Customer Reviews for

Pregnant by the Warrior

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely LOVED this book!

A friend purchased this book at a local grocery store and highly recommended that I read it. I was turned off by how thin it was and then I saw that it was a Harlequin romance and I didn't think I'd enjoy it. She emphasised how good it was and since we seem to love th...
A friend purchased this book at a local grocery store and highly recommended that I read it. I was turned off by how thin it was and then I saw that it was a Harlequin romance and I didn't think I'd enjoy it. She emphasised how good it was and since we seem to love the same kinds of books, I thought I'd try it. I was engrossed immediately and couldn't put it down until I was done. The characters were well developed. The story was amazing. For such a small book, it really was a well created story. I have purposely steered away from Harlequin books because that's what my Mother read when I was a child. This was the first Harlequin book I read and it has totally changed my attitude regarding this line of books. I am thrilled to read more from Denise Lynn.
A story of young love that was ended because of tragedy with both ends furious with the other. One didn't follow while the other was given a missive thought to be from his betrothed. Years pass and they are reunited soon after her current husband dies in a drowning incident. The sparks are still there, but both minds are at opposite ends of the spectrum. Since they are forced to be together for a temporary time, Lea has an ulterior motive to save her keep. Jared's intentions are to do as his orders require and protect Lea and her keep, but he can't seem to protect her from himself.
The only problem I had with this book was how naive and spoiled the character Lea was. She was well taken care of all her life and had all decisions made for her. How was Jared going struggle with someone that understood the day to day life of running a keep and defending one's property if she wasn't, so it completed the story.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a Highland romance novel.

posted by razreads on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It left a lot to be desired.

Poorly characterized female lead; the plot left a lot to be desired. Initially, one would think that Lea was a strong-willed woman, independent in every way, and fully embodied with her title. But she became indecisive--but not through the events that occurred; that lef...
Poorly characterized female lead; the plot left a lot to be desired. Initially, one would think that Lea was a strong-willed woman, independent in every way, and fully embodied with her title. But she became indecisive--but not through the events that occurred; that left her character poorly thought out. The reason for her "jilt" is not strong enough, given the initial portrayal of her person-past and present. I'm sorry to say that I could barely bring myself to finish it.

posted by flippista on March 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    It left a lot to be desired.

    Poorly characterized female lead; the plot left a lot to be desired. Initially, one would think that Lea was a strong-willed woman, independent in every way, and fully embodied with her title. But she became indecisive--but not through the events that occurred; that left her character poorly thought out. The reason for her "jilt" is not strong enough, given the initial portrayal of her person-past and present. I'm sorry to say that I could barely bring myself to finish it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely LOVED this book!

    A friend purchased this book at a local grocery store and highly recommended that I read it. I was turned off by how thin it was and then I saw that it was a Harlequin romance and I didn't think I'd enjoy it. She emphasised how good it was and since we seem to love the same kinds of books, I thought I'd try it. I was engrossed immediately and couldn't put it down until I was done. The characters were well developed. The story was amazing. For such a small book, it really was a well created story. I have purposely steered away from Harlequin books because that's what my Mother read when I was a child. This was the first Harlequin book I read and it has totally changed my attitude regarding this line of books. I am thrilled to read more from Denise Lynn.
    A story of young love that was ended because of tragedy with both ends furious with the other. One didn't follow while the other was given a missive thought to be from his betrothed. Years pass and they are reunited soon after her current husband dies in a drowning incident. The sparks are still there, but both minds are at opposite ends of the spectrum. Since they are forced to be together for a temporary time, Lea has an ulterior motive to save her keep. Jared's intentions are to do as his orders require and protect Lea and her keep, but he can't seem to protect her from himself.
    The only problem I had with this book was how naive and spoiled the character Lea was. She was well taken care of all her life and had all decisions made for her. How was Jared going struggle with someone that understood the day to day life of running a keep and defending one's property if she wasn't, so it completed the story.
    I would highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a Highland romance novel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow - could this book be any better, I think not

    To save her lands from being taken over by another and forcing the people of her keep to choose war over neutrality Lady Lea of Montreau must become pregnant. This is something she is willing to of course do but with her husband recently drowned it seems an impossible accomplishment. Then the miracle she needs arrives in the package she desires but the man she claims to despise - Lord Jared of Warehaven. He was her childhood love and set to be her husband before she broke it off having found herself incapable of dealing emotionally with a man who might be killed in battle. Lea had lost so many she loved to unjust wars and territorial skirmishes all she craved was peace and knew that Jared would never provide it as a warrior but he was the answer to her problem and he most assuredly could provide her with a child.

    Jared was at Montreau by missive from Empress Matilda his aunt and he is now the lord of her castle and the fate Lea never wanted becomes the nightmare she must live with and this destiny will provide Jared with the revenge he seeks against Lea for leaving him alone at the altar on their wedding day. The only light for Lea is that Jared has always had her heart and the passion that is felt between them is true and sincere and has never gone away. Lea loves him as much today as she did the first time she laid her eyes upon him - he was the man she dreamed about but knew she should not have. Before Jared has even settled his belongings they are entangled between the sheets and reviving the intensity of their passion and creating the child Lea needs. But both soon realize revenge does not taste as sweet when the person you seek it against is your soul mate.

    Trouble soon comes in the form of Lea's brother my marriage who looks to take over Montreau via a number of ruthless and self serving schemes. Lea is ready to counter every action with a reaction even when he shows up with a future husband and a supposed missive stating he is now the legal owner of Montreau. Lea did not see this coming but would that stop her - never. This problem seemed a huge issue but pales in comparison to the explosion that occurs once Jared discovers that Lea is carrying his child and takes the decision away from her regarding her future, their life together and the way life is going to be.

    But can Lea overcome the deep fear she has that Jared will leave one day for battle and not return to her? Is their love strong enough and deep enough to overcome that which is the nightmare she has trouble waking up from. Jared believes they have enough love and passion for one another that nothing can stop them from being together to watch their grandchildren stir up trouble. Lea believes in dreams and understands that sometimes dreams and fates are all that is left and you live the life you are given. Luckily Lea is going to live her life with the man of her dreams.

    The only word to describe this book is WOW! Jared and Lea are such amazing characters and the emotions are felt throughout the book - the sorrow, the love, the passion and especially the fear Lea feels at possibly losing Jared. Their love is intense and hot as all get out but not all consuming. The problems seemed realistic and very real for the time period.

    Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Advice

    Is there sex in this book? I want to know....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Silverfur

    Hello bkuetail. Need anyhelp? Sorry i as late.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Female lead WAAAAY to whiney....

    Loved the leading man in this book, but if I was him, I wouldn't put up with Lea's pathetic self. She is basically a a cry baby throughout the book. The author lingers to much on their past when it could be easily resolved and then move to bigger and better things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4