Customer Reviews for

Presumed Alive, a Kate Wehring Mystery

Average Rating 2
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review

A sassy female reporter and a handsome FBI agent must solve the mystery of four people found dead in an automobile. All four were missing and presumed dead years ago and others were serving jail time for the deaths. A lot of twists and turns as these two solve the puz...
A sassy female reporter and a handsome FBI agent must solve the mystery of four people found dead in an automobile. All four were missing and presumed dead years ago and others were serving jail time for the deaths. A lot of twists and turns as these two solve the puzzle.

posted by 14141564 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could have been much better.

Overall very flat, one dimensional and poorly written. Surprised that there are so many books by this author. I will not be reading them. Plot was a good idea, but the plot development, writing style, character development and especially the editing was very poor.

posted by 18417957 on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Could have been much better.

    Overall very flat, one dimensional and poorly written. Surprised that there are so many books by this author. I will not be reading them. Plot was a good idea, but the plot development, writing style, character development and especially the editing was very poor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Review

    A sassy female reporter and a handsome FBI agent must solve the mystery of four people found dead in an automobile. All four were missing and presumed dead years ago and others were serving jail time for the deaths. A lot of twists and turns as these two solve the puzzle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Too many writting mistakes

    If words added to sentences, repeated words, left out words, wrong tenses, people discribed as a man and called he, suddenly becames her, and singular and plural used interchangably, then this not the book for you. Every paragraph has at least one sentence with word mistakes. In some cases the mistakes render whole pages senseless. After 500 pages, I was ready to tear my hair out. The conversations between the people in this book were totally inane and quite boring. They added nothing to the plot. The reporter, Kate had a much too big role to play and her involvement with the group, Presumed Alive was impropable, as well as her inclusion in helping the FBI. She came across as a vain, man hungry female, and almost a super woman of a sleuth. I like my mysteries more belivable. On the other hand there are very few mispelled words or punctuation mistakes in this novel. I was so aggavated over the above mentioned mistakes, I might have burned my nook if I had, had to put with many more. This book was interesting, I kept reading it in order to find out the ending. It started off with a blaze of glory and ended in a puff of smoke. This is the first book in a series. I will not be reading the others. Other readers may enjoy it more. I gave it three stars because it could have been worse and boring besides.



    AD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I just cannot give this a better rating due to the atrocious la

    I just cannot give this a better rating due to the atrocious
    lack of editing which takes away from the storyline which is  
    fairly good.  
    It did seem that near the last of the book that the author
    was in a hurry to finish the book and didn't put a lot of
    thought or effort into the end of the book.  Definitely a book that needs major revisions.     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    B

    How many people were involved in writing this book, do you suppose? At times the dialog seemed adult andmade sense, but most of the book seemed to have been written by a highschool english class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    errors throughout. storyline jumps around so much you don't care

    errors throughout. storyline jumps around so much you don't care to read it. and, perhaps men who write with a female character lead should first examine their own inner self. This main character should just die off. No one in her little world would miss her, or in mine..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Absurd

    Poorly conceived characters, and an infantile plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    !

    Aarrggg!! Enough with the grammar nazis already! Get a job as an editor if you think you are so all fired grammar perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Ridiculess

    Grammer and punction is worst i have ever seen in a book period the publisher should hire me to proofread i could do
    Better
    MY NOOK DOES NOT ALLOW ME TO TYPE CORRECTLY
    THE WRITING WAS LACKLUSTER AT BEST AND THE ENDING WAS A REAL BOMB

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This was one of the most poorly written books I have ever read.

    This was one of the most poorly written books I have ever read. While the story itself was not bad, the presentation was horrific and indicates a basic lack of knowledge of the english language. The spelling of hors d'oeuvres was creative to say the least. Throughout the novel words were left out. It makes for very poor presentation. In addition, some of the dialogue was corny and transitions between chapters were abrupt and not sequential.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Not believable and very poor editing, How could a newspaper reporter have written this?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    ok

    Kate was not likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    The real mystery

    The mystery here is how a seasoned investigative reporter (see his bio) could have passed up the opportunity to make his reporter heroine a true classic detective, using the world of journalism as an entree to a "million" human stories, and instead go from a promising beginning tp a sarcastic romance to end as a creepy fantasy.

    I wouldn't have minded all the typos if Shure had given me a classic mystrry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1