Customer Reviews for

Prescription for Nutritional Healing

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Comprehensive

    With over five million copies sold, this book is one of the most read texts on nutritional health. I say "text" because it measures in at a good inch and three-quarters thick. Written by a certified nutritionist and a bona-fide MD, it is neatly divided up into three parts. <BR/><BR/>Part I, a quarter-inch thick discusses the basic principles of health and nutrition. This section lists and explains the various kinds of nutrients and food supplements. <BR/><BR/>Part II, by far the biggest section of the book measuring in at an inch and a quarter, provides the reader with an A-Z listing of many common disorders (such as backache or diabetes) and what you can do about them from a nutritional point of view. <BR/><BR/>The book ends with Part III, the last quarter-inch of the book, which is devoted to traditional therapies and conventional treatments that can be used along with a nutritional support. Here you'll find info on treatments such as chiropractic, massage therapy, color therapy, and so on. <BR/><BR/>I have to say, I was pretty impressed with the amount of info contained in this book and I can definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good nutritional reference book to put on their shelf when questions arise. Additionally, is also might give readers ideas of other types of therapies they could try for various medical problems. Other health titles I can recommend also include The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution for people who have trouble with chronic plantar fasciitis.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Reference

    This is a great big book with a wealth of information about a great number (a few hundreds) of ailments, what causing them, and how to deal with them the natural way. With close to one thousand pages this is a complete resource of medical problems from A to Z. It is well researched, well referenced, and well written. It is also very simple to use, all ailments being ordered in alphabetical order. It is an excellent reference book, a health bible that should be readily available in each household. If you have a health problem I suggest checking what this book will tell you about it, before going to your doctor. <BR/><BR/>Other two books that I also recommend are "The China Study" and "Can We Live 150 Years?"

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great basic resource for almost any health issue. I refer to the older version of this title all the time.

    A must have resource for anyone concerned about health, nutrition, natural healing, etc. I use this book to look up everyday illnesses to find natural remedies and traditional healing information. It also provides information for many conditions that are not very common. I use it when given directions from both traditional and integrative health professionals to better understand why we're told to take certain supplements, avoid certain foods, etc. I highly recommend this as a must have for every family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Great Health Reference!

    Especially in these days, we need to be more knowledgeable of and responsible for our own healthcare. This is an understandable reference of common ailments and information as to their cure or alleviation. It also contains helpful suggestions to aid in their management. This copy was a gift for my brother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Must Buy

    If you've ever had any kind of health issue and would prefer to go natural versus the expensive chemical alternatives this is the book for you. It has helped me tremendously over the years including the earlier editions of this book. You should really have one in your house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    When ever I had a cold I could not shake or some other common ailment, I had a friend I called who always knew how to best shake it. I thought he must have been some kind of witch doctor. I finally asked him where he got all his information from. He directed me to this wonderful book. I quickly bought it and was amazed at the wealth of information. It helped me understand everything from asthma to migraines. I have given this as gift to all of my male friends who just want a clear and concise approach to long term health options. It has become my 'bible'. I find that friends now call me for some helpful hints when they are under the weather. Great as a reference tool!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    This is a book every household should have!

    My first stop for every illness or ailment, be it large or small. A comprehensive overview of "most" issues. You will never view your doctor's office visit the same way again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    A must have

    This is a must have if your into alternative medicines. An a to z guide on ailments, and natural supplements to take.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Here's the REST OF THE STORY when facing medical situations.

    This has been an invaluable nutritional resource for me through the years. I recommend this for everyone's library. It provides another view to common problems, and nutritional therapies you can use in adjunct with your medical doctor's. At the very least it gives you a basis for questions to ask your medical doctor, who probably has the equivilent of 3 months of nutritional education in their seven years of medical training. Make this book a gift to them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    Perfect for Living Healthy

    I'm very excited to say that I think everyone should have a copy of this book in their homes. Maintaining good health is something everyone needs as well as making some problems better or even go away. Times are changing and we need to get our bodies on the right path. This book is great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Down to Earth Remedies

    Whwn I consider my troubles, I like to consider my options, possible side affects and cross reference them with what other authorities say. Considering good books like this can drive some doctors up the wall, and it's a good measure to check up on what some doctors recommend. Nevertheless, I'm living proof, that it's not all opinion. There are amazing natural remedies for many things some claim can never completely heal, ever. Today, upon the recommendation of a friend I was looking up about the Liver as a friend tipped me off that my Rosacea trouble sounds like a touch of liver damage, and it quickly simplified some clever looking suggestions. Hopefully, I'll be cured of another supposedly incurable thing soon. If so, I'll come back to edit this, :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the best Go-To Guide for anyhting that ails you. I always find a clue to feel better fast. I have learned so much about what systems are related and how best to treat my body with what it needs to heal itself. Not at all anti-doctor, but a tool to use for better health.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    A NECESSITY!!!

    I am a serious healthnut thus avoid prescription drugs as much as possible. The two professionals (authors of this Book) provide great detail about many, many diseases and various health issues. They also provide 'recommendations' as to which supplements (and specified doses), foods, herbs, etc. work well. Many of the subjects, for example, Hypothyroidism, also tell you how to "self-test" (at home) to see if you have the condition. I have had this Book since 2001, and have used it frequently. In fact, I went to research something in it today for my daughter, and then tried to order it online (for her) from Barnes & Noble...but, I've just learned that it's NOT currently sold at Barnes and Noble (for some strange reason). I am now seeing that the Authors (Phyllis and James Balch) have been 'individually' writing books lately, so I am guessing they 'were married' when they wrote "this" book. Perhaps, that's the reason it's no longer available at Barnes & Noble. I sure hope it's still available somewhere because it truly is amazing and should be in everyone's home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Knowledge is Power!

    I bought a copy of this book when my daughter was diagnosed with asthma when she was 3 years old. That was 12 years ago. With the information that I gained from reading this book, I was able to take her off of albuterol and refused to give her a pump. By modifying her diet and teaching her healthy habits such as what ingredients trigger her asthma, we became very proactive in using diet, herbal and homeopathic remedies to treat her asthma. Today my daughter is a healthy asthma drug free teen and it is largely due to the information that I was able to collect through various research including this book. Without this knowledge, I am sure she would be on asthma medication the rest of her life. I am now purchasing an updated copy to learn more about alternative remedies for ADHD to treat my 6 year old nephew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    The ONLY book for SUPERIOR reference!

    This is an incredible reference for virtually all diseases and health issues, giving practical, easy-to-understand information on every subject. This includes the most thorough information I have seen on all vitamins, minerals, supplements, etc., including WARNINGS and contraindications which are often left unstated in other guides. I have highlighted my copy nearly cover to cover because it has so much to offer and refer to it over all the other resources in my home library. It is an ideal book for those just beginning to look into alternative treatments as well as a great guide for those of us who have studied natural remedies from many other sources as well, putting a lot of GREAT information in one place. I have done a lot of research on the subject and can say without a doubt that this is the most comprehensive guide out there with the most current information. Don't hesistate to buy it, you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Can't do without it...

    This is a book that helps me everytime I go to a health store. I need to get in touch with the author of this book and deliver a couple of gifts. The writer(s) deserve a few more degree's for this masterful work. Sincerely, Author. 'Knowledge For Tomorrow'..Quinton D. Crawford

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    AMAZING

    this book has helped me become a healthier person with out the use of medication. i feel better, i look better, this is an absolutly amazing book i'd recomend it to anyone who looks out for their health and wellness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Awesome !!

    The newest version and full of remedies. I have used these remedies for years and they really do work. Anything natural is much better than what chemicals that we take in prescription drugs. You can prevent a problem before it gets out of hand and the natural way, it's the way God intended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    This is best book on nutrition,vitamins,minerals....everything you ever wanted to know about the chemistry of the human body. Easy to read and understand. It will change how you look at today's medical society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Exceptional detailed information on all supplements.

    I have been buying these updated books for as long as I can remember. I found this book to be the queen bee on detailed info on all nutritional supplements. I learned an incredible amount of information on how important nutrition is to your body. Missing certain supplements in your body can cause all sorts of undesirable diseases and problems. It describes in detail what diseases/problems occur (most likely) when you are lacking certain supplements. This book has been truly helpful in the building of my site (parentingnaturally.net) and has shed a lot of light on nutrition.A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3