Customer Reviews for

Pretty Delicious: Lean and Lovely Recipes for a Healthy, Happy New You

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly Surprised

I have the NOOK version. The recipes appear to be easy and delicious. We've tried the Berry Oatmeal and the Fabulous Fish Tacos with Tequila Lime Sauce. Both were fantastic. The Fish Tacos were actually pretty sweet with the Pickled Slaw on it. The lime flavoring really...
I have the NOOK version. The recipes appear to be easy and delicious. We've tried the Berry Oatmeal and the Fabulous Fish Tacos with Tequila Lime Sauce. Both were fantastic. The Fish Tacos were actually pretty sweet with the Pickled Slaw on it. The lime flavoring really shined. The pictures in the book are beautiful. My problem is with the NOOK version. If it says something is on a certain page, it is not. For example, the Tuna Curry Salad on page 96 is actually on my NOOK's page 132. If you go to page 96 you'll see Grilled Nectarine Salad. However, when you see a page number it is usually highlighted as a link so when you click on it, it'll take you directly to where you need to go. Because of that, it isn't too annoying. Overall, I am pleasantly surprised and I can't stop reading it and looking at the pictures. It has inspired me to cook better foods for my family.

posted by Teyana on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

anoynomus

awesomeeeeeeeeee recipes. easy to make and delicious and i am only 12 years oldddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i also gave a s

posted by 7162266 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I have the NOOK version. The recipes appear to be easy and delicious. We've tried the Berry Oatmeal and the Fabulous Fish Tacos with Tequila Lime Sauce. Both were fantastic. The Fish Tacos were actually pretty sweet with the Pickled Slaw on it. The lime flavoring really shined. The pictures in the book are beautiful. My problem is with the NOOK version. If it says something is on a certain page, it is not. For example, the Tuna Curry Salad on page 96 is actually on my NOOK's page 132. If you go to page 96 you'll see Grilled Nectarine Salad. However, when you see a page number it is usually highlighted as a link so when you click on it, it'll take you directly to where you need to go. Because of that, it isn't too annoying. Overall, I am pleasantly surprised and I can't stop reading it and looking at the pictures. It has inspired me to cook better foods for my family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    pretty delicious = pretty freakin' fabulous

    For a hi-level assessment, this cookbook is FANTASTIC!

    Let me begin by saying I am an extremely picky eater. Therefore, when it comes to food, cooking and self-preparation are always my best bet. I am not a novice, nor an expert, but have to admit this is the first cookbook I have ever purchased. Let me tell you, it was worth every penny (for the elegance and style alone). I have had it one week and already used 2 recipes and have also tagged many more (ps, they were both delicious).

    Having studied graphic design and based my career in the visual communicative arts, I was of course immediately intrigued by the amount of thought and detail put into the design of this book. My copywriter would say I'm not one for many words on the page, but when they are laid out so beautifully, all you want to do is read-on. From the typography choices, to the images, to the way the notes and tips are called-out, everything just seems perfect. This would even make a non-cooker want to tie on an apron and pearls (maybe a couple of sparkly bangles too).

    The book is written in a fun and light tone, never condescending or vague--which is the problem I find with many of the recipe books I've skimmed through or taken notes from over the years. The promotion of health and happiness through good foods (or FWBs--food with benefits as she would say) really comes from the heart, and not from some newfangled fad dietician. It shows in her recipes and notes, the love that she put into this amazing compilation of delicious, healthy recipes.

    I am beyond satisfied with my purchase of this beautiful cookbook. You will be too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    You Gotta Have This Book!

    Im in no way a good cook, but I bought this book after seeing the author on the Today show. The receipes are amazing and simple. I tried the Shrimp ceviche right away and my husband and 2 kids couldnt get enough of it. Im really excited to try more and more of these recipes!!! Its a must!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Seriously - BUY TWO!

    This is one of my favorite cookbooks! Not only is it beautiful to look at, the food turns you into a gourmet cook. It is tasty and so good for you! Almost better than the food is the author - reading this book is like having a conversation with Candice herself - she is upbeat, cheerful, and has her own language. You'll notice all of this as you read her book and enjoy the food she has created for you! Your tummy and your waistline will thank you for it! Oh, and buy two - you'll want one to cook out of and one to display on the coffee table! It's gorgeous!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A cookbook for everyone FABULOUS!

    I'm a novice in the kitchen, but Pretty Delicious inspires me to cook. With Candice Kumai's entertaining voice woven throughout her provocative recipes and fun advice, I now look forward to creating special meals for my family and friends to enjoy. What a transformation... I was never satisfied in the kitchen, feeling overwhelmed, anxious, and inept to prepare dinner, but I finally found my best friend to help me fall in love with cooking!

    The beautiful layout of Pretty Delicious makes each recipe easy to understand and its story, relatable. This is a cookbook that will live on your countertop or coffee table. The recipes are stylish, healthy (she substitutes ingredients but truly maintains key flavor), and unique. The "Food w/ Benefits" (FWB) chart, tips and advice, and vegetarian/vegan symbols are user friendly and very informative!

    This cookbook is for every woman out there. Cheers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    LOVE it!

    This is such a great and beautiful cookbook! Candice is so cute and down to earth. I've seen her on TV and she comes across with the same spunky personality in this book. The recipes look delicious! I can't wait to try them and her tips are priceless for healthy eating on a budget. She breaks down healthy fresh cooking into a lingo we can all understand and easily follow. Yummy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Great recipes. Beautiful pictures.

    Not only are the recipes better for you, but they are tasty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Tasty and healthy recipes

    I have this book in print and it was a recommendation from a friend who has similar tastes. The recipes are pretty easy to follow. Everything I have made so far tastes really good. There is also a focus on heathy eating but still a bit of cheating in moderation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    FABULOUS recipes!! A foodie's MUST-BUY!!!

    After indulging a little too much during the holidays, I wanted to buy a new cookbook that showed me how to make the slimmed-down versions of my favorite comfort foods. Enter former Top Chef contestant Candice Kumai!! I was blown away by the beautiful photography throughout this entire book- I was practically drooling over the food before I even started cooking!! Candice has showed me that you can definitely stay "lean and lovely" while creating flavorful, fun and sexy dishes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    The best Christmas present...

    As a culinary school grad, I own a LOT of cookbooks. But time and again I pull out my copy of Pretty Delicious. Not only are the photos beautiful, but the recipes, tips and tricks are spot-on. I am in love with the Gone Bananas Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies! I can also vouch for the Datenight Rack of Lamb, Swiss Chard, Tomato Soup and TDF Hummus. All the recipes use easy-to-find wholesome ingredients. It's truly the anti-diet book. I am planning on buying this book for my sister for Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1