Customer Reviews for

Predator (Kay Scarpetta Series #14)

Average Rating 2.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic but different

Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time ...
Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not so good

In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in ...
In the past I have really liked the Patricia Cornwell books, but this book spends way to much time on how personally scarred this group of people are. While I like some back story about the characters there was too much time spent on things other than the "predator" in the story. I would try to get it from the library or from a friend and don't spend your money on it. I hope her other books are better.

posted by kat5900 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic but different

    Dr. Kay Scarpetta is now working at the Natural Forensic Academy where she is the director of forensic science and a consulting forensic pathologist for the Broward County Medical Examiner¿s office. Pete Marino works there as the head of investigations and a part-time death investigator for the Broward County¿s Medical Examiner¿s office. Benton Wesley is at Harvard working on PREDATOR, a study using cutting edge technology to discover whether the brains of mass murderers are different than the average person................ Hog calls Pete Marino who asks Scarpetta to look into the Johnny Swift case. Johnny¿s twin brother discovered him dead. Evidence at first suggested suicide but now the theory is murder might have occurred. Lucy Farinelli,, Kay¿s niece is tracking Johnny¿s last days in the hopes of getting some answers because he was special to her. She picks up Stevie for a one night stand and notices tattoos on her breasts and buttocks. Benton, who is asked to examine a body sees the same tattoos that were on Stevie¿s body. A thug is keeping track of Benton while Kay needs to find the key that will unlock the answers they all seek................. This is a very different book then all the other Kay Scarpetta novels as this is told in the third person and is a stand alone book meaning that it doesn¿t require reading previous novels in the series. The key protagonists go their way as if the previous events in their life didn¿t really change them. This crime thriller is a fantastic work with equal parts of action and character development, but as always the research done on the book is scientifically correct and meticulously researched.................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I don't know why there were so many negative reviews on "Pr

    I don't know why there were so many negative reviews on "Predator"! I am half way thru & it's great! Perhaps the readers who dissed it were reading the books out of order. Because of the poor reviews from readers, I got the book from the library first. When I realized it was good, I went ahead & bought it for my Nook. I will take readers' reviews less seriously in future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Kala

    She walked in. She looked to be in her mid twenties. "Im here. Lets do this."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Dofiyodkz

    Grooms herself

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Very good

    Love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You Go Kay Scarpetta!

    Dr. Kay Scarpettta works for the National Forensic Academy in Florida. She sees all kinds of horrendous crimes and murder's, but thank goodness she has a great team to back her up and work with. Now changing the subject, what the heck is with all these one star review's? This book was great, and as Kay Scarpetta gets older so do we. If there were no changes in these books, just think how boring they would be. You go Patricia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Ms. Cornwell does it again!

    The Kay Scarpetta stories are some of my favorites of all time (I keep them all), and I am as happy with this installment as the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Predator

    The book ¿Predator¿ by Patricia Cornwell takes place in modern day time. Set in the Orange State, Dr. Kay Scarpetta who works for the National Forensic Academy in Florida comes across the horrendous crimes of a crazed serial killer. Dr. Scarpetta¿s amazing team consists of Pete Marino (retired detective), Benton Wesley (psychiatrist), and her niece Lucy. They came to put together the odd collection of several horrible crimes and how the crimes are linked to one psychopathic killer. The puzzling key is the first crime set in 2 years ago at a Christmas tree shop. Once those pieces are added with the current crimes the puzzle is completed, the true murderous killer is discovered. The disturbing image of the killer is shown throughout the book as his endless torture of his captured victims and mindless rambling of an unknown purpose for his crazed actions. ¿They strike and strike. They won¿t stop until you rip them off you. If they bite you in a major artery you die. They can shoot there hairs into your eyes and blind you. It¿s very painful. Say you¿re sorry.¿ Said the killer as he tortured his victim with a black widow spider. This is a shear page turner that keeps you on the edge as the bizarre twist and the true identification of the killer is revealed. This book is highly recommended to mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Exciting and Suspenseful

    I love the Kay Scarpetta series!! This latest book was an excellent read. I enjoy the way that Patricia Cornwell draws her readers in and allows them to feel for the characters. The only thing that I did not like was the way that she left the issues of her niece, Lucy and her detective-friend-partner Pete, hanging. There was no closure as far as their personal story lines were concerned. However, I did like the way that their stories were told. The ending was especially spectacular!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am looking forward to the next novel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    PREDATOR!-The Best Since 'Black Notice'!

    Patricia is back on track with this one! I couldn't put it down from start to finish and the ending really makes you think! It was a pleasure reading another Scarpetta novel once again, where the last three lacked much interest or substance, this one deliver's. This book is the best since Black Notice in this series, find it hard to understand why so many didn't agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    Different but very good

    Cornwell's lastest novel is a very good thriller that is hard to put down. The dialogue between the characters is good, especially between Scarpetta and Marino. She did a lot of reseach to get the facts down cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Wow!!! A Great Novel

    Cornwell has come up with a new powerpacked novel. Her character Jay Scarpetta must stop a killer by diving into the psyche of one that is waiting for the hand of death to hold him. This is a great book for any day. May Cronwell live on!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Wonderful Read!

    Patricia Cornwell is a wonderful weaver of stories. This is an intense and exciting story with a good plot and characters. Patricia just keeps getting better and better by expanding these characters we have all grown to love to read more about. WELL DONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    Kay Scarpetta

    Enjoyed the trailer and the preview of this book. Although Benton Wesley was found alive and well in Blow Fly, he will add a great hit with Kay in this new book...I love Patricia Cornwell and can't get enough of Kay Scarpetta!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    THE BEST CORNWELL NOVEL SO FAR!!!

    Absolutely amazing...she's really done it this time..this was so riveting I skipped my work afternoon to finish it..For those who love the science behind the story, this is for you...Cornwell again proves she is an absolute genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Top thriller!

    Predator is a top thriller from a best seller mind! A must own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2