Customer Reviews for

Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn: The Complete Guide

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good book

This book was recommended by my doctor for it's accuracy, and updated information. This being my first child, it has been very helpful to have a book that is backed by my doctor. The information is very valuable, and I use it daily as a resource. I highly recommend this...
This book was recommended by my doctor for it's accuracy, and updated information. This being my first child, it has been very helpful to have a book that is backed by my doctor. The information is very valuable, and I use it daily as a resource. I highly recommend this book.

posted by roosta on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Question

Does this teach you how to self deliver at home?

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Must Read!

    This book is a MUST read! This is my first child and I feel calm and prepared (well, knowledgeable at least) going into childbirth, and that's priceless. I also dog-eared some pages to keep as reference throught the process.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    The only book you will need

    Can't put this book down...love this book! It doesn't make you feel dumb for being a 1st time mom-to be. Also like how the book gives you suggestion questions to ask yourself and those involved in your big adventure. Just enough medical information...some books you need a PhD to be able to read, this book is great for an everyday women. Would highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    A Complete Resource

    I am expecting my first child and as an attorney, I have a research-based approach to learning. I found this book to be extremely informative and easy to read. I have read certain sections over and over and I believe I learn something new each time. I would highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Wow

    For all you expectant mom's out there this is a great pick! It is not only recomended by a lot of mothers it is also on the required reading lists of the doula certification boards.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Great Book

    This book really helped me during my pregnancy. Everything, that happened to me I knew ahead of time thanks to this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient

    Pregnancy, Childbirth And The Newborn Complete Guide is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards® honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books; and Tara Paterson, Certified Parent Coach and founder of the Mom's Choice Awards. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Necessary Reading!

    The only book you'll need as a chilbirth educator, doula, L & D nurse, lactation educator, midwife, or pregnant woman. Its comprehensive guide to the title is the perfect tool to guide us through this very special time in our lives. Thank you, Penny, Anne, and Janet!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Love it !!!!!:):):(

    I LOVE IT!!!!!:):):(:]•••••

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Triplets

    I FEEL SO FAT ON TOP OF ME BEING PREGNENT I AM BLOTED ALL THE TIME

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    A very good resource! A must read!

    This book has so much helpful information on the labor and delivery process. I also like the numerous sections for birth partners. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Great Book

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1