Customer Reviews for

Prep

Average Rating 3.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just Wow...

The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you w...
The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you want to punch her or give you anxiety because she is so awkward. The supporting characters in the book are like-able and are what redeems the book. You feel sorry for them almost. In the end, the book was entertaining enough to get me to finish it. However, as a warning to those of you know prefer to like the main character, I wouldn't suggest this.

posted by EvaGirl2006 on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Hated It

When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, an...
When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, and let others people ruin her life. There is really no climax in this book, and it seems to really have no point. Except maybe that some people like Lee are just cowardly, and choose to never improve their lives. How depressing. I finished this book only because I hoped that there would be a good ending....there wasn't. It's the first book I've ever thrown away. The one thing that drove me crazy about Lee, was that she let her long term crush, that idiotic boy use her, and treat her terribly. The explicit sex scenes that were introduced into the story were not in anyway helpful to moving the plot along, or even helpful to Lee's opinion of herself. He continued to use her, and she let him, and I think it's important to acknowledge that his behavior was not acceptable. The author never acknowledged this. The people in this book made bad decisions, and seemed to continue to make them, thus destroying themselves. This is not a message that I think should be sent out to the public.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Prep

    This book was pretty slowly moving at times and the message was a little hard to understand, even for a16 year old. I didnt dislike the book but its definitely not the best i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    prep review

    I read this book, i would disagree with the other reviews. I liked this book and though there were a few pages i skimmed over it was a good story and there were definitely pages i could not stop turning. Overall a decent book and i would recommend to a women or young teen. This could be a good book for parents to understand and remember what it was like or for a teen dealing with issues in high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Interesting Peek Into "Prep" Life

    Interesting peek into life at an elite prep school. If you didn't attend a private school (and I did not), you can still relate the angst, the humiliation, and humor and thrill of being a teenage girl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Okay...

    It's not like the best book in the world. The first few pages definetly didn't get me hooked, but page 32 and 290 definetly made my eyes pop and think a little bit (sorrie, i like to keep track of the nasty pages in books!) the charcters are awesome, and have quite some personality, but the years at the school...went by quick, without full detail. this author surely knows a hole bunch about high school - just not recently. i'm heading into highschool soon, and my friends are teasing me saying im reading a "lesibian" book. this book isn't that preppy, but on the high note, it's okay - it could be a little bit better, and hook readers in more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BUT NOT GREAT

    I related to this book as a girl from The Midwest. I also related to it as a girl from The Midwest who attended a prestigous East Coast instution. Having said that, my reaction to it is based on personal expericence as a student and an avid reader. I found the characters and situations to be plausible but lacking in truth. As a girl from The Midwest, I too felt like a fish-out-of-water. But, I did not suffer the degree of self-doubt the main character experienced. I too was surrounded by kids who came from families of greater means but they didn't act as if they were any different or better than me. What I did find troubling were some of the "sterotypes" that were assigned to some of characters. The blonds were "pretty" and perfect, the minorities, who were used more for the purpose of atmosphere than characters, were dipicted as outsiders and Lee, the girl from The Midwest, tended to be very naive. I also felt the "sexual" references were used for the purpose shock value. As a whole, I came away with the conclusion that the author's material was a product of research instead of actual experience. I'm not saying the story was not entertaining or written with competence. I'm merely stating the book, based on my obseverations, missed the opportunity of being a great book instead of a good one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Ok

    The book was good but for me it was really hard to get into I would put it down every 5 mintues because I got borded. As I got deeper the book it became good and I enjoyed it, but over all it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    To read is to review...

    Prep was referred to me by my media speacialist because it's a banned book. Reading it I did not understand why it was banned until I got to the extremely graphic sex scene. Which in my opinon was totally uncalled for. No wonder it was banned... The whole book is slow and boring. The author jumped around so many times it was hard to follow what the characters were doing, how old they were, or even where they were. The main character is Lee Fiora and she is an outcast. She is the kind of character you just want to scream at becuase she does the stupidest things and she knows she is doing them. The book was long and had many chapters that it could've absolutley done without. I did not enjoy this book and I do not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    OK

    This book was neither incredible nor horrible. It did not disgust me or entrance me to read faster. The sexual scenes were extremely graphic. The rest of the book was partially interesting. Though I know that I am too young to read this, I don't regret reading it. This book has taught me some valuable life tips. Do not go through life whiney like Lee, the main character, did. She didn't take the matters into her own hands and she didn't try. I couldn't feel sorry for her, because she had so many oppurtunities. If I could go to a boarding school on scholarship, I would jump at it. I wouldn't waste my time and slack off and give up in the subjects I couldn't get like Lee did. I'd make the best out of the situation. The book also taught me to think about marriage for sex. Lee went through a lot loosing her virginity to that guy. She did it and he ignored her. Then they left each other. The book was so slow, but at the end I suppose you won't regret reading it. I learned my lesson and need to preview the books on the adult shelf before buying them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Good Book, Bad Character

    I think this is the first time I read a book where I could not bring myself to like the main character. Everything about her irritated me. I mean I can understand her insecurities when she first got there, new place, new people, new enviroment, at that time she had every reason to be insecure. But as time went on still remained the same, she kept down sizing herself to other people. But I think what really made me dislike her was the way she was to her parents on Parent's Day really put the icing on the cake. By the end of this book I didnt even care about what was going on, I just wanted it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    Not my favorite

    I've never read gossip girls or anything similar because they're shallow and insignificant. While I thought that at times Prep was a bit too detailed and a little slow moving, it was much more meaningful than those stupid books about preppy, snobby girls. Anyone who has ever been insecure about themselves or worried about what other people thought about them can relate to Prep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Prep

    In the novel Prep, Lee struggles with her flaws consistently, but with the turning of pages, nothing ever really happens. I didn't completely dislike the book-- there were parts that I loved, but I was incredibly disappointed when nothing changed. The book drags on and on, but in the end, you do see a slight change in Lee, although it comes too late. I would most likely recommend this book to people like Lee, who sit around and wait for things to happen to them but never take charge and do anything about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    the book was just okay...

    I think Curtis Sittenfeld wrote the book realistically but I found that the main character was just annoying. I wanted to give Lee a push out into the world and instead she spent her whole high school carrer at Ault hiding in the shadows. I enjoyed the beggining and the denouement but I found the middle rather dry. also, I was pleased by how Sittenfeld reavealed how wealth and racism plays a role in your social status. Although I wasnt impressed with this book, im not saying it's a complete waste of your time beacause it was rather amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Alright

    A lot of my friends were reading this book, so I decided to also pick it up. VERY slow start, until it gets almost half way through it starts to pick up. Around that time Lee is nearing the end of junior year. Strange encounters w/a lot of people, and equally explicit experiences. I was suprised how suggestive the book was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Don't expect much!

    My daughter bought it for school and said the book was OK so I decided to read it....The book is one long complaint from a main character who in reality should be greatfull for a whole lot. It is well written, but it stops right there. I forced myself through the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    A Decent Read

    I enjoyed this book for the most part, but at times I found Lee, the main character, to be too whiney and pathetic. I related to some parts of this book, but I still got a little annoyed with it. It is an easy read and has fun parts throughout it, but Idon't think the author focused enough on the main character's triumphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Slow moving story

    I was really looking forward to reading this book but I found it to be very dull. The main character was extremely frustrating to follow through her years at the boarding school. She had next to no personality and I could not identify with her at all. I thought the book was well written but too long and wordy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    I'm glad I'm not a teen anymore!

    Upon completion of this novel, I realize how glad to be out of my teen years. It brought all those nuances of adolesence...the insecurity...the popular crowd and how to fit in....but all in all I found Prep to be a book that starts on a journey that leads to nowhere. The character development of Lee just doesn't quite happen. The insight of the social class distinctions was interesting but a bit cliche. I don't know if I'd recommend this to any one over some of the other good books that are currently out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Enjoyable

    This book is not good, but I felt that I couldn't put it down. I finished it the first day I bought it. The book has a beautiful ending and, I think, is one I'll remember for a while. It was exactly what I expected it to be but somehow I enjoyed it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Well Done but Not Accurate

    Sittenfeld gives a good effort but wastes words with petty, overly-dramatic thoughts. Lee Fiora (the main character) is not an average girl. She is a pyschological mess, and the book documents her journey further into unhappiness. I am 14 and attend an upscale private school, but my peers' lives are not complicated and worried. This book makes adolescence seem like heck. It also relies too heavily on stereotypes: the popular girls, the resentful loners, the sexually-hungry guys, and the desparate wanna-bes. This book is an excellent case of a young girl in need of counseling. In sum, this can be an engaging read only if one remembers that it is fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Great first book, but no Catcher In The Rye

    I've read that this book is up to par with Catcher and I have to say I think JD would be a little upset.I was a boarding school brat and in that respect I feel a tight bond with this book. So much of it is right on. However, this character tends to fall onto the weak side and then begins to drive you crazy. There's not enough depth and she basically doesn't change for all her years there. There needed to more substance. On the plus side it was a great first novel and well presented. I think her next one will be worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3