Customer Reviews for

Pretties (Uglies Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1056 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(628)

4 Star

(276)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Is being pretty really the most important thing?

Filled with fantasy, this book is amazing! Tally used to be an ugly but not anymore. Theres a new Tally now who is totally gorgeous and has the hottest boyfriend around. But when she finds out the truth about being pretty will she want to stay that way? I would recomend...
Filled with fantasy, this book is amazing! Tally used to be an ugly but not anymore. Theres a new Tally now who is totally gorgeous and has the hottest boyfriend around. But when she finds out the truth about being pretty will she want to stay that way? I would recomend this book to pretty much anyone. You should especially read this if you're into fantasy. Once you start reading this you can't put it down. I loved this book, so i read the whole series. It uses lots of figurative language, and the author makes you feel as if you're part of the book. Mental images roll through your head the whole time you're reading it. Be sure to read the whole series: uglies,pretties,specials, and extras!

posted by kels10 on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Just A Bad Sequel

I fell in love with the first book in the series, UGLIES, and when I finished it I couldnt wait to buy PRETTIES. I was so excited but only for that excitement and let it be turned into dissapointment! Tally ends up practically obssesed Zane, and she completely forgets a...
I fell in love with the first book in the series, UGLIES, and when I finished it I couldnt wait to buy PRETTIES. I was so excited but only for that excitement and let it be turned into dissapointment! Tally ends up practically obssesed Zane, and she completely forgets about David! In my opinion, the book was JACKED UP!!! I WOUDLNT RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE!!!!!

posted by Wolf-Gurl on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    An Uglies lover

    I LOVED Uglies, and couldn't wait to read Pretties. But it was not at ALL as good as Uglies. In fact, I hated it. I just got Specials, in hopes that it will be as good as Uglies. I started to hate Tally. She was not the Tally I loved from Uglies.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Zane!!!!

    I was pretty dissapoinyed with this book. I was kind of hoping that Tally was going to keep on loving Zane, but nooo, the author HAD to make Shay, David and Peris mess everything up. Very dissapointing. :( :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Grr

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THSE BOOKS Im readung the third one now. But i am super mad that she chose zane. So what if david is ugly he was kind to her her first love. Ohh it made me so mad when she called him ugly. I hopethe third book is better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    well............

    ok so this series wasn't "horrible" but i wouldn't necessarily call it "good" either. i love to read books- i mean LOVE to - and alot of the books that i read captivate me so much that i cant put the book down and i keep checking to see how many pages are left because im scared that it will end. the uglies trilogy never captivated me like that and when i checked to see how many pages were left, it was because i couldn't wait until it was over. i found my self reading just so that i could finish instead of reading for fun -- i kept hoping it would get better -- i kept hoping it would get better threw specials and it didn't so i have no desire to read extras. this book wasn't right for me so if i were you i wouldn't waste my time on this series. however, if you want to read something science-fictiony and futeristic then i recommend the host by stephenie meyer. if your into books where the main characters go on journeys away from home, then i recommend My fair godmother by jenette Rasilion and wing by e.d. baker and the s.a.s.s. series by various authors. however if you absolutely loved this book then a book that i found had similar writing style is magic or madness by justine larbalestier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Not Captivating

    So, if you're looking for a great read - then this isn't the book for you! The story is hard to follow at times, the characters are flat, the whole setting is hard to grasp. If you're going to read a sci-fi then read The Host by Stephenie Meyer. This one isn't worth the time or the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Completly different from what i thought of Uglies

    I thought this book was (im srry 2 say) awful. It didnt keep my attention somehow, though it was almost as thrilling as the first one. But it wasnt just the How it was written, it was the Way it was written. Towards the middle , i thought i was that tally was begining to come back 2 her old Ugly self, but in the end, she was back 2 being pretty-minded in a way. I found myself hating her, and Zane. Honestly, how could she fall IN LOVE w/ this guy after one kiss and 3 words? She barely knew him! n after all she and David had been through? they came so far, n THEY we in love, how could she possibly 4get him? She ah-bviously didn't cure herself, b-cuz, like Maddy said, she was still a selfish, spoiled rotten brat, just like a pretty. David would, and did, love her through thick n thin. He loved her even after he found out that she was the one that crushed his home, his entire world! He loved her 4 Tally, her personality, n he saw past all the ugly. Zane, on the other hand, only saw her when she was pretty, but i highly doubt that HE would have loved her then. Tally was just as stupid as a pretty, even tho she 'supposedly' cured herself. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2