Customer Reviews for

The Pretty Committee Strikes Back (Clique Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Pretty Committee Strikes Back

I think that "The Pretty Committee Strikes Back," is a great book. It is a fast read and is really hard to put down. If you want to read this book I suggest that you read the rest of the series first. In this book, Massie Block and her friends (Alicia, Dylan, Kristen, a...
I think that "The Pretty Committee Strikes Back," is a great book. It is a fast read and is really hard to put down. If you want to read this book I suggest that you read the rest of the series first. In this book, Massie Block and her friends (Alicia, Dylan, Kristen, and Claire) are going camping for a school trip. They later find out that the boys from Briarwood are coming on this trip, too. The girls aren't fond of going camping, but they take this opportunity as a chance to show the rest of OCD their fashion sense and to score some of the Briarwood boys. When Dylan Marvel tells her mom about the camping tripa, her mom decides to come and film the camping experience as a video for her worldwide famous TV show. The only problem with this is that Dylan isn't the only one trying to score a boy. Her mom is getting too close to one of Dylan's teachers. What will happen to the Pretty Committee when they go camping? What will happen to Dylan's mom and teacher? Read the book to find out.



I rate this book 5 stars.

posted by 1526304 on June 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

totally realistic, but not needed.

i go to a boarding school in westchester and every1 knows about these books, and they're totally made fun of. basically everybody is rich and preppy but the way this author writes about this elite crowd of girls is to name drop and show the cliques, obv. im not bother...
i go to a boarding school in westchester and every1 knows about these books, and they're totally made fun of. basically everybody is rich and preppy but the way this author writes about this elite crowd of girls is to name drop and show the cliques, obv. im not bothered by these books, but they r just stupid... ..one question, wats the point? if ur wearing some michael kors wedges marc jacobs aviators or new dries van noten summer minidress, u dont have to tell the whole world. seriously, ur corrupting these public school ppl so that they can think their life is exactly like these novels. get a life and dont read this. our assignment in english was to write a review for a book and support our decision to tell u readers NOT to read it. it was my hw..dont get mad

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Pretty Committee Strikes Back (Clique Series #5)

    Ok, obviously the majority of you people reading this review are parents debating whether or not to order these books. ha. don't get them unless you want your daughters to act like the girls in this book. basically, all the books in the series are about snobby rich stuck up wannabe girls who make a big deal about everything about boys and friends..it has no message at all. you might as well watch mean girls with your 5 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    totally realistic, but not needed.

    i go to a boarding school in westchester and every1 knows about these books, and they're totally made fun of. basically everybody is rich and preppy but the way this author writes about this elite crowd of girls is to name drop and show the cliques, obv. im not bothered by these books, but they r just stupid... ..one question, wats the point? if ur wearing some michael kors wedges marc jacobs aviators or new dries van noten summer minidress, u dont have to tell the whole world. seriously, ur corrupting these public school ppl so that they can think their life is exactly like these novels. get a life and dont read this. our assignment in english was to write a review for a book and support our decision to tell u readers NOT to read it. it was my hw..dont get mad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    How low can your self-esteem get?!?!?

    Okay seriously...I started reading these books in the 7th grade and got really brainwashed. I thought that being rich made you the stuff until I read Invasion Of The Boy-Snatcher & The Pretty Committee Strikes Back. I mean reall in PCST Massie was evil enough to make her dog attack Claire's little brothers and then Claire says she wants to do something but dosn't?! WTF that is your brother. And the Pretty Commitee. From the cover of the book the only pretty one is Alicia. All they do is brainwash girls that just because you have a Chanel purse or a big house that you're better than everyone. Everyone is equal period. And if there are actual girls that act like Massie and Clair (who needs to be hit in the face) then they have issues. Can't anyone think for themselves anymore?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    What the?

    This book is a very bad example for girls. It tells and states that you have to be rich and famous. You can see that Clarie is trying so hard to be in the pretty comittee. This book is pretty disappointing. It should be about these girls and how they learn different lessons throughout there experiences. Rich, famous and pretty girls may favor this book alot. Lisi, take this as an advice and not as an insult and try to make the book better! No one wants to know who kissed who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    what I think...

    tooooo much drama. seriously. it just teaches girls how to be catty and mean and stoopid. like massie. i mean, in the third book she wanted to be a better friend and more 'respectful' but ended up going back to here ways. and claire. no matter what massie does to her, she forgives her and continues to idolize her. and kristen and dylan. do they have there own brains? the just follow massie like shes a god.its the same with them, the forgive her NO MATTER WHAT she does.she could destory there entire lives and they would come crawling back to her. these books practicly scream to girls the have to have certain things to be a person. like... revenge. expensive clothes. money. high standards. 'cool' friends. huge houses. perfect bodies. flawless skin. boyfriends. and kissing experience. none of these girls are going to make it in this world if the need those things to survive. there is no character development and no morals. [peace&&what] and by the way, im not some uptight little A honor roll student like your probly thinking. im a normal high school girl who is tired of seeing girls expected to be a certain way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Pretty Committee Strikes Back (Clique Series #5)

    these are bad books i cant believe someone would wright about teenage girls hurting eachothers feelings cant we all just get along i dont understand all the conflicts if you dont agree im sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Fake

    I'm sorry, but these books are so shallow. Most people do not live like this,where we get everything we want. It s sending out the message thatyou have to be rich and pretty to have friends and fun. When I first starting reading these books I was in the 7th grade, i really liked them. I thought the girls in the book were so cool. But, now as i see the current &th grade class try to act like them i realized they were taking seriuoly like i had. They think acting like this is ok and it's not. It's setting a bad example.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    VAIN

    Seriously...sometimes too much is too much. These are stuck up girls with nothing better to do than hate on each other like in the movie Mean Girls, except that mean girls is funny cause its shamefully true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1