Customer Reviews for

Pretender (Third Foreigner Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Enjoyed every moment

    I want to say I enjoyed this book. It has depth of characters, twists that I was not really expecting and overall is a science fiction must read. I do not reccomend reading this book out of secquence because you would miss many of the nuances from the prior books. I have read and reread recently the whole series. This one called to me and is better than some of the past books. I hope you enjoy it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Only One Complaint

    The only bad thing about this book is having to wait however-long to get the third book. It's technically a stand-alone book, but I really want to find out what happens next. All my favorite characters are acting true to form: Ilisidi is stirring things up, Bren is trying to anticipate disaster, and Jago and Banichi are their usual unflappable selves. Cherryh has always been one of the best authors to illustrate the human-alien interface, but she's outdone herself on the Foreigner set. It's the standard everything else should be held to. Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Great book

    Stayed up almost an entire night to finish this book. The action starts on page 1 and never lets up. After a somewhat slow second trilogy, I've found this third trilogy has everything I love the Atevi books for--action, insights into a foreign psychology, palace intrigue, etc. This book is even better than the first of the trilogy, which I also loved. Several heretofore background characters really come to the fore, including Algini and Uncle Tatseigi. Great fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Foreigner science fiction thriller

    Civil war has devastated the Western Association and leaders like Tabini-aiij of the atevi home world are either dead or exiled and in hiding. Murini-aiij looks as if he will take over as ruler of the sector, but humans and other races will probably be eradicated under his xenophobic leadership. --- Human paidhi Bren Cameron, diplomat to Tabini, knows his atevi friend is the only hope to stop the hostilities and to prevent a subsequent slaughter as outside hostile races are heading to this galaxy. Tabini realizes he must regain control of the atevi government because he believes Bren is telling the truth about the upcoming invaders while Murini scorns humans with the help of Bren and his grandmother LLsidi they join forces with loyalist Tatiseigi. First civil war, then the invaders atevi and human are in trouble in this space sector. --- The latest Foreigner science fiction thriller, PRETENDER is a fabulous entry that showcases C.J. Cherryh at her best with the clever Machiavellian political maneuvers between the atevi with Bren used by Murini as a culpable pawn. The action augments the posturing for control as Tabini and Murini seek allies with the former thinking in terms of a two step war and the latter of just vanquishing his atevi rival. This is a great addition to one of the better outer space series of the last decade. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Excellent read. Read them all.

    Excellent read. Read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    The auther

    Im locked out of the other story result so ik squeasing them togethaer here. Part one:its interesting but make it seven pages for next time! Keep it going. Part two:Awesome but make it seven pages please! Keep it up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Pretend gone wild, "real"ly wild:::::Prologue:::::

    My name is Sheyna Leland. Okay so my seventeen year old cousin Lanah & i were playing a game we called "Pretend". "Pretend" is when we get together & reenact a movie we like but with ourselves added into the story. On this particular afternoon our theme for "Pretend" was "Star Wars." So we start at the beginning of the first of the trilogy(let me warn you ahead of time that i have a HUGE crush on Luke Skywalker). So we're acting it out & all of a sudden it starts getting hotter. "Lanah does it seem hot to you?" I ask, puzzled cause dad had the air conditioning on. "Yeah it does." She says. "And its bright too! Didnt you close the blinds for privacy?" She asked. "Youre right." I say. I wriggle my toes(its a nervous habit), look down & notice two things at once. One, i am standing on sand instead of carpet. Two, i have on strange looking boots instead of pink flipflops. As i am wondering what is going on i hear Lanah exclaim, "look at our clothes!" I look at my clothes & thats when it hits me. "Lanah, we're on Tattoine!" I cry, excited. "Lanah, this is our chance to really act out the movies!!!!" "You're right!! It is!!!" Lanah exclaims, getting as excited as i am. "Now think." I says. "What part were we at when it started getting hot?" "The Jawas were herding R2-D2, C3PO & the other robots out for Luke & his uncle to see." Lanah says. "That appears to be right." I say, looking behind Lanah. "How do you know?" She asks. "Look behind you." I say, pointing. Lanah turns to look.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1