Customer Reviews for

Pretties (Uglies Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1068 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(635)

4 Star

(279)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Is being pretty really the most important thing?

Filled with fantasy, this book is amazing! Tally used to be an ugly but not anymore. Theres a new Tally now who is totally gorgeous and has the hottest boyfriend around. But when she finds out the truth about being pretty will she want to stay that way? I would recomend...
Filled with fantasy, this book is amazing! Tally used to be an ugly but not anymore. Theres a new Tally now who is totally gorgeous and has the hottest boyfriend around. But when she finds out the truth about being pretty will she want to stay that way? I would recomend this book to pretty much anyone. You should especially read this if you're into fantasy. Once you start reading this you can't put it down. I loved this book, so i read the whole series. It uses lots of figurative language, and the author makes you feel as if you're part of the book. Mental images roll through your head the whole time you're reading it. Be sure to read the whole series: uglies,pretties,specials, and extras!

posted by kels10 on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Just A Bad Sequel

I fell in love with the first book in the series, UGLIES, and when I finished it I couldnt wait to buy PRETTIES. I was so excited but only for that excitement and let it be turned into dissapointment! Tally ends up practically obssesed Zane, and she completely forgets a...
I fell in love with the first book in the series, UGLIES, and when I finished it I couldnt wait to buy PRETTIES. I was so excited but only for that excitement and let it be turned into dissapointment! Tally ends up practically obssesed Zane, and she completely forgets about David! In my opinion, the book was JACKED UP!!! I WOUDLNT RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE!!!!!

posted by Wolf-Gurl on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.) This is book 2 in the &lsqu

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.)
    This is book 2 in the ‘Uglies’ series. **Warning** Unavoidable spoilers for book 1 – ‘Uglies’.
    It is now about a month since Tally turned herself over to the authorities and had the surgery to make her pretty. She’s now pretty, and also pretty vacant. A big decision for Tally now is choosing the correct attire to a semi-formal party, and whether she should take calorie purgers with her meal or not.

    Tally and Shay are BFF, as Shay has forgotten a lot of what transpired between them at the smoke, and Tally also has a new love interest – Zane. Tally, Shay, and Zane are all part of a clique called ‘the criminals’ (all due to the pranks they played as uglies), and they continue to try to think of tricks to play now.

    After Croy (one of the smokies), turns up during a fancy dress party, and gives Tally the directions to find 2 pills; Tally and Zane go on the hunt for them, which involves climbing a massive metal tower on top of a building. When Tally finally discovers the pills, she and Zane take one each, and they soon begins to feel ‘bubbly’ (can actually think clearly).

    Thus follows Tally’s attempt to escape from New Pretty Town, and all the drama that goes along with it. The Specials didn’t like Tally’s escape before, and they’re certainly not going to let her get away from them a second time. Especially when it seems that instead they want to make her one of them!

    I enjoyed this book. I don’t want to give too much away, but I really liked the twists in this storyline, and how natural Tally’s progression was from ‘pretty’ to ‘bubbly’. I liked the fact that life wasn’t easy for Tally. Things didn’t just fall into place for her, and even with the pills she had to work to think clearly still. I also liked the fact that the authorities continued to think of more and more ways to keep tabs on Tally and Zane. Ways that even Tally and Zane couldn’t guess at.

    Once again there were the cool gadgets in this book – hoverboards, calorie purgers (remove the calories from food – yes please!), holes in the wall that produce clothes to order, and all other sorts of things.

    The storyline wasn’t exactly what I expected after reading the first book, but it was different in a good way.
    Overall; a good young adult/ dystopian read.
    8 out of 10.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Recommend fun easy read.

    The first two in this series i couldnt put down. Fun easy read. Cool concept.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Long Live Tally

    Tally is a normal teenage pretty until she gets a letter she wrote herself saying she would give herself up for the cure...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    not as good as Uglies

    Pretties is the second volume of Scott Westerfeld's Uglies Trilogy. It picks up almost exactly where Uglies left off and the story is fairly involved so I strongly recommend reading Uglies first.

    At the end of the first book, our heroine Tally Youngblood also learns that normal people are smarter than the Pretties. As part of the government's plan to keep the population in line, Pretties' brains are surgically altered with lesions to make Pretties more complacent. The government's logic can be summed up in four dangerous words: for the greater good.

    At the end of Uglies, knowing now that the operation has to be stopped, Tally makes the ultimate sacrifice--she allows herself to undergo the Operation in order to become an undercover operative of sorts. The only problem is that, because of the Operation, she forgets everything she learned about the Operation, the government, and perhaps most importantly about Special Circumstances (Westerfeld's interpretation of secret service/black ops types).

    In other words, Tally starts Pretties with a basically clean slate. She and best friend Shay know that they lived with the resistance group known as The Smoke, but little else. Looking for something "bubbly" to do as Pretties, the girls decide to join the Crims--a clique known for pulling dramatic stunts in order to stay bubbly and consequently think a little more clearly than Pretties usually do. As Tally becomes more involved with the Crims and their leader, Zane, pieces of Tally's past begin to fall into place. But, the more Tally learns about her past, the more confusing things become as she has to decide between her past and her present.

    Of the trilogy, this one is my least favorite. The characters, being Pretties, seemed the most unreal. Although Westerfeld evoked a very realistic world in Uglies it all rings a little less true here. I love how much slang these novels use and how easy it is to follow, but that too got to be a bit much.

    The novel ends on a dramatic note, Tally once again rallying against those who would maintain the status quo. But at the same time, like in Uglies, she is once again a victim of circumstances. So, although the ending is great, it's also a bit too familiar. Since Pretties is part of a trilogy, it is a must-read to see what happens to Tally. But, in this reviewer's opinion, the second installment in the trilogy doesn't quite live up to the hype created by the first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good

    I like specials better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Pretty Good

    The whole book was so good, then it got to the ending and I was really disappointed. Getting captured AGAIN was kind of a stupid twist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    it was good.

    Wasnt as much of a must read as the first but still good. Looking forward to starting the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Cool

    I just love this book! The fourth i could hav done without...dont get me wrong though it would be okay by itself. This is a great book. (Pretties) =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Ugly4ever

    I wasnt relly impressed as i was with uglies. I think that tally as a ditzy pretty well i just cant wrap my kind aroundvtha when i gt the image of a character in my head i cant get it out. I mean wha the hek is w/ all the wierd slang. Bubbly making happy maiing food missing. It makes it hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    Tally finally gets what she wants and becomes a pretty. Unfortunately, pretty Tally reminded me of Ugly Tally. I didn't really see a huge personality swap. At times, I could tell she was a pretty, using all that annoying slang, but mostly, I felt she was too...there. Unlike the pretties we've read about before, Tally just doesn't act like them and I'm slightly disappointed. The story this time around revolves around Tally and her escape from New Pretty Town. Not too different from Uglies, but this time she throwing some serious tricks. Tally has teamed up with Zane, leader of the Crims, and together, they're trying their best to escape and raise awareness about the New Smoke. I didn't enjoy the beginning, I liked some parts, but I didn't really get into it until about 80 or so pages in when the action started to happen. I did like Tally better in Pretties than I did in Uglies and I think it's mostly thanks to Zane. He's pretty much a cool cat in my book now. Peris on the other hand...I just don't see how they were ever best friends. He just seemed to be some kind of plot device (if you could call him that) and he had no real personality or interaction with Tally. His purpose in Uglies was to lead her over to New Pretty Town and meet Shay. In Pretties, he's just there for her to meet more new characters. He just has no real purpose other than being a tool. I'm beginning to see a trend: have Tally jump off high things, have Tally tromp through the wilderness by herself, and have Tally save people. Not that I particularly mind any of that. In a way, I sort of wish Tally wasn't such a strong character. She deserves a break every once in awhile. I definitely had fun reading Pretties, especially cause there were a bunch of things that I absolutely did not see coming (and that twisted ending...gosh). I'm dying to read Specials now and see what Tally is going to get herself in to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Pretty pretty

    Great job with our seond book it shows lots of changenand detail on how our future could be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great book

    This book is really well written and thought through. Although, shay is a little too full of herself. Thumbs up if you agree. P.S i give it 4.5 stars not 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    1st is better

    Liked 1st better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    It was okay

    I LOVED the Uglies but couldn't bring myself t feel the same for Pretties. The 1st book was definitely better for me. For me it felt like a longer read and not that fast pace action I look for in books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Good

    I'm reading this Pretties right now and its PRETTY good so far... lol! the only problem is that they use the word "Bogus" waaaaaayyyyy to often. Its used at least once per page. i don't have a problem with scott westerfeld using it every once in a while, it justs annoying how often its used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Very Good Read!

    This book was very good however it was not as great as Uglies (the first book in the series). However, I still liked Pretties. Tally finally finds love with a boy named Zane. The only part that I thought was a little weird was when Shay and some others began to cut themselves to become "bubbly". If you are reading this please don't be alarmed. The book is still amazingly well written and will leave you hanging off of every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Frustrated and let down!

    This book made a new range of emotions come out of me shock, anger, frustration, happiness, and a whole lot of others. Now that Tally is a fabulous pretty and sucking up all the fun and ease that comes with that, she can't help but look back on the hard and cruel life that came before simplicity. Throughout the book I can't help but feel sorry for tally. She loves her new life but is trying to remember all of her past and fit in with her new friends the crims. She feels as through something is wrong but doesn't know what. This book made me so frustrated because nothing really good happens to her and it is just plain hard. She is dealing with so much more than normal pretties and doesn't know how to compose herself. Some of the decisions Tally makes where not what I wanted to happen for example Zane, he's nice and charming but David is so much better I think. This book reminded me a lot of the Twilight saga in that she is torn between two mysterious men. Just thinking that while I read this book didn't make it better. This book has a lot more romance than the uglies did and personally I think It could have done without. However I do like where the story takes place. In the book you just don't stay in one place Tally is moving and running from one place to another. I also liked how there are so many new developments with Shay and the feelings of the rusties. I liked how many new people you meet in this book and grow to really care about and hope the best for. You learn so much more in this book and get a strong hate, anger and of course frustration with the specials and the people higher up on the pedestal. I really like the way Scott Westerfled writes he pulls you in and has an intersecting vocabulary. I also like the time when this book takes place. Scott must have a fascinating brain to come up with a time and place like this. The technology they have makes me somewhat jealous things like toothpaste pills and a closet that picks out adorable clothes every time, heated jackets and the best hoverboards. Life would be so much easier if we had these things. I might actually like brushing my teeth if I didn't have to and just had to take a small pill. I love it. This book was good but I still like the uglies better so a letdown in that case. I would recommend this book to people who have read the first book in the series Uglies. If you read this one first I will not make every much sense. I would recommend this series to people who like adventure, mystery, futuristic and books that make you think and feel part of the experience. If you read this book be prepared for a fun ride with highs and lows and lots of shockers. Again it is a good book but I the uglies is better I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh to Live in a Pretty World...

    Westerfeld manages to do a complete one-eighty with Pretties and throw our characters into such a different world than they had just come from in Uglies. Tally has finally gotten the one thing she always wanted; To be pretty. She goes from living in the woods and growing her own food to living in a mansion, drinking champagne all night, sleeping all day and talking like a complete idiot most of the time. I have to admit I was disappointed at first, and more than a little bit mad at the author for demeaning the characters that way. It felt like such a huge step backwards for our hero, but after my brain got used to this "new" Tally and Shay, I couldn't help but enjoy them in this form as well. And pick up even more bubbly slang! I wanted to take a long vacation to this world of decadent food (complete with calorie purging tablets), hot-air balloon rides, floating ice rinks, and endless Hollywood-style parties. And it's apparent why Westerfeld went this route. Not only does it let us see inside the Pretties world, it shows us how the surgery completely transforms Tally's brain as well as her body. Well perhaps not completely, but you'll have to read to find out. I would say of the first two books in the series, this one is a touch more adult than the first. There is a lot of teen drinking, implied sexuality and just general recklessness. And he makes all this irresponsibility look so fun and carefree. At least at first. But we do get to glimpse a bit of the grittier side of the Pretty lifestyle as well. Later on there are instances of self-harm, which might be a bit shocking even for older readers. And it's a difficult topic to try to explain to teens. As much as I love the books, I'd put off recommending them to my nephew at this point based on the more adult scenes in the second book. Everything gets very chaotic towards the end and once again Westerfeld leaves us on the edge of a cliff and sets the third book up for another complete reversal with the characters. Specials and Extras, the final two books in this series are cued up on my Nook and lying here on my bed with all the other books currently screaming for my attention and I'm hoping to get to them very soon. In the mean-time Westerfeld has completely succeeded in jumping onto my radar as well as my list of favorite authors for teens.

    On a related note.

    I have to say that I fell in love with the covers for these books. So much so, that even in the middle of reading them, I would find myself lost in the covers which include a singular haunting image wrapped from back to front. The boxy 6.9 x 5.1 dimensions, were also fresh and made the books jump off the shelf. The design by Rodrigo Corral is absolutely stunning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh to Live in a Pretty World....

    Westerfeld manages to do a complete one-eighty with Pretties and throw our characters into such a different world than they had just come from in Uglies. Tally has finally gotten the one thing she always wanted; To be pretty. She goes from living in the woods and growing her own food to living in a mansion, drinking champagne all night, sleeping all day and talking like a complete idiot most of the time. I have to admit I was disappointed at first, and more than a little bit mad at the author for demeaning the characters that way. It felt like such a huge step backwards for our hero, but after my brain got used to this "new" Tally and Shay, I couldn't help but enjoy them in this form as well. And pick up even more bubbly slang! I wanted to take a long vacation to this world of decadent food (complete with calorie purging tablets), hot-air balloon rides, floating ice rinks, and endless Hollywood-style parties. And it's apparent why Westerfeld went this route. Not only does it let us see inside the Pretties world, it shows us how the surgery completely transforms Tally's brain as well as her body. Well perhaps not completely, but you'll have to read to find out. I would say of the first two books in the series, this one is a touch more adult than the first. There is a lot of teen drinking, implied sexuality and just general recklessness. And he makes all this irresponsibility look so fun and carefree. At least at first. But we do get to glimpse a bit of the grittier side of the Pretty lifestyle as well. Later on there are instances of self-harm, which might be a bit shocking even for older readers. And it's a difficult topic to try to explain to teens. As much as I love the books, I'd put off recommending them to my nephew at this point based on the more adult scenes in the second book. Everything gets very chaotic towards the end and once again Westerfeld leaves us on the edge of a cliff and sets the third book up for another complete reversal with the characters. Specials and Extras, the final two books in this series are cued up on my Nook and lying here on my bed with all the other books currently screaming for my attention and I'm hoping to get to them very soon. In the mean-time Westerfeld has completely succeeded in jumping onto my radar as well as my list of favorite authors for teens.

    On a related note.

    I have to say that I fell in love with the covers for these books. So much so, that even in the middle of reading them, I would find myself lost in the covers which include a singular haunting image wrapped from back to front. The boxy 6.9 x 5.1 dimensions, were also fresh and made the books jump off the shelf. The design by Rodrigo Corral is absolutely stunning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretties

    This book is soo great i read the whole series one of the best descisions i ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14