Customer Reviews for

Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2522)

4 Star

(530)

3 Star

(209)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(150)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

119 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

A Wild Rollercoaster

Often described as a mix between I Know What You Did Last Summer and Desperate Housewives PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard promised to be an exciting and suspenseful read. Sure enough, it met and exceeded all of my expectations.

The first thing that I will say ...
Often described as a mix between I Know What You Did Last Summer and Desperate Housewives PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard promised to be an exciting and suspenseful read. Sure enough, it met and exceeded all of my expectations.

The first thing that I will say about this book is that I was really expecting something a little more superficial and juvenile. I had never read anything by Ms. Shepard before, so I didn't know what to expect. What I received was a book that would be great for any teen and most adults I know. Ms. Shepard's writing is far from juvenile and made for a story that had me hooked from the first few lines.

Sounds good right? Girl goes missing and eventually her friends get on with their lives. Well, if this were the end of the story, the book would be about seven pages long. No, Ms. Shepard isn't going to let you off that easily. Tossed into the chaos right from the beginning of the book, the girls each separately start to receive mysterious text messages signed by "A". As they attempt to figure out who "A" is, the messages get more and more disturbing, some hinting at secrets that only the missing Allison knew.

Cue the suspenseful music!

So really though, if I could have had a suspense soundtrack playing while I read this book, I'm fairly certain that I would have jumped out of my seat in shock a few times. This was a beautifully crafted book with a well thought out plot line that easily hooks readers and then draws them in. The complexity of the story was what really made this a great read and I can't imagine the amount of time and planning that went into crafting the various plot twists and turns that pop up throughout the pages. Think you know something about someone? I can pretty much guarantee that by the next page you'll be proven wrong. When everyone is suspect, who can you trust? Ms. Shepard answers that one for us - nobody.

One part of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS that may trip a few people up are the varying points of view throughout the story. Each chapter is really told from a different girl's point of view although they all aren't necessarily labeled by girl. Still, I found it fairly easy to figure out who's chapter we were in and didn't really notice too much of a disconnect between the four stories when reading. Ms. Shepard does an amazing job with her consistency; although each girl's chapter takes place in different places and settings, they tie together well and occasionally we even see just a little bit of overlap.

The last part of the book that I briefly need to discuss is the character development. In a book like this, especially for the first in a series, character development is vital to a successful story. Ms. Shepard did this wonderfully. My proof is in the way that the characters, Spencer especially, still roam through my mind, picking at my brain when I have little else to do.

I highly recommend PRETTY LITTLE LIARS to any fans of drama or YA fiction out there. Looking for a good thriller? I would definitely point to this book. Although filled with topics that young adults can relate to, I don't see much here that would turn an adult off from the book. Indeed, I think adults too will very much appreciate the adrenaline rush this book provides.

posted by AJourneyOfBooks on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The BEST book ever

Ooo my goodness i absoulty LOVE this book it is the best book ever. I hope you like this book just as much as I did. I know you have probably herd of the series Pretty Little Liars on ABC Family and I watch it EVERY day that its on. Please coment if you like it or dont ...
Ooo my goodness i absoulty LOVE this book it is the best book ever. I hope you like this book just as much as I did. I know you have probably herd of the series Pretty Little Liars on ABC Family and I watch it EVERY day that its on. Please coment if you like it or dont like it whatever you think.
Thank You!!!!

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 178
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wild Rollercoaster

    Often described as a mix between I Know What You Did Last Summer and Desperate Housewives PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard promised to be an exciting and suspenseful read. Sure enough, it met and exceeded all of my expectations.

    The first thing that I will say about this book is that I was really expecting something a little more superficial and juvenile. I had never read anything by Ms. Shepard before, so I didn't know what to expect. What I received was a book that would be great for any teen and most adults I know. Ms. Shepard's writing is far from juvenile and made for a story that had me hooked from the first few lines.

    Sounds good right? Girl goes missing and eventually her friends get on with their lives. Well, if this were the end of the story, the book would be about seven pages long. No, Ms. Shepard isn't going to let you off that easily. Tossed into the chaos right from the beginning of the book, the girls each separately start to receive mysterious text messages signed by "A". As they attempt to figure out who "A" is, the messages get more and more disturbing, some hinting at secrets that only the missing Allison knew.

    Cue the suspenseful music!

    So really though, if I could have had a suspense soundtrack playing while I read this book, I'm fairly certain that I would have jumped out of my seat in shock a few times. This was a beautifully crafted book with a well thought out plot line that easily hooks readers and then draws them in. The complexity of the story was what really made this a great read and I can't imagine the amount of time and planning that went into crafting the various plot twists and turns that pop up throughout the pages. Think you know something about someone? I can pretty much guarantee that by the next page you'll be proven wrong. When everyone is suspect, who can you trust? Ms. Shepard answers that one for us - nobody.

    One part of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS that may trip a few people up are the varying points of view throughout the story. Each chapter is really told from a different girl's point of view although they all aren't necessarily labeled by girl. Still, I found it fairly easy to figure out who's chapter we were in and didn't really notice too much of a disconnect between the four stories when reading. Ms. Shepard does an amazing job with her consistency; although each girl's chapter takes place in different places and settings, they tie together well and occasionally we even see just a little bit of overlap.

    The last part of the book that I briefly need to discuss is the character development. In a book like this, especially for the first in a series, character development is vital to a successful story. Ms. Shepard did this wonderfully. My proof is in the way that the characters, Spencer especially, still roam through my mind, picking at my brain when I have little else to do.

    I highly recommend PRETTY LITTLE LIARS to any fans of drama or YA fiction out there. Looking for a good thriller? I would definitely point to this book. Although filled with topics that young adults can relate to, I don't see much here that would turn an adult off from the book. Indeed, I think adults too will very much appreciate the adrenaline rush this book provides.

    119 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    READ THIS!!!!!!!!

    Holy cow! These book covers are so misleading. When I first saw this book I thought it was some sort of rich-girl-i-wear-prada-and-get-my-nails-done-everyday kind of book. But like I said the covers are so misleading. The phrase "don't judge a book by it's cover" totally applies here. If you haven't read this book you need to. It is such a page turner. I finished this particular book in one night because i couldnt put it down. Well I can't make you read the book but i can make you want to so hopefully that convinced you. If not you are really missing out. Well anyways, I could NEVER put these books down while i was reading them so YOU SHOULD TOTALLY READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading the series! They keep you entertained for hours. This book is one of my favourites!

    60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so pretty lies

    Okay, I'm hooked. I started watching the TV show when it first came out, and likes it well enough. So I decided to see how the book series would compare.

    This book follows a former group of friends three years after their leader, Alison, went missing. Now they are getting mysterious text messages from a person known only as "A". "A" knows secrets only Alison knew and trust me, these girls have plenty of them. Despite being only 16, these girls have more skeletons in their than the cast of "Desperate Housewives". The girls have to comfront secrets from their past while dealing with their issues of the present.

    I liked this book perhaps more than I'm willing to admit. Its a guilty pleasure read for sure. The girls are each different and have their own personalities. Aria is the "free spirit" who holds the secret of her dads affair, while trying to hide a tryst of her own. Emily is the chaste jock who is questioning her sexuality and overall personality. Hanna is the new queen bee desperate to stay ahead. And Spencer is the competive over-achiever who is fruitlessly trying to please her parents.
    I liked all of the girls, despite their faults. But I did remain unattached from them through out the book. The plot is full of twists and turns and I have absolutely no idea what will happen next.

    I'm not sure whether or not I like the TV show or book series more. While they obviously have similarities, they have their fair share of differences, and I think they might be going in different directions. So as of now, I like them both.

    Next installment please!

    34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fell in love

    I love love love this book. You should be a tad over 13 or 14 to read but I was rather young when I started the series and still am. I love this book the had me really falling off my sit and screaming in class while sneaking a read. I didn't even let my friends touch it till I was done.

    26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love This Book!

    This book is 5 out of 5 stars!!! It is incredible!

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Pretty Little Liars

    This book is an amazing series because it is exciting and thrilling. I honestly love this book and this author. This is my favorite series, show, book, and Sara Shepard is my FAVORITE author none demand. I recommend this book to ANYONE!!!!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Holy crap!

    If you ask me, I would reccommend Pretty Little Liars to ANYONE, as long as you're at LEAST 12 or 13. I'm 11, (and I'm already book 4) so, yes, some of the....material....WAS a tad bit too mature for me. But Pretty Little Liars is a series so engaging, and it'll have you HOOKED.....Pretty Litttle Liars grabs you by the throat and makes you want nothing but MORE.
    How A takes such advantage of these four girls is horrible, yet amazing, how she can scare them out of telling anyone at all about her (or him....who knows?) and threatens to reveal their deepest, darkest secrets to the world. Sara Shepard has definitely mastered the idea of cliffhangers, and on-your-toes suspense that will keep you begging for more.
    And so, I present, and highly reccommend, to you, the Pretty Little Liars series, the most hooking, engaging book series since Stephenie Meyer's Twilight.
    Yes. It's THAT good.
    So maybe you should read it....the consequinces might be a DEADLY boring summer if you don't.
    So take my word for it, and read. After all—I'm the expert.
    -A



    (Lol)

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    ~A

    Buy this book, or else. I am watching. Buy it

    ~A

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Little Liars

    I really enjoyed this book! It was a little boring at the beginning, but the drama began to build and finished this in a couple hours. The stories were so interesting and I loved them! My favorite character is Spencer though I connected the most with Aria. I was a little creeped out by Ezra (esp. the scene of his Lays-covered bed. Gross!). The only negative of this book was that the ages were all wrong. The characters were smoking in the seventh grade. And do serious drugs quite often (since like, 6th grade). It just shows that this book is kinda out-of-date because really, no one does that stuff anymore. Overall, I will finish this series (hopefully before May 8th) so I can watch the TV show.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Must read book!!!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in mysterious and suspenseful books that keep you on your toes. When reading this book, you will NOT want to put the novel down. After every page it makes you wonder what will happen next. If you watch the series on television, it's definitely not the same as the book. Sometimes books can be very misleading to their movie, so I would highly suggest to read the books first. Another flaw is that it is not a book for all ages. It involves drugs, alcohol, dating, and cursing. So if you are looking for a good teen, adult book that you will enjoy and want to keep reading the other books to the series, go out and buy Pretty Little Liars.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    READ THIS!

    Holy smokes, this is one AMAZING series! I was hooked from the immediate beginning!
    I had been asking for Barnes & Noble giftcards for years for my birthday, and I burned my whole stash of them buying all of these books, lol!
    Aria, Spencer, Hanna, and Emily are all different (VERY DIFFERENT) people, their personalities change throughout the book, but I find that I am probably closer to Aria or Spencer (not like Hanna, and soo not like Emily) Although the girls frequently drink, smoke, and many other things, it's actually an accurate depiction of people...Many teenagers do this, but alot of people are ignorant and don't pay attention...It's pretty amazing that Sara Shepard included designer brands such as Marc Jacobs, Diane von Furstenburg and other designers in her books! And iPhones, and ah everything! I'm just so happy to see that a series is FINALLY modern enough for me! They use cell phones, text people, IM people, and get TYPED notes from the mysterious -A!!!
    You will LOVE this book if you PAY ATTENTION! If not, the whole series will just be a jumble of confusing words, so seriously pay attention - read the paragraphs twice if you have to.
    READ THIS THOUGH! This series is so good, I am thinking about re-reading it, although I just finished Wanted probably an hour ago!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    The BEST book ever

    Ooo my goodness i absoulty LOVE this book it is the best book ever. I hope you like this book just as much as I did. I know you have probably herd of the series Pretty Little Liars on ABC Family and I watch it EVERY day that its on. Please coment if you like it or dont like it whatever you think.
    Thank You!!!!

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mysteriously Amazing

    Pretty Little Liars opens with a flashback to the four girl's Aria, Emily, Hannah, and Spencer seventh grade end of the year sleepover at their best friend Allison's house. Allison was the girl that everyone wanted to be popular, beautiful, and rich. Even her best friends wanted to be just like her if they had the chance.
    But that same night that was supposed to be full of fun and partying was soon replaced with the mysterious death of Allison after Spencer and Allison had got in a fight.
    The four girls who have split up since Allison's death really hadn't talked to each other since Allison had died. The old chubby and ugly Hannah has turned into the beautiful and skinny popular girl who was best friends with another old loser Monna but she has to make some scrafices to keep her dream life. Emily is still her slightly awkward swimming self with some strange feelings for the new girl Maya. Aria has just came back after spending a few years in Iceland only to find that the past that she had tried to escape has come right back to her. And Spencer is still her overachiving self batteling constantly with herself and her sister.
    But the four girls are forced to begin to talk when they begin to get strange text messages from a stalker that goes by the name "A". When the text messages begin to get a bit more personal and even revealing some of their darkest secrets that only their dead friend Allison knew the girls begin to question if maybe A is Allison. Could she still be alive?

    I was a bit skeptic before reading this book but the thing that immeaditly caught my eye was the cover of the book. I thought that it was clever and a cute idea so I began to read the back of the book and eventually purchased it. This honestly has to be one of the best series that I have gotten into. Sara Shepard brings you down into a world of mystery and suspision in the small town of Rosewood, Philadelphia with all of her characters bring their own new and individual story.
    I would highly recomend this book to anyone who enjoys a mix of mystery and Gossip Girl like books. The rest of the series is equally intriguing and you will almost run to the nearest book store to pick up the next novel in the series.
    Enjoy :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Awesome Book

    I love this book, and series. It is scary, but funny also, with a little bit of romance.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Recommended

    It's a good drama book for children in middle school, but the t.v. show should probably not be watched until 8th grade. it's a good book. a quick read. :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Greatest Chick Book Ever!

    I bought the book after the series started and I began to read the book and noticed it was different when compared to the show but I still loved reading every page of the book. I love the series and the book and this is my new favorite book. This book has all types of drama in it that makes you wanna keep reading until you are done with all 9 books. These books are amazing and i think every teenage girl should read it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    this book is amazing!!! it had my eyes practically glued to the pages!!! once u start reading i guarantee you, you wont be able to put it down! I thought i knew who hurt alison...but i was wrong...then i thought i knew again...but i was wrong...again!!! The point is......THIS BOOK IS AMAZING AND U SHOULD TOTALLY READ IT AND I THANK SARA SHEPHARD FOR WRITING IT!!! I LOVE PRETTY LITTLE LIARS!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Amazing job mrs shepard!!!!!!

    I must say, Mrs Shepard, you have done a fine job creaating a suspense thriller that could make the strongest, most unfearing man shiver and fear like a five- year old girl. I loved the books twists and turns, and all of the romances. And even though it isnt age aproppriate for 12 year olds, it is still a satisfying book, and marvelous series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Stop being annoying...

    Message to all people:
    Stop writing reviews on:
    - a description if the show (it is too different from the book so you are NOT HELPING(
    - the sample (just go to the book store yourself to read some or, better yet, GO TO THE LIBRARY AND READ THE WHOLE THING FOR FREE!!!!!)
    I actually liked the book but put one star to get peoples attention.

    THANK YOU ALL!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 178