interaction that made them so enjoyable. I found the story line confusing and incomplete.. definitely a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Could Have Been Good

    First of all, she never explained the hands and left it dangling. Much, too much scientific jargon. Then she has to insert a touch of her political agenda (always a turn off in a novel) when her own characters are intruding in the privacy of others lives. She left parts of the story unexplained and unfinished. I still don't know who killed some of the people I can alway take a w.e.g. The ending was not only irrational but stupid. She must have had to hurry to a date. Very sloppy! I was reluctant to buy this book as I found her others missing. She must get on the Best Seller's list for some other reason than her talent. I will not make the mistake of buying another of her novels. She should sell her ideas to a real author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Where has the writer gone?

    I agree with many of the previous reviews, this was the worst PC book I have read. It was long and boring and there was never a conclusion. One has to assume that Helen was all of the villans in the book except? Joe Amos. Does anyone know, including Patricia?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    What's going on here?

    I've read all of the early books and have skipped the last few because I lost interest, but thought I would check in on Kay Scarpetta, a character I thoroughly enjoyed. Sorry to say I was disappointed throughout the book and especially at the end! What? I actually looked for a missing page at the end of the book that would make sense of the story and give some closure. What happened, Patricia?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Character Assassination and Reader Body Count

    This book lacked originality and depth that we had grown so accustom to with Cornwell¿s style of writing. With previous work I walked away learning so much about the field of forensics, the mind of a serial killer and how human nature adds the unknown element towards the outcome of the story. With this book it seemed the author by passed researching and spent the entire time assassinating the main characters of her book, almost as if she purposely set out to end readers demand for more of these characters. I believe this author is capable of making this transition without such a high body count of readers. Case in point, James Patterson and Women's Murder Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Ending?

    Have always loved Scarpetta and have been reading this series for 10 years. I followed the muddy plot twists, but honestly thought pages were missing from my copy of this book. There was no ending! Did anyone understand what was supposed to happen at the end? Nothing tied together. Please advise! Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Patricia's getting worse...

    Ten years ago Patricia Cornwell was my favorite author. I have read every book in the Scarpetta series. I waited with bated breath for each new title. Well, things have changed, her books have become steadily worse from about the last 4 onward. Each time I open a new one I think, 'this has got to be better.' Instead, they get more murky and so hard to follow that if I wasn't absolutly looking for some redeaming quality, I would toss the book (which, by the way, I don't do). I am thouroughly discusted by the characters development in this latest disaster. Who is Marino? Certainly not the Pete I knew. What about Lucy? Lets get some clarity here!!! The relationship between Kay and Benton is also not explained very well. I'm sorry but one of Patricia Cornwell's biggest fans is about to say goodbye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Me, too

    I am a Patricia Cornwell fan yet I am aomg the many who were very disappointed in Predator. I reread the book to see if I had read it right but it didn't get any better the second time around. I didn't care for Trace or Blowfly, either. I prefer the first person style of writing. I just can't seem to get into her new form. I will continue to buy the books because I feel that if Patricia reads the reviews of this and the previous 2 books, she will get the picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    From Pat a reader

    I have read all of Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta series and this was the most disappointing of the set. It moved much to slowly in the beginning and was at times hard to follow the characters. The ending was unsatisfying. After following the characters, trying to weave them into a plot the end simply dropped off, leaving you waiting and wanting more. Hope the next in the series is better, and I will read the next one. I still like Scarpetta and friends !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    lol from texas

    I, too, have read all of Cornwall's books, amd am sorely disspointed in this one. It reads more like a manual on forensic crime than a story about a crime. I wish she would go back to original, caring, interconnecting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Not only the corpses were disjointed in this book

    I am a huge Cornwell fan but this book was very disappointing. The storyline was very disjointed and even the major characters and their conversations with each other were lacking in continuity and emotion. In fact, Lucy and Scarpetta only had one conversation in the whole book. It is the interaction between the recurring characters that I find most fasinating. All in all, I would not recommend this book to even the most diehard Scarpetta fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    I was disappointed

    This is the second time that I have vowed to stop reading Patricia Cornwell. This time I am sticking to it. Her earlier work was much better, and she seems to continue her decline with every new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3