Customer Reviews for

Presumed Guilty: Casey Anthony: The Inside Story

Average Rating 2.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(388)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Started reading it, and can't put it down!!

Like the rest of the nation, I have been intrigued by this case from the start. I was left in a state of shock when the verdict was read. I look forward to the attorney's account, and learning "the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth". I would not be able ...
Like the rest of the nation, I have been intrigued by this case from the start. I was left in a state of shock when the verdict was read. I look forward to the attorney's account, and learning "the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth". I would not be able to bring myself to believe any other interpretation of this case. Who better to get accounts from than the man himself, Mr. Baez.

posted by 13690485 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

122 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

His book makes absolutely NO sense. He blames the cops for not r

His book makes absolutely NO sense. He blames the cops for not realizing she had severe mental issues yet he did NOTHING to help those 'severe mental issues' once he signed on as her attorney.

And of course the big question remains. Why didn't he just accompany her to ...
His book makes absolutely NO sense. He blames the cops for not realizing she had severe mental issues yet he did NOTHING to help those 'severe mental issues' once he signed on as her attorney.

And of course the big question remains. Why didn't he just accompany her to the police and allow her to tell her (B.S.) about the 'accidental drowning'/'George cover up' from day 1? Why drag this out for 3 years? Why accuse innocent people of being the 'real' killer (Kronk, Grund, etc) if Caylee 'accidentally drowned'.

4 years later, the lies continue on and on and on. This book should be filed under 'Fantasy', not 'true crime'.

posted by Stefanie18 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    SAD STORY TO READ, BUT VERY ENGAGING

    When I heard that Jose Baez was writing a book about the trial of Casey Anthony for the murder of her daughter Caylee, I knew I would buy it as soon as it was released.

    I followed the case closely; mesmerized, as was much of the country. I did not, however, have high expectations that the book would be well written and informative. So I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It is extremely well written and provides information in a way that helped me to understand more about Caylee's death and the decisions made in prosecuting Casey for her murder. I especially found the information about the discovery of the body and the processing of the crime scene and conclusions reached from what was found very informative.

    While watching the trial, I remember being impressed with the work of the prosecution, but I will never understand the jury's decision.

    5 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down

    First, one negative critque. It is a bit repetitive. The most eye opening part of the book was the description of the complete and never ending collusion between law enforcement and the media. I no longer expect "journalists" to search for and report the truth. I have lost all faith in their ability or desire to uphold the freedom of the press. However, I did hold some faith in law enforcement. But the hundreds of incidents that Baez cites where the police/DA fed off the media and the media was being fueled by leaks from police was mind numbing. From start to finish, it was about ratings and glory. In the meantime, they were myopic in their search for the truth regarding Caylee's murder. You may not like Jose Baez or defense lawyers, but he defended his client and her constitutional rights when no one else would. He encountered threats on his life for tryng to defend someone's civil liberties. People always hate lawyers (until they need one). He clearly states from the beginning that Casey was a pathological liar and that she was sexually promiscuous. No illusions there. In no way does the book portray her as an angel. She is what she is. What the book does do, however, is show what extreme links DAs and law enforcement agencies will go to to subvert evidence and testimony that does not fit their predeterminde idea of what happened.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I wish people who left reviews for this book would actually revi

    I wish people who left reviews for this book would actually review the book instead of spouting off their opinions on Jose Baez and Casey Anthony.

    Unlike many of the people here, I HAVE actually read the book and found it to be a very interesting read. Baez's account offers a unique perspective into Florida law, defending a high-profile case, and Casey Anthony herself. It was well-written and intriguing and I suspect that somewhere between Ashton's book published only a few months after the trial (which, personally, I found suspect) and Baez's book lays the truth.

    3 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    If you don't like the book or the people then don't read it. Sim

    If you don't like the book or the people then don't read it. Simple as that. No need to rate it one star just because you disagree. Open your mind a little and see all sides instead of being single-minded. Secondly, Baez is a lawyer who did is job.

    3 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    It was better than I expected. Even though I felt and still feel

    It was better than I expected. Even though I felt and still feel that Casey is guilty as sin, I can understand how the jurors came to their conclusion of not guilty.It baffles me to no end that the state of Florida would put on a case where the cause of death was not determined and yet it was considered a homicide. And the fact they,(prosecuters/police), never recieved a "true" statement from Casey based on what happened the day Caylee passed away. Are you serious? With all of Casey's lying and bazaar behavior that does not conclude that she killed her child. If so prove it. Her actions, be it the lies, or thirty days without reporting her child missing, only tells us that she is hiding something. The question is what?

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Bozo is riding the coat tails...

    Bozo is still out there trying to sell this garbage, the funny thing is I have seen numerous sites saying you can read it for free... Guess what I don't care to even read it for free. I am a avid reader of TRUE stories... NOT false information or lies. He admits the whore is a liar but prints what the nasty evil NOT mom says as truth? Oh please. Bozo you have been and always be known as a failure at everything. So is your "lying slut" client. Failure in school, failed her friends, her family and sure was not MOTHER to Caylee, she never supported her child (ummm kind of like you) she stoled and wrote bad checks, ( umm ditto just like a swarmy lawyer) she was nothing, is nothing and will never be anything productive in society. Her and her family are a bunch of "free loading mooches" they want society to support them.. and your just as nasty dirty as they are. You should just go away quietly and maybe the world will forget what a loser, pathetic wannabe famous star your aiming at.. cause it will never work... HOW DOES IT FEEL TO KNOW WHEN YOU AND YOUR CLIENT DIE AND GO TO HE!! THE WORLD WILL CELEBRATE AND PARTY, kind of like your murdering client did.. And I promise it will be longer then 31 days of partying, especially since our children are not rotting in a trunk or swamp. You Will NEVER EVER change the views of intelligent people who seen the duhfense lie their way in court through a trial of a precious, beautiful 2 year old that was murdered and thrown away like trash... and thats exactly what should happen to you Skank, Scum/Scam Anthonys and your circus of scum attorneys. When each of you make headline news for being extinguished off this earth.. we will have the biggest celebration of all time. You have a few supporters, INSANE JANE, WHOREaldo, Meathead bird flippin Mason etc... but never will anybody in the real world take you seriously you A JOKE.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    ENTICING!

    I had a feeling this book would open the "pandora's box", and it certainly did!! So many new revelations. I enjoyed his view of things, and also his dark humor. She certainly had some psychological problems.

    2 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Interesting read and insight to the many questions that we will

    Interesting read and insight to the many questions that we will never have the answers to. I do have a better understanding why the jury came back with the verdict that they did based on reading this book. Ashton had his opportunity and Baez is entitled to his. No one is forced to read or purchase this book so direct the anger at the Anthony family who has LIED and PROFITED throughout this entire process.

    2 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Don't waste your money!

    A friend gave me this to read after she was halfway done with the book. She was so disgusted with the lies and fabrication that she was going to throw it in the trash. Instead, I asked her for it. I couldn't even get past 50 pages before I too almost choked on all the crap in it. Mr. Baez must assume that the American public is stupid.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    This was a great book that should only be read by someone with a

    This was a great book that should only be read by someone with an open mind.  I suspect that most of the 'sheep' that are giving this book horrible reviews are all individuals that had already made their minds up that Casey murdered her child.  As Jose himself suggests, Casey Anthony was guilty of a lot of things, but murder wasn't one of them.  The ignorance and stupidity of the general public made it difficult for the woman to get a fair trial.  Having said that, the justice system worked the way it was intended.  It is the prosecutions job to prove guilt.  They failed and the jury made the right call.  End of story.  Jose gives the reader a really incredible view of the massive adversity he had to overcome to defend the "most hated woman in America".  Don't read this book if you're completely convinced Casey killed her child.  On the other hand, if you've got an open mind and are willing to listen to 'the other side', then by all means check this out!  There's always two sides to every story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I thought it was a good read. It is an inside story of the Defe

    I thought it was a good read. It is an inside story of the Defense's POV, and the Anthony Family Dysfunction. The Defense doesn't have to prove anything. They just have to create reasonable doubt. FOr those that don't want to support a presumed child murderer, I got this book FREE from the from the library. I thought she was guilty before, too, but after reading this, not so sure, even though she lied to police, partied, and didn't report for 31 days that her child was missing. There is something just off about this entire family. These jurors didn't sign up. Sure they could have gotten out of it, like so many do. There were many people besides this attorney making money on the death of Caylee, who will never be forgotten. That is the sad part, along with the fact that Caylee was murdered and tossed out like trash, or a dead pet. Its a good read to see how a Defense Attorney thinks, and what he see's as he is trying a high profile case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1