Customer Reviews for

Pressed Pennies

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pressed Pennies

'Pressed Pennies is an evocative, touching story. It takes you back to the good old days, when there was no Internet or cell phones. It is a story of youthful innocence, enduring love and family values. Manchester has written a beautiful story sure to last for several g...
'Pressed Pennies is an evocative, touching story. It takes you back to the good old days, when there was no Internet or cell phones. It is a story of youthful innocence, enduring love and family values. Manchester has written a beautiful story sure to last for several generations. Although mainstream fiction isn¿t a genre I indulge in, I did enjoy Pressed Pennies very much. It certainly made me take an about-face with my own life! The characters stayed with me after I finished reading it, and I think that is, above all else, one goal every novel should have.'

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'Nostalgia' for the 80s and 'Love' are the buzzwords here

Pressed Pennies follows the lives of three couples destined to be together. Childhood sweethearts Abby and Richard are the lynchpins of the novel. They lose each other in childhood and are reunited by chance as adults. Second time around they discover that their love wa...
Pressed Pennies follows the lives of three couples destined to be together. Childhood sweethearts Abby and Richard are the lynchpins of the novel. They lose each other in childhood and are reunited by chance as adults. Second time around they discover that their love was destined. Eunice and Bill meet in the ¿winter of their lives¿, proving that love doesn¿t worry about age or circumstances. Grant and Carmen are the final and less-developed of the characters, unfortunately to the extent that they come across as cardboard cut-outs. By the end of the novel Grant and Carmen's relationship remains a loose end where no resolution has been reached. There are unfortunately other flaws in this novel which some work could fix. The first few pages (and elsewhere) read like character lists where even their favorite foods and eye color are given. Some readers might switch off before getting in to the heart of the story. The author also relies too heavily on clichés and his minor (and sometimes major) characters often come across as stereotypes. There are also times when descriptions simply don¿t ring true and could be worked on, while the depth of detail in places often leaves nothing to the reader¿s imagination. It is a truism that what is not said can often have more impact than what is said. Finally, chapters often finish on a weak note (there are few cliffhangers here) with little or no connection between the end of one chapter and the beginning of the next. As I said, these are all fixable difficulties with the book as it now stands. Manchester writes eloquently at times, especially when scene-setting. His descriptions are spot-on and the chronological order of the novel makes the interwoven stories easy to follow (all the characters are connected in some way to each other.) He uses the novel as a vehicle to address issues which clearly disturb him ¿ principally the loss of family values in today¿s consumer society, and a hankering back to a more innocent age. At times the lessons are too obvious, too frequent and preachy, a pity because the author clearly has valid points: recapturing the good old days of conversation, respect and time spent with our families and friends may enrich all our technology-driven modern lives. This novel is also a celebration of the 80s, a time when I too grew up. The fact that I¿m European didn¿t hinder my comprehension in the slightest! Anyone from our generation ¿ kids of the 70s and 80s ¿ will relish this trip down memory lane. Prose mixed with poetry-of-a-sort, journal entries and email messages make this a very accessible novel which most readers (and generations) should enjoy. Above all this is a story about how love is paramount to living, where nostalgia is relished and where profit and consumer values are scorned. A satisfying and inspiring read Pressed Pennies is several hours of reading time well spent.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    'Nostalgia' for the 80s and 'Love' are the buzzwords here

    Pressed Pennies follows the lives of three couples destined to be together. Childhood sweethearts Abby and Richard are the lynchpins of the novel. They lose each other in childhood and are reunited by chance as adults. Second time around they discover that their love was destined. Eunice and Bill meet in the ¿winter of their lives¿, proving that love doesn¿t worry about age or circumstances. Grant and Carmen are the final and less-developed of the characters, unfortunately to the extent that they come across as cardboard cut-outs. By the end of the novel Grant and Carmen's relationship remains a loose end where no resolution has been reached. There are unfortunately other flaws in this novel which some work could fix. The first few pages (and elsewhere) read like character lists where even their favorite foods and eye color are given. Some readers might switch off before getting in to the heart of the story. The author also relies too heavily on clichés and his minor (and sometimes major) characters often come across as stereotypes. There are also times when descriptions simply don¿t ring true and could be worked on, while the depth of detail in places often leaves nothing to the reader¿s imagination. It is a truism that what is not said can often have more impact than what is said. Finally, chapters often finish on a weak note (there are few cliffhangers here) with little or no connection between the end of one chapter and the beginning of the next. As I said, these are all fixable difficulties with the book as it now stands. Manchester writes eloquently at times, especially when scene-setting. His descriptions are spot-on and the chronological order of the novel makes the interwoven stories easy to follow (all the characters are connected in some way to each other.) He uses the novel as a vehicle to address issues which clearly disturb him ¿ principally the loss of family values in today¿s consumer society, and a hankering back to a more innocent age. At times the lessons are too obvious, too frequent and preachy, a pity because the author clearly has valid points: recapturing the good old days of conversation, respect and time spent with our families and friends may enrich all our technology-driven modern lives. This novel is also a celebration of the 80s, a time when I too grew up. The fact that I¿m European didn¿t hinder my comprehension in the slightest! Anyone from our generation ¿ kids of the 70s and 80s ¿ will relish this trip down memory lane. Prose mixed with poetry-of-a-sort, journal entries and email messages make this a very accessible novel which most readers (and generations) should enjoy. Above all this is a story about how love is paramount to living, where nostalgia is relished and where profit and consumer values are scorned. A satisfying and inspiring read Pressed Pennies is several hours of reading time well spent.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    * I received a copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange

    * I received a copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    A timely story of how divorce affects family and finding new relationships. It's a poignant, ultimately heartwarming story. The author has a good voice and tackled this difficult subject matter beautifully. The characters are realistic and I felt as if I was experiencing their emotions. I enjoyed reading it immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Pressed Pennies

    'Pressed Pennies is an evocative, touching story. It takes you back to the good old days, when there was no Internet or cell phones. It is a story of youthful innocence, enduring love and family values. Manchester has written a beautiful story sure to last for several generations. Although mainstream fiction isn¿t a genre I indulge in, I did enjoy Pressed Pennies very much. It certainly made me take an about-face with my own life! The characters stayed with me after I finished reading it, and I think that is, above all else, one goal every novel should have.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Highly recommend this book

    I thoroughly. Enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2015

    to short a story

    A make you feel good book no drama its a love story. I never read this type but read it all. What is disappointing is that i have learned to check out how many pages in the book. This one says something like 250 plus pages. Not So. It was 199 I was expecting more story
    Very short story the rest of the pages are blurbs about many books nothing you would read. I have found if I read those then when I see the book I think I read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Great

    A heart warming story which left me crying and happy for the last part of the story. I felt all their joy and pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    Simplistic and predictable.

    Simplistic and predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    A happy ending is always great

    I get so tired of books, movies and tv shows that try to teach me negatives. This was entertaining and ended with happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    A fast sugar treat for those into twinkies or what some call

    Ladies two hankies soaps quick read but not a keeper shades of the barbara cartlands in modern dress a happy day read and really nothing wrong with having a sweet tooth if you brush after buska

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Another Great, Uplifting story from Steve Manchester

    This is a story of love and redemption for 2 people Rick and Abby, who have been hurt by those they thought loved them, re-discovered each other and the love that had lain dormant inside them. I was also about 2 people, Rick and Paige (Abby's daughter): 2 people who needed each other almost as much as Rick and Abby needed each other. Paige taught rick patience and understanding; Rick taught Paige how to trust again. This was such a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    True Love

    Steven Manchester’s “Pressed Pennies” describes love from the lives of several different relationships challenged with the woes of life and their belief in true love.

    Abby and Richard have lived most of their lives together – as childhood sweethearts and reunited later, destined to remain together. Abby now has a child, Paige, from a previous relationship, and Paige challenges Richard’s character.

    Eunice and Bill share opposing views but yet seem happy as they struggle to maintain their relationship.

    Carmen and Grant share little or no similarities but manage to remain in a relationship with no love or emotions towards one another.

    The stories of these three couples reflect on many modern day obstacles we face in relationships. Will these couples overcome life’s challenges and remain true to one another?

    I enjoyed reading this novel and it reminded me of how life throws you obstacles that you don’t understand until you realize your true blessings. True love is hard to find. I recommend this novel to all. It will challenge the faith in your relationship or future relationships to come! I look forward to reading more novels from author, Steven Manchester, in the future.

    Reviewed by: Tekisha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A must read that touches the heartstrings Abby Soares and Rick

    A must read that touches the heartstrings

    Abby Soares and Rick Giles, childhood best friends turned teenage sweethearts, were torn apart when Rick’s family moved away. Years later, fate steps in and gives them a second chance. Older and wiser with both of them experiencing failed marriages, they find that their feelings for each other have never fizzled away. However, Abby’s daughter, Paige, is not happy with her mother’s budding romance and doesn’t want Rick included in their family. 

    Pressed Pennies is a fictional tale of the joys and difficulties of realistic life. Steven Manchester again demonstrates his talent for taking sensitive subjects and transforming them with insight and finesse into stories that touch the heartstrings. His uncanny ability to draw the reader into the story so completely that the reader is able to feel the emotions of the characters is remarkable. Told from the various viewpoints of the protagonists, it presents each character’s perception of the situation. It gives insight into the way a child reacts to a new person in their parent’s life, and how that affects the people involved. 

    This story captures the bliss and emotional strife present in relationships, and how with willing hearts and perseverance, adversity can be overcome. The plot is solid and flows smoothly with characters that are well developed and engaging. A truly captivating tale with vivid details and endearing characters, this moving story stays with the reader long after it’s been read, leaving a smile on the face and an imprint on the heart.


    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this book we follow two stories that find themselves intertwi

    In this book we follow two stories that find themselves intertwined in the beginning it's the story about Abby and her daughter Paige as they have left their home to move into a more affordable home.  Abby has just finalized her divorce from her ex-husband Patrick and finding starting over hard and also trying to reassure Paige it will be ok. 




    Richard has realized his marriage was missing something and since he wasn't able to fix it with his wife, he has realized that he had no option left but to divorce her.  Luckily they didn't have kids to complicate the matter, when he goes to a party hosted by his friends he bumps into a girlfriend from when he was a teenager, Abby. 




    Abby and Richard try to rekindle what they had but find this is harder with Abby's daughter who is not even giving Richard a fair shake so afraid that he will mess up her relationship with her mom.  How long can Richard stick around with a girl wedging her way in-between him and Abby?




    This was a great book, it reminds me so much of why I love Steven's books they remind me of Nicholas Sparks on so many levels.  To see a guy write a great romance and be able to delve into female emotions and angst is great.  He continues to amaze me with the characters he creates and how they find their happily ever after.  This was so good I couldn't put it down for a second!  Definitely a keeper of an author and I'm such a huge fan of his.  As long as he writes books I will be a die hard fan!  Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A true love sto

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A true love story that although may be predictable, is still sweet and tender and a good read.  Two high school sweethearts part ways due to circumstances and I think both of them always wondered what could have been if they had had to part ways in their youth.  Coincidentally they run into each other early on the book and although there are immediate sparks their love story takes a long time to get up and moving.

    I absolutely adored Abby from the very beginning.  What a honest character who had such great qualities.  Although she may have been quite a goodie too shoes, I enjoyed the honesty that she portrayed both to her child and her blossoming relationship.  Manchester did such a good job of portraying the truth as to how a child can really react to a new person in their parent's life and the impact that it can have on all parties involved.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pressed Pennies by Steven Manchester I was so hoping when I saw

    Pressed Pennies by Steven Manchester
    I was so hoping when I saw this new title that I'd get a copy to read and review. Without even knowing what the book is about I love the author's other works and knew I'd love this one also.
    What really fascinates me is bringing me back to my childhood days and reliving them as they go to a local amusement park-one I've been to often myself in the 60's.
    Story starts out with Abby and she's moved back to her hometown after a failed divorce, with her 9yo daughter Paige. Not many in the neighborhood are friendly to reach out to them but Abby shows her daughter how they can change all that.
    The book also follows Richard, who had a crush on Abby when they were kids, til he had to move away. He is now a millionaire and owns a lot of material things but is divorced.
    Any vacation where the grandkids are present we do run a shiny new penny through the machine to stretch and press it. My daughter was the one to explain to us when she was a teen how it's really done when the local train runs it over on the rails.
    Love hearing all about that and the wishes that come with it. They share many memories of their younger years, allowing me to do the same-down to the cherry Kool-Aid.
    Like how they mix the past events with the present ones-water fire. what a different world in the middle of the busy city, a place out of time. I have been to a large majority of the places mentioned in this book, a time for me to relive the calmness of the nature, scenes and just being.
    Remembering the past lives, paying it forward and be accountable for yourself...Like how the story follows what Abby is going through from all angles, Rich from his lifestyle, and even Paige and how she is coping...
    L/ove how he teaches others the things he's learned: treat others better, put them first, and make them happy which will make them want to make you happy. Precious pennies throughout the book!
    I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Abby¿s husband is a verbally abusive drunk who makes life misera

    Abby’s husband is a verbally abusive drunk who makes life miserable for her and her daughter Paige. Eventually Abby quits trying to fight it. After the divorce she and Paige move a couple towns away.

    In the mean time, Rick is seeing his “perfect” life as a meaningless burden, and moves on from the marriage that leaves him empty.

    by chance, these two childhood friends run into each other. Their renewed friendship blossoms into something more romantic. Well, as romantic as it can be with an eight year old child who is obsessive in her dislike of Rick. Will this romance ever get off the ground when Rick is continually put in last place? There are many ups and downs in this romance, with what appears to be more downs than ups.

    I really like Mr. Manchester’s books. He knows how to turn a phrase and touch a heart. I’m looking forward to reading many more of his books.

    BTW You’ll need that box of tissues.

    ***A special thank you to Mr. Manchester for providing a review copy.***

    posted by sunny island breezes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    What a delightful story! Steven Manchester weaves the story int

    What a delightful story! Steven Manchester weaves the story intertwined with sights, sounds and smells from childhood that can easily be recalled. It made me want to visit New England, too.

    His characters are always memorable. There's just enough information to be able to liken them to somebody you have already met, but not so much that it makes it impossible to relate to them.

    I liked the way he tied the pressed pennies in at the beginning and, again, at the end. This story helped me to recall fond memories of my childhood. It was a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Pressed Pennies, is an exceptional story that examines love and

    “Pressed Pennies, is an exceptional story that examines love and family life in all of its complexities.”

    “Abby and Rick are childhood friends who lived in the same neighborhood. They had a group of friends that they hung out with and went on adventurous trips together. Their lives changed when Rick’s family moved away, breaking up the group of friends and breaking Abby’s heart.”
    “Years later, Abby and Rick reconnect surprisingly. They realize that they have always been in love with each other. They decide to pursue a relationship.”

    “Abby’s daughter Paige is having difficulty-accepting Rick. She is struggling with issues about her father and is afraid that her relationship with her mother is threatened due to Rick.”

    "Although Rick and Abby suffer through some difficult obstacles the love they share helps them to endure it.”

    "Steven Manchester fluently depicts this wonderful, heart-warming story. Creating a novel that honestly portrays love, relationships, and family. While demonstrating how we find ways to deal with our challenges for those we love.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite Rick and Abby

    Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

    Rick and Abby find themselves being thrown together after many years in Pressed Pennies by Steven Manchester. Rick and Abbey are childhood friends who fall in love while young and then break up. Though they meet again and find themselves falling in love again and want to make up for lost time, there are other factors in their lives now which work as obstacles to their love story. Paige, Abby’s daughter, is very comfortable with being in her mother’s space all the time and does not seem to welcome Rick’s presence in her mother’s life. Rick, on the other hand, has no experience in handling kids and he finds it difficult to handle Paige. Will Abby be able to make things work for her this time? The author traces the lives of three couples in this story.

    The book brings together many relationships and the love portrayed in the story is nuanced and vivid in its descriptions. Eunice and Bill and Carmen and Grant are the other two couples whose romance is followed in this story. The author weaves the stories of these couples into the main plot deftly and the language is simple and elegant, adding to the beautiful imagery of the settings. This intense love story will bring out heartfelt emotions in readers. The author has captured the joy of family and relationships through the lives of these three couples. This love story revolves around hope, faith, destiny and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    In his latest novel, Pressed Pennies, author Steven Manchester w

    In his latest novel, Pressed Pennies, author Steven Manchester weaves a captivating romantic tale of broken hearts, family dynamics, love rekindled and second chances.




    Abby (Gerwitz) Soares and Rick Giles were childhood sweethearts until Rick's family moved away, eventually losing touch with each other.




    Now in their early thirties, Abby and Rick have both suffered through horrible marriages ending in divorce. While at a mutual friend's neighborhood party, Abby and Rick are unexpectedly reunited and the old feelings of love are rekindled as they get reacquainted and reminisce while taking a stroll down memory lane. But real life has a way of stepping in the way when Abby is cautious about starting a romantic relationship with Rick, especially since her number one priority in life is her nine year old daughter Paige. Can Abby and Rick's spark of rekindled love become a reality when a little girl's fear and objection to their relationship stands in their way of finding true love and happiness?




    Set in New England, the reader is easily drawn into Abby and Rick's lives: from their nostalgic memories of being childhood sweethearts; to the struggles and demise of their marriages; to their unexpected reuniting that rekindles their love for each other; to the obstacles that face them as their relationship is put the test; their love story unfolds in a heartwarming, smooth flowing, and richly descriptive writing style that author Steven Manchester has become known for.




    Pressed Pennies is a delightful romantic story that will captivate the reader's attention with its memorable characters; engaging dialogue and dramatic interactions; and a realistic storyline that deals with complicated family dynamics, relationship issues, rekindled love, and second chances. The author easily transports the reader into the heart of the story with the rich descriptions of the sights and sounds of New England. This is an enchanting story full of romance, nostalgic flashbacks to the past, and two people willing to overcome obstacles to get a second chance at love and happiness. Pressed Pennies is a wonderful story that takes the reader on an emotional roller coaster ride, it will make you feel the full gamut of emotions, and leave you with a feel good fuzzy feeling, a sigh, and a satisfied smile on your face!




    Be sure to look out for the two forthcoming companion novellas to Pressed Pennies: Wilbur Avenue, that is the backstory to Abby and Rick's childhood sweetheart years, and Just In Time, that is the mature second-time around love story of Rick's grandmother Eunice and second husband Bill Stryker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3