BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prep

Average Rating 3.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just Wow...

The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you w...
The main character of this book was very unlikable. I found myself waiting for something bad to finally happen to her. She walks all over people who are nice to her in the story. This basically sums up the book until the end when her character finally doesn't make you want to punch her or give you anxiety because she is so awkward. The supporting characters in the book are like-able and are what redeems the book. You feel sorry for them almost. In the end, the book was entertaining enough to get me to finish it. However, as a warning to those of you know prefer to like the main character, I wouldn't suggest this.

posted by EvaGirl2006 on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Hated It

When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, an...
When I was reading the other reviews for this book, I was so happy to find that others didn't care for it either. I was completed dissapointed by this book, and the message that it was trying to send. The main character improves nothing in her life, she doesn't grow, and let others people ruin her life. There is really no climax in this book, and it seems to really have no point. Except maybe that some people like Lee are just cowardly, and choose to never improve their lives. How depressing. I finished this book only because I hoped that there would be a good ending....there wasn't. It's the first book I've ever thrown away. The one thing that drove me crazy about Lee, was that she let her long term crush, that idiotic boy use her, and treat her terribly. The explicit sex scenes that were introduced into the story were not in anyway helpful to moving the plot along, or even helpful to Lee's opinion of herself. He continued to use her, and she let him, and I think it's important to acknowledge that his behavior was not acceptable. The author never acknowledged this. The people in this book made bad decisions, and seemed to continue to make them, thus destroying themselves. This is not a message that I think should be sent out to the public.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Page Turner

    I read this cover to cover in about three sittings. It is kind of like Degrassi Jr High meets East Coast boarding school. That description doesn't do justice to the outstanding writing. The main character is shallow and annoying but you will still for some reason want to keep reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Addicting

    I couldn't stop reading this book. I loved it, I own it and it's deffinently a book that iwll stay in my library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    amazing.

    This book was great, but it was also deep and depressing. very depressing.
    i dont recommend this book to anyone who can't handle sad situations.
    i wanted to cry at the end of each chapter. but dont think i didn't like it because i absolutely love this book. it makes a person think about
    their lives. and it gives an insight to most of the quiet people who sit in your class and do not speak. i love this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I loved this book. No joke. I'm still reading it, but it's not b

    I loved this book. No joke. I'm still reading it, but it's not bad. Really. I got it at a book store for 11.00, and I definately think i got my moneys worth out of it. I don't see why people don't like this book. It's all about preference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    This book is real. Lee is not a perfect girl living in a perfect

    This book is real. Lee is not a perfect girl living in a perfect world. She is an awkward, funny, and observant teenager who learns the hard way about the "amazing" life of the privileged. As you read, you grow to understand Lee in a way that allows you to sympathize with her and also relate to her. High school was an emotional roller coaster for every teenager, Lee Fiora just tells her story of riding on that roller coaster. This is my favorite book of all time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Love the book!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    SORRY SORRY SORRY

    I love dram, so this sounds like a good book to me. And to hte person below me. I dob't give a damn about your freaking advertizment!!!!! It is a review page. I am supposed to post stuff. Your camp and your advertizment can NOT stop me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    WELCOME TO CAMP!

    If you have any questions ask me Chiron at the second result. NO POSTING ON THIS PAGE PLEASE! have fun exploring camp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Most realistic portrayal of boarding school life I have seen

    As someone who attended a school mucn like the one in this book, I was impressed with the way this author portrayed the boarding school experience so succinctly. Brought back memories of the quad, formal dinners, and Mercedes driving juniors. I can see how someone who has not been exposed to this type of thing could have trouble relating, but for those of us that lived through these types of experiences, this is a great book. I read this cover to cover in two days last summer, and am rereading it now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Confused

    I read this book for the first time a couple years ago and just finished rereading it and was curious to see what other people thought of it, I was completely shocked to discover the majority of the people to hate this book! I absolutely adored this book, the main character, however unlikeable I feel shows the insecurities and flaws of many teenage girls in today's age(myself included). And even if some people did not connect to this mostly relate able main character the author's beautiful and poet way of writing should have made up for the flaws in the character of Lee. Overall, this book, I believe is a modern day Cather in the Rye, Lee and Holdon are extremely similar and their search for who they are is as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite book!

    This is my absolute favorite book! I have never connected with a book so well before. Lee is the most interesting and developed character. Every girl should read this book! I have recommended it to all of my friends. All of things that happen in this book are so real. Sittenfeld is my favorite author as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong story about Midwestern girl in an East Coast prep school...

    A page turner with some bittersweet and funny moments. Sittenfeld is a good writer and after reading this book I'm willing to buy anything else she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    So True

    I go to a prep school. And yes, this is the deal. Someone said that this book "exploits" teenagers. Books that exploit teenagers are those that lie about what high school is like or explain sugar-coated stereotypes of teenage relationships- both romantic and platonic. This same reviewer also said that the book contains "unnecessary sexuality themes". Well, ma'am, then do you propose that we pretend that sexuality does not exist in high school? Oh how far you are from the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing...if you're looking for a book with a hidden meaning!

    This book is amazing. But don't buy if your not a serious reader! This book is not just a story about some small town girl; you have to look deeper than that. If you understand the meaning behind a book such as "One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish", then you will love it. This book is #1 on my list so I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

    Walking through the typical young adult section of a bookstore, there are usually five, maybe even ten, books about a teenage girl, perhaps from a small town, who transfers from that wee little town to a prep school. <BR/><BR/>Typically, this prep school is in Connecticut, or Massachusetts. Typically, the girl starts out struggling, tries to fit in with the popular crowd, misses her hometown, faces many moral problems, and meets a handsome, promising young prep school boy who shows her the ways of love. Seeing the plot of Curtis Sittenfeld's PREP for the first time, a normal reader would write it off as being another cliché prep school book. <BR/><BR/>There's where they'd be wrong. <BR/><BR/>PREP is a searing, creative look at the life of one small-town girl, Lee Fiora, who comes from her home in South Bend, Indiana, to Ault, a prep school in Massachusetts. Exposed to many new kinds of ideas and people, Lee stands on the thin line between misery and naivety as she explores all that her new life has to offer. <BR/><BR/>Sittenfeld writes about teen angst in a way that doesn't try to make it seem petty or unimportant; she embraces it, and fully understands it. This is what sets the book apart from many other titles. Wallowing in loneliness and heartbreak, the reader feels as if Lee is actually a part of them, and that they are experiencing all of the awkward and horrible events that are occurring in the story. <BR/><BR/>Lee acts as an opposite-gender Holden Caulfield, the main male character in J.D. Salinger's classic novel THE CATCHER IN THE RYE. She takes everything with a grain of salt and a little bit of dry humor while making wise observations well beyond her years. PREP is bound to become a classic, for its brutally honest interpretation of a time that plagues all of us: high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Annoying and Amazing

    I literally just finished reading this book. I don't think that ive ever read a book that made me think about it so much while i read it. now the when i started to read Prep i had no intention on actually finishing it. I was at a swim meet and my friend had the bored so while she was listening to music or swimming i would read. Well it turned out that i took it home to read it and i'm the type of person to stop reading books once they become boring but i had hope for this book'. Let me tell you good thing i did. The book was so real. I actually disliked the main character lee. she had the strangest why of thinking of things and usally i dont critisize opinions but she was verging on negative. Another character i couldnt stand would have to be Cross i mean what a jerk. Dont get me wrong not all characters were annoying. i thought that darden was a pretty cool dude. so, if you like books that are real and that can really realate to life there is no book that would be better to my knowledge than prep!!! Hope i HELPED!!!?! (sorry about my spelling)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I LOVED! this book! Everything about it! It is such a page-turner! Something me and my friends can joke and talk about! I recommended it to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Great Read

    I thought the book was amazing. I hate to bash but from what it sounds like those who commented before me know not good reading. The first time I opened the book I wasn't able to put it down for four hours. I was a little leery of the plot, being a college student myself I wasn't sure how interesting it would be to read about a sheltered fourteen year old's highschool experience. I was pleasently surprised with the novel. I found Lee's (the main character's) honesty to be gripping, inspiring, heart- breaking and humerous. Though I have little idea as to what a prep school is really like I felt myself completely transported into Ault and loved every minute of it. It was very unique to be taken through all four years, watching Lee grow as an individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Spin gold out of straw - perfectly captures the imperfections of life

    Let's face it: we're not as pretty, as smart, as thin or as rich as we should be to have a perfect life. But if we could get all our troubles down on paper as beautifully as CS does, maybe we could make gold out of straw. To sit down and hear about someone else's life like this is a rare privilege because it gives one a sense of perspective on one's own miseries and living up to them. Wish this was around when I was 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I know you're not supposed to, but I judged this book by it's cover. I was in an airport waiting for my flight, and figured I should get something to read. The simple and preppy cover jumped out at me. I didn't even read what the book was about, I just bought it. Best book decision of my life. I was in college at the time of reading it, and really saw myself connecting with the main character. I literaly laughed out loud at some parts and even found myself crying when it hit close to home. I love this book, and have reccommended it to all of my friends - one loved it so much and read it in two days. Great book!!! HIGHLY reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6