Customer Reviews for

Prelude to a Scandal (Scandal Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Series has the making of Historical Romance Greatness

    We are the accumulation of where we have been and how we have lived our lives up to and including the day we exist in. Each of us has both the visible and invisible scars of what has brought us to the place we presently live our life and in fact the way we live our life and it shows people what we are made of, this character cannot be found in an instructional manual you need real life experiences for depth to your being.

    Lady Justine Fedora Palmer was brought up by unconventional parents who believed in allowing their daughter the full extent of freedom and liberties which were most uncommon for the time and cause a stir when she comes to proper London and tries to assimilate into the Ton. On the other hand Radcliff Edwin Morton, the fourth Duke of Bradford was given a most conventional upbringing but he grew up to be The Rake Extraordinaire and turned a passion into an obsession with an inability to control his cravings.

    Is it possible for just one woman to please a man with a ravenous appetite - well perhaps and when Justine approaches Radcliff with an offer to get her father freed from an unjust incarceration he counters with not a mere relationship but a marriage that will provide him with the one missing piece he feels will complete him - a partner. Justine is convinced she is the person who can save Radcliff but it appears at times she has taken on a completely out of control situation in the form of a husband and wonders if she is woman enough for this man. Is Justine going to be strong enough to convince Radcliff to rid himself of the guilt and shame he walks around with and begin to enjoy life and possible fall in love with her? She is a hopeless romantic who truly knows the depth of Radcliff's soul and wants him to see himself as she does and know that together their partnership is one that will not trap him but set him free.

    The ride they take together in and out of the bedroom is a wild one with mistresses, a French lady's man that is a man, crazy in-laws and some wild requests from the Duchess not the Duke - who saw that coming?

    Delilah Marvelle has always written cutting edge historical romance and is one to test the boundaries and explore the less discussed side of life. Ms. Marvelle never shows darkness without light which is why her books discuss the subjects of addiction and alternative life styles and explore these as fact not fiction but in the context of a back story and how it affects the characters who are the heart of the story. This book will at times shock you but in the end will absolutely pleasure you with romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    readers who relish a profound issues-based historical romance

    In 1829 in London, renowned naturalist the Earl of Marwood is arrested for violating the Buggery law on indecency due to his writing on South African mammal homosexuality. While her dad lingers in Marshalsea Debtors Prison unable to pay the exorbitant fine, his desperate daughter Lady Justine Fedora Palmer, who grew up in Africa, is concerned with freeing her dad from jail. Already a pariah amongst the Ton as she fails to fit, she turns to the notorious Lord of Pleasure dubbed "The Rake Extraordinaire" by the ladies of the Ton, duke Edwin Morton, with the offer of her body in exchange for his help.

    He counters her consideration with a marriage proposal as he feels a female partner will make him whole and he prays end his sex addiction. Not fully understanding his craving, Justine decides to earn his respect while filling his obsessive appetite. Her fear is one woman will never be enough for her rake.

    This is a fascinating late Regency romance that looks deep at several issues through a strong cast. Besides the sexual addiction problem of the Duke of Bradford, which his mistress cleverly manipulates for her gain, fans will relish the presence of Henri a gay servant and Justine's dad whose writings cause trouble for himself, his wife and their daughter. Although the antics of the duke's brother feel intrusive, readers who relish a profound issues-based historical romance will appreciate Delilah Marvelle's powerfully character driven thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A MUST READ HISTORICAL ROMANCE WITH CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES! PRELUDE TO A SCANDAL BY DELILAH MARVELLE...

    PRELUDE TO A SCANDAL by Delilah Marvelle is an exciting historical romance set in 1819 Regency England. This is the first in the "Scandal Series". It is well written depth,details and with
    romance,twists,turns,secrets,sex addiction,sexual conflict,sexual tension,a heroine raised in Africa with non conventional ideas,and a hero with a sexual addiction. Lady Justin Fedora Palmer,who was raised in Africa with her father writing about animal homosexuality and placed in prision she needs the help of The Duke of Bradford. She offers The Duke a proposition,in turn for his help freeing her father she would become his mistress. While The Duke of Bradford is often called "Rake of Extraordinaire" he is fighting his sex addiction,secrets,family issues and refuses to use Lady Palmer.So he offers her marriage instead. This is a compelling story with controversial issues of sexuality. The characters will capture your heart as they deal with issues of family,past,
    and a young lady raised while traveling the world with her parents who sees sexuality different from most of this era. A must read that will have you turning pages. An interesting historical romance read. This book was received for review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at HQN and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Fascinating Read

    Her father imprisoned for demanding rights for sodomites, based on his study of animal habits, Lady Justine Palmer takes matters into her own hands and offers herself as payment to the one man who can rescue her father and clear his name.

    If Justine had not known the Duke of Bradford for most of her life, petitioning The Rake Extraordinaire might have been more daunting if not downright scandalous. Imagine her surprise when Bradford agrees to her request but only if she promises to marry him first. To take a quote directly from Justine's musings "a lady couldn't always avoid a scandal".

    If this is your first experience with the writings of Delilah Marvelle you are in for a treat! The Scandal series takes the reader on a three part adventure that begins with Lady Justine Palmer and the Duke of Bradford, Radcliff E. Morton. Each book is easily a stand alone story but they have a common underlying thread regarding a women's etiquette book entitled How To Avoid A Scandal by an unknown author. In each story the etiquette comes to the forefront of the relationship between the hero and heroine and contributes to the personal growth of both central characters. Ms. Marvelle begins each chapter with an excerpt from the book that gives a lead in to the chapter. One of the aspects of the stories that I found to be really funny was how often what is suggested in the excerpt is exactly the opposite of what either the hero or heroine does within the chapter.

    Be sure to read the author's letter to the reader at the beginning of each book. Not only does Ms. Marvelle share insight into how she came up with the plot but she gives you some terrific historical information that breathes life into the story.

    I had so much fun reading each of the books in this series and simply loved both the hero's and heroines. Justine has lived abroad most of her life and experienced so much more of the real world than most London debutantes that she doesn't shy away from conversations that would make other young ladies blush if not fall into a dead faint. Likewise, Justine isn't afraid to take on Bradford or his somewhat taboo proclivities. She is witty and sometimes downright feisty. I laughed out loud on more than several occasions. For his part, Bradford is just precious. Bless his heart he knows he has a problem and he honestly puts effort into curbing his sexual tendencies but he's been giving in for so long that fighting his desires is downright painful. I couldn't help but fall in love with him right along with Justine, even when his stubbornness is almost the death of their relationship.

    These are so truly beautiful and breathe stealing stories. I'm so thankful I was able to read them back to back as a reviewer because I don't think I would have been a very patient reader if I had had to wait for the February and March releases for Once Upon A Scandal or The Perfect Scandal. After reading this first book in the Scandal series be prepared to add the other two to your "must be read ASAP" list. You won't be sorry!

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Quick paced historical with a modern heroine

    Prelude to a Scandal is the first book in Delilah Marvelle's newest series. Lady Justine is in a bit of a pickle. Her father has been incarcerated for his scandalous, scientific research on the mating habits of animals. Justine creates a proposal to gain the help of her Father's most staunch supporter Radcliff, the Duke of Bradford. She offers Radcliff several nights with her in exchange for helping to secure her father's release from Prison. Radcliffe counter-offers with a proposal of marriage.

    Prelude to a Scandal's plot had me engrossed in the story right from the beginning. The pacing flowed marvelously and the characters both had interesting personalities. Radcliff was unusual in the sense that he has an addiction to sex, so much so that he feels ashamed of his inability to control his physical needs. Justine's personality was different in the fact that as a woman in that time period she felt very refreshing and modern. These two learn to communicate early on in their relationship and have no issues with honesty. But they do have other issues that they must work through.

    I worried a little when starting this book that with the hero having a sex addiction that the content would be very dark. That wasn't the case at all. Even though the subject matter was serious the tone of the book was light and not angsty at all. Sometimes Justine would come across as unfeeling towards Radcliff because she would take a tough love approach to his issues. It felt a little insensitive at times. But for the most part the book has very funny, light mood. I would recommend this book to a historical romance fan who is in the mood for something fun without brooding, moody characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    The best battle of wills I've read in a long time!

    I enjoyedDelilah Marvelle's Gallantry series. It was light, sexy, and romantic. But the beginning of this Scandal series is AMAZING!

    In Prelude to a Scandal, the battle of wills between Radcliffe and Justine is so well written I was turning the pages dying to know which one would win or how they would ever finally come together. Justine, raised in Africa by a scientist father, is intelligent, feisty, and doesn't put up with the politics of London. She knows not only what she wants but what she deserves.

    And Radcliffe? OMG! How can one not love a man who is trying so hard to get over himself? Forced to become a Duke at 14 and take over all the decision-making, Radcliffe has his own hurdles to overcome. Justine may just prove to the most challenging hurdle he has ever faced.

    As if the tantalizing and combative relationship wasn't enough, Marvelle uses the little red etiquette book as a means to provide historical details regarding the expectations of women in the Regency period and juxtapose that against the actual relationship Justine and Radcliffe are trying to hammer out.

    When the battle of wills becomes a battle with oneself that little red book becomes more important than I would have ever imagined. This is exactly the kind of historical romance that transcends time and gives each of us a special gift. Highly Recommended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    The battle of wills is the best I've read in a long time!

    I enjoyedDelilah Marvelle's Gallantry series. It was light, sexy, and romantic. But the beginning of this Scandal series is AMAZING! In Prelude to a Scandal, the battle of wills between Radcliffe and Justine is so well written I was turning the pages dying to know which one would win or how they would ever finally come together. Justine, raised in Africa by a scientist father, is intelligent, feisty, and doesn't put up with the politics of London. She knows not only what she wants but what she deserves. And Radcliffe? OMG! How can one not love a man who is trying so hard to get over himself? Forced to become a Duke at 14 and take over all the decision-making, Radcliffe has his own hurdles to overcome. Justine may just prove to the most challenging hurdle he has ever faced. As if the tantalizing and combative relationship wasn't enough, Marvelle uses the little red etiquette book as a means to provide historical details regarding the expectations of women in the Regency period and juxtapose that against the actual relationship Justine and Radcliffe are trying to hammer out. When the battle of wills becomes a battle with oneself that little red book becomes more important than I would have ever imagined. This is exactly the kind of historical romance that transcends time and gives each of us a special gift. Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    I think I got this one right; it is Wednesday. Earlier today we had a guest post by Travis Hiltz on some graphic novel history (we usually reserve that for Friday) and tomorrow I am putting up a digital short story post we usually pop in on Saturday. Go figure, short week and another awesome holiday, Happy New Year to everyone; I hope you enjoy your festivities.
    Okay business aside let's get into Prelude to a Scandal by Delilah Marvelle. Color me surprised, I am not sure what shade that may be, but that I am. I'm still getting used to reading romance novels and there seems to be a lot of territory the novels in this genre cover. This one is a historical romance with a twist; let's get to the pertinent information shall we:
    " Lady Justine is willing to trade her good name, her reputation and her place in London's gossip-hungry ton to secure her father's release from prison. But when the notorious Duke of Bradford counters her offer with a proposal of marriage, the stakes grow higher still. For while the smoldering lord is famous for his conquests, the man is oblivious to both her devotion and her charms. And Justine is soon afraid she has wagered all for naught. "
    To say that I had some fun with this is understatement. Justine is a really good character: filled with witty banter, right to the point, sharp tongue, and above all she's a handful. Delilah Marvelle sets the time period well and makes the historical element of the novel blend in and be a piece of what we are engaging in, not the whole. The time she has spent researching the period and the patience she has devoted into bringing it to us is not lost, but a very subtle sub current.
    Prelude to a Scandal is a nice way for me to close out the year on Romantic Wednesday. It is a strong, historical romance that is long on entertainment, well- crafted characters, great narrative and excellent sub-plots. I beseech you then, is there much more one could ask of this novel? I think not. Take a leap and have some surprisingly good fun whether you are a fan of this genre or not, let Lady Justine work her charms on you will not be wagering for naught.
    Here is her website:
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Shelfari & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Wattpad and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Amazon Banner on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day. Look for us @ Gelati's Scoop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3