Customer Reviews for

Prelude to Foundation

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    First and formost you need to read all the empire and robot seri

    First and formost you need to read all the empire and robot series to fully appreciate the depth and brilliance of Azimov's story telling attributes. Do not let yourself miss a great and epic story from beginning to end. If you only read the Foundation series, this is a great place to start. It is a prequel and it sets up the rest of hte series nicely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Very good

    This is the first Isaac Asimov novel I read, and I recommend reading this one before going on to the original Foundation trilogy. Asimov creates a fantastic portrait of humanity thousands of years in the future, and animates a game of cat-and-mouse that plays out as if you were actually there. This book took me to another place and I regret having to come back at the end. I give it four stars because the original Foundation trilogy is impeccably brilliant, especially when one considers that Asimov was only 21 when he wrote them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    AMAZING!

    Absolutely the best of the foundation novels for me! INCREDIBLE ending! i have never been quite as insanely joyously shocked out of my mind when the first huge twist occurred, then the second, then the third left me solidly believing that this is one of asimov's greatest books if read in context with his other writings. i will admit, i guessed who Da-nee and Ba-lee were (in the robot novels) but never expected those last few chapters! a MUST read for any robot/foundation fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Of the Foundation books I've read, this one is my favorite. It i

    Of the Foundation books I've read, this one is my favorite. It is the beginning. It introduces Hari Seldon. I think it is the most entertaining, and I truly enjoy the characters of Hari and Dors. The other novels are about what happens much later, although Hari is still a huge over-riding part of the story. I recommend this book, and even if you don't continue on reading in the series, this will still be an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    A Foundation of Imagination

    I believe this is the first Asimov book that I've ever read. Why it took me so long, I'll never know. What astonished me reading this book, was how many of the themes I have seen throughout movies and other media. I kept finding myself saying, "so that's where so and so got that idea." It would be fair to say that Asimov's Foundation series has doubled as a foundation to other writers and will continue to exert influence for generations to come. And in terms of Asimov's writing style, not only did he inspire my imagination, he also left it up to me to run with. I will adding more or his work to my library as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!! REAL SCI-FI

    THE RATING NEEDS TO BE 5 STAR NOT 3!!(rating system failed) THIS IS ASIMOV AT HIS BEST A MUST READ BEFORE ONE BEGINS READING THE FOUNDATION SERIES. PLEASE CORRECT RATING TO FIVE STARS NOT THREE BEFORE PRINTING. S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Intresrii Intresring

    Good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Griping

    Smooth plot and griping action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    A gripping read

    Vivid language and Asimov's obviously skilled description all contribute to this amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    It is nice to see the beginning story of Hari Seldon and Psychoh

    It is nice to see the beginning story of Hari Seldon and Psychohistory. Asmiov has quickly become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    This is a "prequel" to Asimov's justifiably famous Fou

    This is a "prequel" to Asimov's justifiably famous Foundation Series. While (in my opinion) it is not quite up to the standard of the earlier books, I regard it as a worthwhile read. It is certainly better than the majority of the science fiction being published today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Asimovs Prelude To Foundation

    A non-stop book. Once u started it you will not be able to stop. I was less keen on the sequels but i really loved this book. If nu could choose one modern non classic book I woeld choose this one. Exelent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2