Customer Reviews for

Pretenders (Pretenders Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I've read almost all of Lisi Harrison's books. I really think th

I've read almost all of Lisi Harrison's books. I really think this one might be her best yet. For slightly older readers than her old The Clique series. i also think guys and girls will equally like it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Consider yourself WARNED - this book is the first of a series an

Consider yourself WARNED - this book is the first of a series and it just ends. Full stop, no closure for any of the characters. You will have to read the next book if you want to know how any of this works out.

I LOVED this book until it ended. Everything about it dre...
Consider yourself WARNED - this book is the first of a series and it just ends. Full stop, no closure for any of the characters. You will have to read the next book if you want to know how any of this works out.

I LOVED this book until it ended. Everything about it drew me in, and I turned pages like crazy. And then...it just ended. Every single character was left dangling with a full-stop cliff hanger. I've never been so furious. I don't mind books that are part of a series with an over-all arc, but I expect each individual book to have some form of closure at the end. This had none of it. Worst of all, there was no warning that this would be the case - that this was the first book in a series. If I had known that, I wouldn't have started it until the next book was available. I feel so used and frustrated.

posted by lmcc67 on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Consider yourself WARNED - this book is the first of a series an

    Consider yourself WARNED - this book is the first of a series and it just ends. Full stop, no closure for any of the characters. You will have to read the next book if you want to know how any of this works out.

    I LOVED this book until it ended. Everything about it drew me in, and I turned pages like crazy. And then...it just ended. Every single character was left dangling with a full-stop cliff hanger. I've never been so furious. I don't mind books that are part of a series with an over-all arc, but I expect each individual book to have some form of closure at the end. This had none of it. Worst of all, there was no warning that this would be the case - that this was the first book in a series. If I had known that, I wouldn't have started it until the next book was available. I feel so used and frustrated.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I've read almost all of Lisi Harrison's books. I really think th

    I've read almost all of Lisi Harrison's books. I really think this one might be her best yet. For slightly older readers than her old The Clique series. i also think guys and girls will equally like it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this read. It was easy and something I finished within

    I enjoyed this read. It was easy and something I finished within the 2-3 hour range. It was cute story of the struggles of freshmen in a high school that is known for exceeding in all aspects. Which to me, was very relateable situation. I'm currently a high school freshmen for an overachieving school and understand that pressure. It was nice to see each of the different POVs and i love seeing the little drama with peers and the opposite sex in High School. (Which in my case is awesome to read about since I go to an all girl HS). I loved the character development throughout the book and how they struggle to be different and at the same time act like the rest of the crowd. The only thing that I didn't enjoy was the ending. Just like another reviewer had said, I didn't feel like it was a great  way to end the book. I never got that sense of rap up for some of the characters that we didn't hear much from at the end. I felt like I was missing what was going on with Jagger. I turned to the last few pages and was like 'Wait, that was it?". Overall good book and I can't wait for more! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Lisi Harrison was able to string together journal entries filled

    Lisi Harrison was able to string together journal entries filled with emotion, uncertainty, and confusion into a book of perfection. She was able to fully encompass the essence of loneliness that comes with growing up and the reality of the situations can tear down any young teen's heart. When Sheridan is given exercise tips from her own mother instead of a comforting hug, that tore at my heartstrings because I knew exactly how she felt. It certainly seems like parents do not understand the fragility of being a teenager. Lisi has certainly outdone herself in this new series and I applaud her for taking a unique and creative route to exploring this five precocious teens.

    Some people criticize the characters for being too stereotypical, however I beg to differ. That is merely our initial reactions to them as human beings. It is human nature to judge, isn't it? Like when we see a drop dead gorgeous girl who seems to be able to juggle perfect grades, boys, and awards, we label her as an overachiever. Or when we see an attractive jock who can't seem to notice all of the girls drooling over him- we just assume that he's stupid. Yet as you go further into the book, you find that there is so much depth to all of them. Experience Vanessa's daily exhaustion, anxiety, and lack of parental love as she struggles to gain attention using her grades that she had to cheat to get. Place yourself in the shoes of Duffy as he schemes his way into a job that will be able to pay for his expensive ambition since his parents have gone broke. Yearn for a boy hopelessly out of your league and dream of being a normal teenager like quirky Lilly or become curious over the mysterious Jagger and his suspicious life story. Take a breath and open up a book that will transport you back to the hallway of high school.

    Cuddling under my warm blanket, I found Pretenders to be a therapeutic, chicken soup book that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. The book was skillfully written in a way where you could truly feel the pitter patter of the rain as it was coming down on Sheridan's car as she left Theater auditions or smell the exotic French food cooking in the kitchen as Lily came home after leaving Style Club. This is certainly a wonderful book to read over and over again and the feelings you experience when reading it will stick with you for a long time. Take a moment then open up the book to enjoy the splendors that come with growing up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    LOVED IT

    Omg this book was amazing. I finished it in hours, but the one problem I had with the book was the ending....I want to know what happens to the characters it just ended like that I have to say thought I would recomend this book to anyone and I can't wait untill the secomd one comes out on june 24!!!!!!!! So excited

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Need Second Book

    Lisi needs to write the second book! I read this back when it came out and it just left me there! The summary doesnt have anything to do with the book. It doesnt even get to the part where they are nominated for the 5. Not the best, but still loved it. But please write the second book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Wow

    Three girls, two guys, and five secret journals. The start of freshman year is here for Sheridan Spencer, Andrew Duffy, Lily Bader-Huffman, Vanessa Riley, and Jagger.

    Sheridan: used to being popular and talented. She channels different celebrities for confidence, and trusts them to make her look fab, flawless, and gorgeous. But will Sheridan's life starts going wonky, will she find out that yourself can be the best persona?

    Andrew Duffy: the poor basketball star. Sick of his sisters and his family's money problems, "Duffy" relies on basketball. When he finds out the thefee to be on the team is outrageous, he is desperate for a way to get money. Little, does he know that his attempts to get cash end up getting him two girls that have crushes on him. Lily, his used-to-be-homeschooled nieghbor who collects (steals) his stuff that he touches, and Sheridan who can't find her own personality. How's a boy with gold sneakers supposed to pull this off?

    Lily Bader-Huffman: made a deal with her mom: straight A's at Noble High, or it's back to being homeschooled (aka a Homie). When grades start to slip, what desperate measure will she resort to? And will she get caught?

    Vanessa Riley: pretty, and a A+ student... until her grades, as well as her new friend Lily's start slipping. Her parents fight constantly and she worries a lot. Her brother AJ can't get his act together, but whe he does, it falls through. Can Vanessa try to get her life, Lily's life, and AJ's life together and still have energy to have hope on the parental front?

    Jagger: he's been the tough boy ever since his parents got landed in jail for helping someone, and he's determind to keep that steel solid front up at his high school. But when he meets Audri, Sheridan's best friend, will he be able to? And will Jagger learn that maybe he dies have feelings, after all?

    Three cheers for another outstanding book by Lisi Harrison. When I started reading this book, I had my clear favorites for the journal entries. By the end, all the stories were twisted and tangles and combined. I really got into the five's stories and really felt each of their feelings. Some parts made me laugh, and some made me almost cry. It was written in the voice of a teenager, and was an outstnading read. My only complaint? The total cliffhanger at the end. Please, please, PLEASE publish the second book ASAP, Lisi!! I just can't wait! I'd recommend this book to all teenagers and older tweens.

    Five stars out of five!!

    ~X-PHONIE (X for short, it's cooler) :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Click please CLICK PLEASE PLEASE CLICK

    Ok how good is this book im in 7th grade and i read all the monster high books and i want to know what is this book abour does it have romace and does it have drama and is it worth my money??

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Chantel boss $$

    I love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    English class at Noble High will never be the same for students,

    English class at Noble High will never be the same for students, and for five students their lives are really about to change. For three girls and two guys, these confessionals that they begin to write in the notebooks their English teacher has given out truly begin to change their lives. Students were asked to write in special notebooks, that have a lock and will not be read by anyone other than the student, are supposed to expand each students mind. To let them write freely about what they feel, think or do throughout the school year. The teacher has advised that no one will ever read the notebook, hense the lock on each notebook, and the only grade the students will get is for completely filling the notebook, once again the teacher will not read the book, will simply flip through it to check for completion only. Many of the students think that this is a dumb idea, but some think that this is a wonderful idea and embrace the new writing freedom they have been given. But the secrets that these books possess for these five students will change their lives and the lives of many others. Each person pretends to be someone they are not in the eyes of their peers, but behind closed doors, or in this case, behind the closed covers of a notebook the layers are shed and truths are revealed. Will they remain behind the covers or will someone expose the real truths?




    This is an amazing book. I liked the different characters in the book and the fact that each character had a very different style of writing and way of looking at their lives. Gripping, but it just cut off at the end of the book, right in the middle of things getting really really good. Good call on the part of the author, keeps the readers wanting more, but not good for the reader who wants more and will have to wait till the next book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Did you ever wonder...

    Ever took a sneak peek at someone’s diary or journal? Those personal thoughts a person writes down, maybe thoughts of anger, fear, joy, their darkest secrets that cannot be shared with a best friend? As a class project, everyone was to keep a private daily journal for the school year. No one was to ever see it but the author. Who would think someone would stoop low enough to steal the diaries of the five students elected as the Phoenix Five, the most popular, most “together” students in the freshman class? But someone did. Was it spite? Jealousy? Curiosity? A need to know that even the kids with it all on the outside were really just like everyone else?

    Pretenders by Lisi Harrison begins with the theft of these five journals and alternating chapters highlighting their private entries. The deepest thoughts, insecurities, feelings and routines of these students were exposed. The entries read just like a journal, sometimes the thoughts were silly, funny, immature, arrogant, but they felt real. I felt I was reading real journals, mentally doing an eyeroll here and a chuckle there. Was it riveting reading? Depends on what you call riveting, if you like to snoop, imagine it being someone you know, it’s riveting. Even better if you don't like the person. If you felt you were impinging on someone’s privacy, Lisi Harrison made them so life-like, that you may feel uncomfortable, the point is, you feel something when you finish! I can't say I liked the Phoenix Five as people, but I did feel for what they wrote, and their notes did appear honest to me.

    I’m not sure Ms. Harrison was looking to entertain as much as to point out, hey, even the in crowd is human and flawed and maybe everyone is a "pretender" to some degree! What becomes of these journals, the point to the theft, the consequences of this brutal exposure, and the person who took them, well, there is book two for that!

    I received this copy from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Pretenders

    I love this book so much and I could not put it down once I started it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    I have the paper back version

    Aaawwweeesssooommmeee


    (Need second book)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    So bad

    I could not get into it....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Sample version

    Just finished reafing the sample version if this book.... pretty interseting. I just wonder if it will be any better than the other book i finished reading. Bewtween u and me by Zendaya. You know the girl who plays Rocky Blue in Disney Channel's Shake it up. Hopefully now to just purchase the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    HATE IT!!!!

    I am a big fan of Lisi Harrisons books. The Clique, Alphas, even Monster High. Although I am sorry to say this is the worst book she has ever written. From the beginning it was confising. I never truly understood what the supposed "secrets" were. It was boring and not intriguing. I still love her and her books but i advise her fans not to read this one or youll be disappointed!!! :( :....( (Sorry Lisi!!!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Three girls, two guys, and five big secrets. That was what the n

    Three girls, two guys, and five big secrets. That was what the novel promised, unfortunately, as you can tell from the title of this post, Pretenders failed to deliver. I am so disappointed in how misleading the synopsis is. I feel pretty bad because if the synopsis was written differently, I would have known that Pretenders isn't the type of book I would usual read because 1) It is very immature. The five characters are high school freshmen and their story is told in diary entry form (5 different POVs).  Their mentalities felt like ones belonging to preschoolers. I really disliked how shallow they were, how 5 micrometer deep their personalities and how unmemorable their stories were.  2. The supposed "five big secrets" don't exist. I kept on reading and reading… and reading but I just couldn't figure out what they were. Yes I read some supposed unmemorable 'revelation' but it just wasn't worth all the hype. 3. A couple of hours after finishing the book, even if you offer me a large sum of money, I seriously won't be able to tell the difference between the characters and their corresponding story… What is worse is that the book didn't even wrap up but there is a sequel to it. What happened in this whole book could be summarized in a couple of pages so I seriously don't understand the need for prolonging such a story into more than ONE book. I would only recommend this book to kids between the ages of 9 to 11. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Cool

    Omg this was a really awesome book so that's why i gave it five stars i can't for the second one to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Love it

    I love all of lisi harrisons books and this is my most fav and im in 8th gtade and the kids in the book r in highschool so i wouldnt let 11 and unfer read it its more for older kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2