Customer Reviews for

Pretend You Don't See Her

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Amazing, I couldn't put it down!

    I am a teenager, and as we all know reading is not on my list of fav. things to do. Looking in the library just 2 days ago, I ran upon my first Mary Higgin's Clark book. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! I caught myself sneaking and reading it during class lectures. I couldn't have picked a better book to start on, I can't wait to continue reading all of Mary's books. I DEFF. recommend you try it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Pretend u dont see her

    Dear Preview for english class i can only hope that u r not this ignorant in english class ? ? Please do us...literate people a favor ?....look up the definition of the word review ......it does not mean tell all of us the entire plot to the book !!!! R U A RETARD OR WHAT ?????? THANK U .....C.R.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Pretend you don't see her

    Excellent read! I couldn't stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Pretend You Don't See Her

    Highly Recommended. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    It was written by the "Queen of Suspence"?

    Where was the suspence? Also, Steve has the same last name as me. Weird. But part of me knew Lacey would defeat the bad guy, blah blah blah, happily ever after, more blahs. At the same time, another part of me was absolutely sure, almost hoping, Sandy would kill Lacey. Oh, and one more thing: I just knew Nick was the one who was stealing them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    SHES DONE IT AGAIN!!!!

    I read this book a looooooong time ago when i stumbled across it in the 6th grade and i found it again just a while ago. COULDNT PUT IT DOWN!!!!!!!! Its an amazing story.......like all of MHC's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Can't finish it

    I cannot get beyond ONE point in this book: Why in the wide universe would Lacey EVER tell her totally spastic mother where she is?? I've read a couple chapters beyond that, but I'm done. This is the 2nd book in my LONG lifetime of reading that I cannot finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Pretend I Don't See Myself?

    If you were about 30 years old, could you do that? Pretend I'm someone else? Mary Higgins Clark has written another gripping story about Lacey, a young woman who's forced into the witness protection program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    The Queen has done it again!

    Lacy is an absolutely magnectic character! Her voulnerabilty captivates the reader, making sure you turn the page over and over agian. Lacy struggles with love, danger, and homesickness when she is taken away from her home, and everything she knows, in New York. You don't want to miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Summer Reading

    I read this book for summer reading and I thought it was so good. I couldn't even but the book down. Every page I read, made me want to continue to the next one. It was a great book and I highly recomend it to anyone who enjoys mystery and suspense filled novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    A very good novel

    Pretend you don't see her was an outstanding suspense novel. I, a person who loves to read suspense novels really enjoyed this novel. The plot was obviously thought out very well and it really kept be guessing who the killer was. I really liked the way the author ended the book. It was surprising to see the actual killer! I really enjoyed the way Mary Higgens Clark kept me the reader on my toes.Once I started to read the book I found it was very hard to put down. The author did a very good job of capturing the readers attention. It was a very good book and I will not hesitate to read another of Mary Higgens Clarks books again! Very Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    A very good, well thought out book.

    hIf you are the kind of person that enjoys a book that is suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat, then this a book that you should definately read! The author is very smart in the ways that she makes everything happen and work out in the end. She is the kind of writer that at the end will have you thinking, 'Well I never thought it would be that person!' In 'Pretend You Don't See Her' a girl named Lacey is sent into the Witness Protection program because she was at the wrong place at the wrong time basically. She is followed by a dark man that is very dangerous and that will stop at nothing to get what he has come for, no matter who gets in his way, he has his own ways of taking care of them. I enjoyed this book because Marry Higgins Clark is a very good author. I loved the way she gave you story from everybody's point of view. Everybody from the main character, to her mother, and then even from the murderer. This book is drama, with a hint of love, and friendship. I was telling my friend about what was going on, I was almost through with it, and he just wanted to know what happend in the end. He got so interested in what was going on that he thought that he might even want to indulge himself on this thriller. I know that once I started reading this book, it was hard to get me to stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Awful main character

    This was a frustrating read. Lacey, the main character, was hard to sympathize with. She seemed completely immature, whiney, and either very naive or very stupid. Maybe both. She clearly didn't appear to understand the gravity of the situation she placed herself in. It was very tough to make it all the way through to the end because by then, I was half-way hoping Lacey's selfish, stupid ways would have ended her up in the trouble she deserved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    great!

    great book... really mysterious, being my first book ever from mhc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    This book is a no go!

    Like most MHC Books the story switched to different characters each chapter. The ending was also very predictable like in most of her books. I would not reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    This book is a good to read for all ages.

    This is a sad and some parts are happy.And when i first read this i was so into this book it like captured me and i got into the book.And some time it wouldnt make sense but that was ok couse i just thought About it and i new what would happen in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    pretend you don't see her

    Pretend You Don¿t See Her by Mary Higgins Clark is a good book I would recommend this book to anyone who loves mysteries. It is most interesting because it switches off quite a bit. At times it¿s Lacey talking; then it¿s her mom and relatives. It gets kind of confusing, but it shows with both points of view that they are all trying to find out who the killer is of Isabella and Heather, and who is trying to kill Lacey. In Pretend You Don¿t See Her the main character, Lacey, is the protagonist. She is trying to find out who the killer is while he is trying to kill her. The antagonist, the killer, is causing the problems by making Lacey scared and worried about him trying to come and kill her too! The story is set in New York and then in Minnesota in recent time. The main conflict in the story is that Heather, Isabella¿s daughter, is killed and Isabella is trying to prove it wasn¿t an accident. In the process of trying to find out Heather¿s killer, Isabella is murdered. Lacey is there when Isabella is killed, and Lacey knows something the killer doesn¿t want anyone to know, so now he¿s out to kill her. Lacey is putting many people in danger by staying around because the killer is following her everywhere and other people are getting hurt because of it. Lacey is then put into a witness protection program. While she is in the program, she is still trying to find out who the killer is. She doesn¿t realize as she is trying to look for him, he is getting closer. The strongest points of the book are when it first starts out with the two murders and then the killer going after Lacey. I thought everything blended and was there for a purpose. It was an interesting story. It makes you think about what¿s going to happen next. Is he going to kill her? When is he going to show up at her house or find out where she lives? The conflict was reasonable because it could happen today. Murders are common around here, especially how the murder is in the book. You never know what is going to happen next. The author tricks you, and you have to find out who the killer is. People who like mysteries would want to read this book. You will want to keep turning the pages to find out more and more things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    i loved this book .. it was also my first Mary Higgins Clark book and i loved it.. it was a book i wanted to keep reading...i dont read very much and i read this book in a day i loved it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    My first MHC novel

    It was okay, however, I had expected more depth. There should have been more character development with regards to the culprit, so that we as readers could have had a better insight once we realized who was after Lacey Farrell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    One of her best!

    'Pretend you don't see her' was a really good book. I would recommened this book to many of my friends. The book is about this woman, Lacey, who sells houses. Lacey befriends a lady who ends up getting killed. Lacey witnesses all of this and has to go on the run. The book really keeps you into it. Mary Higgins Clark did a great job with the twist in this book. You go through the whole book thinking it's this person, then this person and by the end of the book you think you have it figured out, then you don't. I couldn't put it down. It was probably one of her best books that I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4