Customer Reviews for

Present Perfect

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Annoymous

    I have a girl crush on Tweet! This book is a ball of emotional torment, laughter, anger (major anger), contemptment, and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    First things first, get tissues. Lots and lots of tissues. You W

    First things first, get tissues. Lots and lots of tissues. You WILL ugly cry and if you don't, you don't have a heart. The story starts out sweet enough, childhood best friend, trying to see if they want to evolve their relationship, boy says yes, girl says no. Then it seems to take a bit a twist. Amanda and Noah are frustratingly perfect for each other. Amanda, at times, had me so mad at her for not seeing what was in front of her face. She tried to keep it simple, oh did she ever try, but as with everything, life got in the way. She began to do things not in her nature and did everything she could to just keep things the same. They never would remain the same again. Noah loves Amanda but he can't make her choose him. She will always be his first love, always. They are best friends, after all. Then life gets in the way.
    The second half of the book threw me for a loop. It quickly went from this sweet love story to life, where everything isn't always roses and perfect. Adjustments have to be made, goals have to be re-evaluated and you have to take a serious look at who you want in your life, who's going to be there through it all, and who's worth saying goodbye too.
    This is where the ugly cries came in. And once they started, they wouldn't stop. This story is sweet, heartbreaking and raw. Amanda and Noah are characters that will forever live in my hear for a number of reasons. Even the jerk Brad, who I wanted to throat punch, wormed his way in there. And words can't express how much I loved Dalton. Everyone deserves a Dalton in their life, someone with a zest for living and who is wise beyond their years, someone who won't sugar coat anything but won't crush us either.
    This story reminds us all that even though we may not feel perfect, like we don't measure up, we are perfect to someone. It also is a reminder to stop over analyzing everything and just feel, just be. Stop thinking of the what ifs and jump with both feet, especially to that which is right in front of us.
    What I thought was a sweet YA story made one hell of an impression on me and ended up being a life mantra "Always remember present perfect, grasshopper"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    Absolutely loved this book!
    It's been a while since I have read a book that has left me emotionally spent.

    Written through Amanda's POV, Present Perfect tells the tale of a young woman's journey and inner struggle of finding self worth.
    Beautiful message of hope and love.

    This book is an absolute must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've put off writing this review for quite awhile because it's b

    I've put off writing this review for quite awhile because it's been really difficult for me to put my feelings about this book into words. I struggle to think of a book that made me as angry, as frustrated, as sad, but that I loved as much as this one. I can't think of another book that put me through as much emotional turmoil as this book did.

    I'm just going to get this out of the way: I wanted to smack Amanda through at least 50% of the book. She was so frustrating. She had absolutely no self-esteem. She was head over heels in love with her best friend, the one guy who had always been there for her. He tells her he wants to be with her and what does she do? Go running into his arms? NO. She ran away. Because that's exactly what you do when your dream guy tells you he feels the same way. Obviously. But not only did she run away, she all but pushed him into the arms of someone else and was subsequently devastated when he started dating her. Oh, and Amanda's other so-called friends? Bad friend behavior all around. I was so disappointed in these characters. Except Noah. I loved Noah. In fairness, I spent a fair amount of the book wanting to slap him, too, but at the same time I couldn't blame him for trying to move on. He went out on a limb. Amanda was terrified to meet him halfway.

    Then. Then the thing happens. The one I'm not going to tell you about. The thing that made me question every other feeling I had about this book. I sobbed. Like, gut-wrenching sobs that left me unable to catch my breath. Ugly crying. I felt like someone was ripping my heart out of my chest. It was unexpected and threw me for a loop. I didn't know how to process it all. I felt like I had to start all over trying to figure out the characters and my feelings for them.

    I'm an emotional reader. If you read my blog or my reviews at all, you know this. But, the kind of extreme emotions this book brought out in me are unlike most I've felt while reading other books. I can't think of a time when I went through this many vastly different feels during the course of a book. It was incredible. A full experience. It was exhausting. I pushed through and read it cover to cover in one sitting then promptly laid down to take a nap.

    Alison G. Bailey hit my auto-buy author list with this book. She moved into the top ten with the follow-up to this book, Past Imperfect. She's a beautiful writer whose characters definitely evoke strong feelings in me, both good and bad. If you're not afraid to feel while reading, I can't recommend this book highly enough... just make sure you have some tissues on hand while you're reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Amazing

    I could not believe this book. The author did a fabulous job of bringing the reader on this beautiful journey. I'm usually pretty good at predicting how a book's plot will unfold, but anytime I'm surprised by an author I have to give them credit. Wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Fantastic read

    Talk about an amazing writer! Couldnt put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Great book. I love it when you read a book and you feel you are

    Great book. I love it when you read a book and you feel you are apart of it. Great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Omg I love this book! I can not tell you enough how many times

    Omg I love this book! I can not tell you enough how many times I wanted to give up and quit reading it because I was so frustrated with Amanda and all her choices. I'm so glad I stuck through it even if I was bawling my eyes out because there is a beautiful happy ending. Thanks Ms. Bailey I look forward to reading Noah's story next summer. Can't wait..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the most emotional stories I've read in a long t

    This was one of the most emotional stories I've read in a long time. I got angry, I cried, I laughed, I cried some more, a lot more. There were a few times I didn't know if I could keep reading. Okay, I did have to stop and regroup several times. You will fall in love with Noah and want to shake some sense into Amanda and tell her to grow up or open her eyes. I'm glad I did make it through the story because it does make you think long and hard about love and life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Wow

    I loved this book! Noah was such a sweetheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Make sure you start this on a weekend if you work in the morning

    Make sure you start this on a weekend if you work in the morning. You won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Best book I've read in a long time...

    I loved this book. Although it made me cry at times and want to throw it at others I enjoyed every second and did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Wonderful book. Fantastic read

    One of my favorite books ever. Felt a little slow at first but just hang in there because it was very much worth the ride.looking forward to more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Beautiful book

    Wow.....an amazing love story beautifully written! A must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Wow

    I do not know what to write and do justice for this book..it was just so good! Read it, it is so worth it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Love this book!

    Very emotional and wonderful! A great read! Everybody needs a Noah! You wont be dissapointed! Super!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book tore my heart out and ripped it to shreds. Then took m

    This book tore my heart out and ripped it to shreds. Then took my guts out and stomped all over them for good measure. It was an intense, emotionally draining read and I loved it! Y'all know if a book evokes an emotional response from me, it's a good read. This one wrung emotion from me - it's exceptional. 




    Amanda 'Tweet' Kelly has always felt she didn't quite measure up. She's grown up in the shadow of her 'perfect' older sister and hearing comments such as "Why can't you be more like your sister?" her whole life. She's aspired to perfection, even though she knows (in her mind) she'll never attain it. The one place she's always felt like she was ahead of the game is her best friend, Noah Stewart. Being born hours apart and growing up together, they have always shared a special bond. At some point though, both she and Noah start to see one another differently. However, Tweet likes to keep things compartmentalized and controlled. Since she believes not only that she's not good enough for Noah but also that if they were to ever be more than friends, she'd do something wrong and lose him completely. And that's not something she's willing to risk despite Noah desperately wanting to take the relationship past friendship.




    Noah is not a saint, but he seems to have endless patience where Tweet is concerned. He's kind, smart, talented and knows when to bring a girl some chocolate cake. He is certain of one thing...that Tweet must be in his life. He tries his damnedest to get Tweet to understand that she's everything to him, but he can't get through to her. So he keeps her close, even if only has friends.




    The story is told through a series of journal entries. But instead of covering days at a time, we get glimpses of entire years. We meet Amanda, soon to be dubbed Tweet by Noah, at the age of 6. We watch Tweet and Amanda grow up as well as how their love for one another changes over time.




    Tweet is a character that I really identified with. Her insecurities were relatable and something I empathized with. There were times when I was very frustrated by her decisions based on those insecurities, but still I understood. I admired Noah's patience and loyalty to Tweet. Although I admit to getting irritated with Noah at times as well. Some of the things he did or said to Tweet were hurtful but he was always there when she needed him.




    I really couldn't see where Ms. Bailey was going to take the story. Then she dropped a bombshell. I actually had to put my ereader for for awhile so I could get my emotions under control. I'm not going to say anything spoiler-y but this event brings Tweet and Noah together even more strongly (as well as Tweet and her family) and most importantly, it enables Tweet to change her perspective on life and perfection. And that you can't control life - but letting go, taking a risk and allowing things to just happen can bring great rewards.




    This book has made such an impact on me. Days later, I'm still thinking about it. I adore Ms. Bailey's writing and Tweet and Noah's story. It was heartbreaking and captivating. I felt such a connection to Tweet, as I'm sure many people would. Ms. Bailey's writing is eloquent, gripping and thought provoking. When I wasn't reading it, I was thinking about it. Present Perfect got into my head and possibly my soul. It is extremely emotional, gut wrenching at times. I loved it. And when I read the last few pages, I was saying "thank you, thank you, thank you, Ms. Bailey, for this story and this ending." 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just finished an amazing book at 2:33 am this morning!  I can't

    Just finished an amazing book at 2:33 am this morning!  I can't say enough about this new author!  The story is original and grabs you from the first page and takes you on an up and down ride until the final page!!!

    "Its not the love that's complicated.  It's all the crap that we attach to it and put in front of it that makes it difficult..."  "I closed my eyes and let the feel of the music and his body against mine take me over.  Present perfect..."

    This is a MUST read of 2013!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    :)

    Wow!!! This book is absolutely amazing! Be ready for an emotional ride. This book just made my top five books of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    So, here's what happened. I got a request a few months ago about

    So, here's what happened. I got a request a few months ago about this book. I couldn't fit in a review at the time, but offered to help with the tour. However, I said I could possibly get a review done in the near future. So, my point in explaining all of this is...I wasn't certain I would be able to review for the tour. I had my excerpt post ready to go. Then, I opened the book this week to get a feel for the story. Not only was I sucked in immediately, but I stayed up until 1am to finish it. It was that good. 




    Amanda/Tweet has lived in her sister's shadow her whole life; subtle and blatant messages were delivered by her parents. So, in a way, she always felt second best or not good enough. As the reader, it's important to understand that right away. I could relate to her. I'm very confident in who I am as a person, but I have to say that it's difficult living in the shadow of a perfect sibling. That said, I also have a better understanding of what the pressures are like for that other sibling to be perfect. And maybe Amanda didn't get to see that side of things, but she sure did learn some seriously important life lessons. The one person by her side...always, was Noah. They were born on the same day, went through all the major step stones together, and almost always shared their first with each other. 




    The story takes the reader through Amanda and Noah's experiences and how their feelings for each other developed into something more than friendship. It was easy to see, even when they were kids, that they loved each other. Of course, Noah always knew he loved Amanda and she loved him too, but she just never felt like she was good enough to be with him. Noah was beautiful, popular, and genuinely kind. All the girls wanted him. Even though Amanda didn't feel good enough to be with him, she certainly didn't want anyone else to have him. So, naturally this caused some tension in their relationship.




    I absolutely ADORED Noah. I want a Noah. Noah wanted to be with Amanda. There was no other girl for him. Aside from her feelings of inadequacy, she was also afraid that their friendship would be destroyed if they didn't make it as a couple. While Noah felt confident that they would be together forever, Amanda was less sure. She needed him as her friend. So, time moves on. They move on as friends. 




    Then, I got slammed. Up until this point in the story, I would get a bit teary here and there, because this couple was truly supposed to be together. No question. But, I got a bit irritated with Amanda from time to time. I was worried she would push him away for good. Don't get me wrong, I understand where her fear of ruining their friendship came from. I've been there. Ruined one myself. But, then Amanda is faced with a life changing event. Of course, the person by her side is Noah. From this point of the book until the end, I sobbed. Uglier than an ugly cry. I couldn't see. I couldn't breathe. There were a few times I didn't think I could get through it. It was rough. I thought about putting it down, but I had to see what was going to happen. And I'm so glad I made it to the end. 




    This story made a significant impact on me. I feel deeply in love with the story, but also with the characters. I loved Amanda and Noah, but the secondary characters were amazing too. I liked Amanda's sister Emily. I loved her college roommate, Lisa. I even loved jerky Brad. His cheesy lines made me laugh, but I also sense a sadness to him. Brad is going to have his own book and I'm so excited for it. I think he'll have a good story to tell. But, the stand out for me was Dalton. He's a friend of Amanda's and his words of wisdom changed Amanda's whole outlook on life. Dalton really moved me. 




    Even though there were difficult moments that I had to get through, overall...I loved this book. I won't forget it and I honestly can't remember the last time a book hit me so hard like this. I was texting a friend of mine while I was finishing it. She even said she'd never seen me act like this about a book. I'm stunned that this book was a debut. I cannot recommend this book enough. It's a must read and I don't say that lightly. So, grab your tissues and please go read this book!




    *Side note: I understand the significance of the cover image now, but I'm not sure I would have given this book a second glance. I just feel that this book is the kind of book that needs to be read and I think a different cover would attract a broader audience.




    Quotes:
    ~"I'll always take care of you and make sure you have candy, Tweet."-Loc 241




    ~"There hasn't been a day in my life that I haven't loved you. I wish you would just let me love you," he said.-Loc 1603




    ~"Ah young grasshopper...perfection is an illusion nurtured by insecurities."-Loc 4423




    ~"I love you. I've loved you from the first moment we met. I love you deeper every time I see you. And, I know the timing is awful, but there's never a perfect time. So, no matter what happens, I needed you to know how I feel."-Loc 4467

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2