Customer Reviews for

Presumed Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best of both worlds

This could have been two novels--the man obsessed with his former co-worker and mistress, or a fast-paced summer read mystery. The fact that Scott Turow pulled off both and put them together makes it understandable why this book was so successful on its first release. I...
This could have been two novels--the man obsessed with his former co-worker and mistress, or a fast-paced summer read mystery. The fact that Scott Turow pulled off both and put them together makes it understandable why this book was so successful on its first release. I really was expecting to breeze through it, like most mysteries out there that are so popular, but was surprised at how long the book was, comparatively. And, I did not expect the rich inner life of Rusty, and how he dealt with everything going on. I also did not predict whodunit. I love being surprised about those kind of things. The detail, the length of flashbacks, explanations, obsessing, lent so much to the mystery that one really invested in the characters. Most of the time, in mysteries, things just happen, and you race through the pages waiting for the next visceral thrill. You are excited, and your pulse races, but, when the book is over, you have nothing left to do, but come down from the thrill. At the end of Presumed Innocent, I felt how I do after a novel, wondering about the future of the characters, their families' + that pulse-racing thrill. It's a combination hardly ever experienced in popular thrillers. I can't wait to read the next Kindle County mystery.
My only qualms is that, it's not for those who want a quick mystery read, and some might think the book couldn't make up its mind. Also, all the "faggot" and "queer" jokes are a little jarring, until you realize it was written in 1988. Enjoy

posted by Camboron on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good reading.

I love mysteries and "who-done-it" novels, and this one kept me guessing for most of the book. The story line was good, but the way it is written takes a bit of concentration to keep characters straight in the beginning. There is some pretty graphic writing with some of...
I love mysteries and "who-done-it" novels, and this one kept me guessing for most of the book. The story line was good, but the way it is written takes a bit of concentration to keep characters straight in the beginning. There is some pretty graphic writing with some of the scenes that I didn't find necessary to make the story interesting. On my personal scale of 1 to 10, I'd rate this one a 7.

posted by lov2readSM on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Best of both worlds

    This could have been two novels--the man obsessed with his former co-worker and mistress, or a fast-paced summer read mystery. The fact that Scott Turow pulled off both and put them together makes it understandable why this book was so successful on its first release. I really was expecting to breeze through it, like most mysteries out there that are so popular, but was surprised at how long the book was, comparatively. And, I did not expect the rich inner life of Rusty, and how he dealt with everything going on. I also did not predict whodunit. I love being surprised about those kind of things. The detail, the length of flashbacks, explanations, obsessing, lent so much to the mystery that one really invested in the characters. Most of the time, in mysteries, things just happen, and you race through the pages waiting for the next visceral thrill. You are excited, and your pulse races, but, when the book is over, you have nothing left to do, but come down from the thrill. At the end of Presumed Innocent, I felt how I do after a novel, wondering about the future of the characters, their families' + that pulse-racing thrill. It's a combination hardly ever experienced in popular thrillers. I can't wait to read the next Kindle County mystery.
    My only qualms is that, it's not for those who want a quick mystery read, and some might think the book couldn't make up its mind. Also, all the "faggot" and "queer" jokes are a little jarring, until you realize it was written in 1988. Enjoy

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    kept me glued till the end

    the description of the human condition we all know but rarely give words was fantastic and hideous to read. the ending was fresh and chilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TUROW SPINS HIS MAGIC

    PRESUMED INNOCENT
    Scott Turow
    Grand Central Publishing
    ISBN: 987-0446-35986-3
    464 pages
    $7.99 - Paperback
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    Originally published in 1987, PRESUMED INNOCENT by Scott Turow can stand the test of time. It is a thrilling account of a Deputy District Attorney who finds himself on the opposite side of the table as a defendant who is fighting a murder charge.

    Turow takes his time with his character introduction and then leads a reader into the complex mystery of who killed Carolyn Polhemus, a Deputy District Attorney. Carolyn is known in the legal community as a tough prosecutor who has a penchant for sharing her bed with multiple men. Her ambition and affairs come to light when another prosecutor is brought to trial for her death. The story becomes one that takes a reader through the inner workings of the legal system, the frail threads that binds human nature, and the conscious that plagues each and everyone of us on a daily basis.

    It is a story well told with an ending that is neither obvious nor complacent. A reader is left with an I-Don't-Believe-It impression that will send them to the bookstore to buy Turow latest mystery, INNOCENT, published in May 2010.

    Turow is a writer and attorney with seven best selling novels to his credit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Captivating!

    This book truly was a captivating story. I enjoyed it very much, and it had me guessing to the end. Did he do it, or didn't he? You'll just have to read for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Incredible Reading; Turow is a Master of his craft.

    This novel is gripping and original,one of the best crime-drama novels I have ever read.It keeps you glued to the pages, reading and reading until atlast you learn the truth. Speaks highly of the cunning abilities of women, also and how their craftiness is often overlooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    Very interesting after you wade through the beginning.

    Scott Turow is obviously a brilliant writer (a little too smart for his own good) and this book is interesting. If you're an intellectual who is tired of the Southern idiom in Grisham's books, and you like courtroom drama, Turow is for you; however, the switching of names, sometimes using the first and sometimes using the last, was confusing. Also, brace yourself for one major disappointment where Turow cheats. Throughout the book, the reader sees from the main character's point of view. The main character is incredibly perceptive but never lets the reader inside his head to see who the murderer was. Only at the end, is the murderer revealed. This 'trick' reminds me of cheap movies that only show the murderer's feet, hiding his face, to artifically create suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Well written and very entertaining book

    I enjoyed reading this book very much. The story was very well written building on great characters. A master mystery thriller that anyone who likes this genre should defenately read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2