Customer Reviews for

The Pretend Wife

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Loved it!

    Great book. Love how Bridget Asher develops her characters as the story progresses. She doesn't feel the need to tell you all about them in the first chapter, but to let your brain connect with them through the story. Fun and fast to read but not the kind of book you read and forget. Make sure to read My Husband's Sweethearts too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Wonderful book.

    I enjoyed this book so much. I just loved it! P.S. Peter is a douche. A really big douche. Wait never mind, he's worse than a douche. He's a dick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I loved the wine and cheese party!

    Another fabulous book by Asher/Baggott! Love, love, love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book - It made me laugh and cry - It felt a little

    I loved this book - It made me laugh and cry - It felt a little like I
    was reading Something borrowed - But I loved that book as well so.... =)
    - It was a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Amazing!

    This is a lovely book that takes you away to an unimaginal healing for an adult. The true test of time. And an enduring true love story to which you feel as if your actualy there in person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    A very enjoyable read!

    It was very funny and realistic. The characaters were believeable and I enjoyed it very much. Thank you, Bridget Asher!
    Sincerely,
    DI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Good weekend read.

    Selected this to read over the Labor Day weekend. Good weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Not just chick-lit

    Despite the Barbie pink and mint green flowery cover, this is not fluffy chick-lit. Yes, it has a cutesy premise - old boyfriend needs a fake wife to make his dying mother feel better - the issues it explores aren't sweet and light - how our parents' relationship colors our adult relationships, how our relationships to our parents do the same thing, how secrets and lies can destroy us even if they are meant to protect us, whether protecting ourselves from pain can cause us the greatest pain.Nothing here is new, but it was still thought provoking and compelling.

    My only disappointment was the ending. Although I prefer happy endings, in this case I think the author took the easy way out. There didn't need to be a bad guy. I would have preferred that she get to the same place through reflecting on herself, her growth, her pain, her needs, rather than through the actions of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    never too old too pretend!

    The Pretend Wife by Bridget Asher
    There are some great lines in this little book, economical with her words and to the point, I think this book is entertaining and thought provoking. Asher has shown in the past that she has a knack for offering up wonderful characters and placing them in unlikely circumstances (read My Husbands Sweethearts.) Gwen is a grown-up now; she may not have been sure what she was looking for in life until found a man with a loophole. He is confident, entitled and nothing bad really seems to touch his family. After what happened to her mother, she wants some of that. She married him, is still trying on career's to find a good fit, house staging at the moment and developed a stemware addiction. She's good, mostly peaceful, confident in her decisions, when she chances into an old flame, a quick and burning hot, old flame.
    When the bizarre offer is made to help him comfort his dying mother by pretending to be his wife she goes with mixed feelings, but after all it is just weekend and she is a grown -up. His family sucks Gwen in. His mother, Vivian, is an unwieldy force, even on her deathbed. She's no longer interested in breezy conversations. She has some important questions for her son's new wife, does she love her son? Does she believe in God, forgive her parents, and want children? Gwen is swept into a round of self evaluation she wasn't bargaining for. Does she recognize Gwen from years before or does she buy her as Elizabeth, her son's wife? Marriage is a crock, Vivian tells her, but love isn't. Another tidbit I liked, if you let fear make your decisions for you, it will make good decisions but only for its own sake. We believe if we can do right and we can be good, but what is right exactly! Gwen goes back to her father for some answers about her mother's death and finds she needs to reconcile some of these past questions to begin to look at right and wrong once again. A pleasure to read, keep writing Bridget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    don't waste the money

    I bought this book in hopes of having a rainy day book to read. I started to read it, but I couldn't get through the first chapter. It was so boring. I returned the book, that's how bad the book was. It was a slow moving book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    pretend wife

    I really enjoyed the book. It reminds you of your first love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a superb profound look at relationships;

    Although she is married to kindhearted Peter, Gwen Merchant agrees to help out her former college boyfriend Elliott Hull; his mother Vivian is dying and wants to meet his fiancée before she passes away. Gwen hides from Elliot that she looks forward to escaping the loving smothering of her spouse of three years who brings his profession into their marital relationship: anesthesiologist.

    However, Gwen never expected her weekend masquerade would lead her to falling in love with Elliott and liking his family; especially his sister and her children. She also notices how Vivian scrutinizes and probably knows her relationship with Elliot is a sham even as she wonders if her late mom who drowned when Gwen was five would do likewise.

    Until the unacceptable climax (at least to me), THE PRETEND WIFE is a superb profound look at relationships; not just that of Gwen with her spouse, her sham spouse, her widower dad and others, but also Elliot with his mom and sister.. The story line is character driven filled with pathos and humor while exploring human needs for companionship. Gwen makes the tale work with her energy and enthusiasm as the weekend provides her insightful revelations about life's shortness making every relationship matter.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2