Customer Reviews for

Prep

Average Rating 3.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just Wow...

The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you w...
The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you want to punch her or give you anxiety because she is so awkward. The supporting characters in the book are like-able and are what redeems the book. You feel sorry for them almost. In the end, the book was entertaining enough to get me to finish it. However, as a warning to those of you know prefer to like the main character, I wouldn't suggest this.

posted by EvaGirl2006 on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Hated It

When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, an...
When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, and let others people ruin her life. There is really no climax in this book, and it seems to really have no point. Except maybe that some people like Lee are just cowardly, and choose to never improve their lives. How depressing. I finished this book only because I hoped that there would be a good ending....there wasn't. It's the first book I've ever thrown away. The one thing that drove me crazy about Lee, was that she let her long term crush, that idiotic boy use her, and treat her terribly. The explicit sex scenes that were introduced into the story were not in anyway helpful to moving the plot along, or even helpful to Lee's opinion of herself. He continued to use her, and she let him, and I think it's important to acknowledge that his behavior was not acceptable. The author never acknowledged this. The people in this book made bad decisions, and seemed to continue to make them, thus destroying themselves. This is not a message that I think should be sent out to the public.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    Hated It

    When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, and let others people ruin her life. There is really no climax in this book, and it seems to really have no point. Except maybe that some people like Lee are just cowardly, and choose to never improve their lives. How depressing. I finished this book only because I hoped that there would be a good ending....there wasn't. It's the first book I've ever thrown away. The one thing that drove me crazy about Lee, was that she let her long term crush, that idiotic boy use her, and treat her terribly. The explicit sex scenes that were introduced into the story were not in anyway helpful to moving the plot along, or even helpful to Lee's opinion of herself. He continued to use her, and she let him, and I think it's important to acknowledge that his behavior was not acceptable. The author never acknowledged this. The people in this book made bad decisions, and seemed to continue to make them, thus destroying themselves. This is not a message that I think should be sent out to the public.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Wow...

    The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you want to punch her or give you anxiety because she is so awkward. The supporting characters in the book are like-able and are what redeems the book. You feel sorry for them almost. In the end, the book was entertaining enough to get me to finish it. However, as a warning to those of you know prefer to like the main character, I wouldn't suggest this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Why don't people like this book?

    I read this book a few months ago;and i still look over it from time to time. I absolutley liked this book! Ok,Ok,so i did not LOVE it,but i still liked it. I thought it was a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    For once, an accurate depiction of teen life!

    Curtis Sittenfeld¿s novel, Prep, embodies all of the principles of the quintessential teen novel, yet it still has a message and is an accurate depiction of the cliques, teen angst, and loneliness that we all have to deal with as teenagers. Sittenfeld has neatly captured all of the things that other teen-fiction writers only wish they could describe, and does so while getting across a good point. The main character Lee Fiora changes a great deal through the story, and while some of these changes put her in a bad position, she helps us understand that we must change, no matter how much we want to stay the same. Ms. Sittenfeld has created a masterpiece.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    For me to like a book I do not have to love the main character.

    For me to like a book I do not have to love the main character. I understand that the lack of an obvious plot and the general lack of likability in the main character could really turn people off to this book, I actually really enjoyed this. I think the first thing to understand is that this is NOT a teen novel really. It is more a book for grown women looking back on their teen years, the mistakes we make because we are naive, the friendships we gain and then lose, and the belief that we are wholly different and separated from everyone around us. I am not saying that all teenage girls are at all times naive, shallow, and judgmental I just think the author was concentrating those teen traits into one character. She often times sees everyone else as simple, when she finds out later the opposite is true. She lets a boy use her because at least she is receiving some kind of attention from the boy she is infatuated with. The story is basically her experience in a boarding school during her highschool years. She concludes her prep school experience with a tirade about the school's students and largely acts superior when she is not in fact better than they are. So like I said previously, I think the target audience of this novel is grown women, not high schoolers. Though, High Schoolers might also enjoy this novel if they are prepared for a more bittersweet view of boarding school, rather than a rosy or glamorous one a la gossip girl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Page Turner

    I read this cover to cover in about three sittings. It is kind of like Degrassi Jr High meets East Coast boarding school. That description doesn't do justice to the outstanding writing. The main character is shallow and annoying but you will still for some reason want to keep reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    It wasn't good

    The only book I have read where I absolutely hate the main character. She has no redeeming qualities. We never really know what she wants. She climbed over the people who cared for her but was never fully happy when she got to where she wanted to be. If I could have figured her out I may have liked the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Addicting

    I couldn't stop reading this book. I loved it, I own it and it's deffinently a book that iwll stay in my library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    amazing.

    This book was great, but it was also deep and depressing. very depressing.
    i dont recommend this book to anyone who can't handle sad situations.
    i wanted to cry at the end of each chapter. but dont think i didn't like it because i absolutely love this book. it makes a person think about
    their lives. and it gives an insight to most of the quiet people who sit in your class and do not speak. i love this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I loved this book. No joke. I'm still reading it, but it's not b

    I loved this book. No joke. I'm still reading it, but it's not bad. Really. I got it at a book store for 11.00, and I definately think i got my moneys worth out of it. I don't see why people don't like this book. It's all about preference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Good Read

    Curtis Sittenfeld writes very well. I have enjoyed both this and American Wife.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Great read....characters are very compelling & you felt like you were back in high school again!

    It is like a modern day female Catcher in the Rye

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A horrible book

    I bought this at a book sale for a dollar and believe me, it's not worth that price. This was one of the worst books that i have ever read. The protaginist is a whiny brat who refuses to become friends with anyone and the reader is forced to listen to her for four years. The plot was unorginal and didn't do anything intersting. It was far from being accurate of teen life because being a teen, I have never met such an annoying person. The depections at the end of the book with Cross were unneeded and made me hate this author. If you choose to read this book, don't buy it because it's a waste of your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    lover of books

    this book was highly disappointing and i feel like i've wasted my time and money by reading this book. Lee Fiora is annoying and while reading i kept hoping for someone to smack some sense in her. high school was four years in my life that i grew into myself and i felt that Lee didn't change at all. This book is crap. i suggest watching some bad tv instead (it's more fulfilling).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    This book is real. Lee is not a perfect girl living in a perfect

    This book is real. Lee is not a perfect girl living in a perfect world. She is an awkward, funny, and observant teenager who learns the hard way about the "amazing" life of the privileged. As you read, you grow to understand Lee in a way that allows you to sympathize with her and also relate to her. High school was an emotional roller coaster for every teenager, Lee Fiora just tells her story of riding on that roller coaster. This is my favorite book of all time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, I didn't like this book. The main character did not gro

    Overall, I didn't like this book. The main character did not grow or change, or do anything really interesting over the four years. The plot was really boring. There were also little moments and events in the story that serve no distinct purpose. Even though that was bad, this author shows great potential with a lot of room for improvement. She has the potential to demonstrate the awkward, rushed transition into dating much better by giving more depth and personality to characters like Cross. Sittenfeld also introduces an interesting family relationship which is amazing when brought into the story. I also liked Lee's friendship with Martha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Unsatisfied

    I really hate this book. I was forced to read this in my LA class for "banned books" week. At first i couldn't tell why it was banned, to me it was just boring long with no plot. The man character, Lee is the most insecure girl with no respect for her friends or for herself. She lets her longtime crush, Cross sugarman invade himself onto her bed just because she liked him and lied wha he was doing to her body. She was a truly boring character with no personality other than being a wallflower. I have to give a speech on this book for 10 minutes and i'm disappointed in the fact that she never truly learned about anything during the course of those four years. She was disrespectful to her parents and her friends. The sexual content portrayed in this book is too graphic. At times i felt like the author put it there to "enlighten" the book but it was unnecessaty and i ca see why this book was onced banned. No one should read this until at least 15 years of age. Im currently 16 and im not sure i was prepared for this. Overall the minor characters were ok but the man character needed fixing. ~Review from Yubrine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    too fast-paced

    too fast-paced

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Love the book!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    SORRY SORRY SORRY

    I love dram, so this sounds like a good book to me. And to hte person below me. I dob't give a damn about your freaking advertizment!!!!! It is a review page. I am supposed to post stuff. Your camp and your advertizment can NOT stop me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18