Customer Reviews for

Pretty. Odd.

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I cannot tell you how much I love this album. It's got a pop-pun

    I cannot tell you how much I love this album. It's got a pop-punk feel, a folk feel, a vibe that's very Beatles-esque (thanks to ex-member Ryan Ross), a 40's jazz feel, everything you could possibly want. This album is my heart and soul, the soundtrack to my life, my reason to exist and I'm not kidding you. There aren't enough good things to say about this album and that's the honest truth. Sure, I have my favorites (I Have Friends in Holy Spaces, Northern Downpour, Folkin' Around), but every single song is unique, incredibly well-written and thought-out and it gives the album a sort of edge that no other album that I've heard has. If you're into creative music, this is the album for you. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the worst emo band on this planet

    this band stinks just seriously stinks panic at the disco = the worst of the worst!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great sound! Kind of different and folky, but beautiful. Great melodies! Great instrumentals! I love the feel. Every track is good!

    I am a rather picky audiophile. While my taste is pretty widespread, I pick specific songs I like rather than committing to an artist or album (and so usually have one or two songs from a given album... with the exception of the Beatles). I LOVE EACH AND EVERY ONE OF THESE SONGS. There wasn't a single track I could find a problem with and so I bought the tangible copy and downloaded every one (doesn't happen that often).

    I don't really know Panic's previous songs, and have heard that this is a new sound, so I don't know what to tell past fans. But I love this stuff and have been meaning to listen to the old stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Beatles Album Love it

    If I didn't know this was Panic at the Disco, I would have sworn this was a lost Beatles Album. How original for an artist to use up old styles of music writing to create a Beatles quality album for the 21st Century

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    More than Just Pretty.Odd.

    This Album is amazing beyond belief~! It provides a musical montage of country, pop, rock, and alternative into all of the songs~ The Music is very upbeat and lively, putting a smile on your face as soon as you start singing along~ Brendon Urie, Ryan Ross, Jon Walker, and Spencer Smith create a wonderful new world with this pretty odd album~ <BR/>I recommend buying the deluxe edition to get tons of bonus features including the making of Pretty.Odd. and Nine in the Afternoon, A puzzle, A vinyl, and the CD.<BR/>5 stars no Doubt!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing.

    Personally I think that when Panic! At the Disco dropped their exclamation point, they also dropped any talent they might have had.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Alternative

    This is a great cd. i'm not really into emo bands, but this band has changed their style. These songs are upbeat and criminally ignored. Need i say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    "Pretty Odd" is an incredible and slightly whimsical album. It is heavily influenced by the Beatles and other classic rock acts. Panic is really showing how much they've evolved musically. I adored how melodically driven it is, and the fact that it's not just Brendon singing. If you were hoping for something similar to "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" this is not the CD for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best band ever!!!

    im a hard core panic fan,they're amazing. when i heard that this cd was going to be totally different from the first one i was almost afriad to listen to it, but i did and it just made me love them more.northern downpour and that green gentleman are forever on repeat in my head(not that im complaining)the lyrics actually mean something unlike the crappy pop junk playing on the radio these days and they'rejust amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ~Wonderful~

    I absolutley love this CD! The lyrics are wonderful and the music is very different than anything else I have listened to. I love &quot That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed)&quot the best! I can't wait until they come out with another CD. I love this band and all of their music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We Didn't Have to Worry

    I'm a huge Panic fan &amp I have to say that I think this album will be a bit of a slap in the face for the fans because when you hear a band's debut album, you kind of grow accustomed to that sound &amp that style. But that's why you've got to admire the sophomore album. It's different, but it's good. The highlights are the popular hits Nine in the Afternoon &amp That Green Gentleman, along with my favorites: Northern Downpour, Behind the Sea, and She Had the World. While A Fever You Can't Sweat Out will always be that special album for me, Pretty. Odd. is worth the listen for those of us who aren't afraid of experimenting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    afi lover

    i have ben a fan of panic at the disco for about the first time i herd them so keep on keeping on panic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why?

    How is it disappointing to you? It's what they wanted to do. Oh, I'm gonna be upset because it wasn't like the first one. Every album is different, dear. Just live with it. I actually like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty. Odd

    Yes, they changed their sound, but it isn't as drastic of a change as many of their younger fans are so quick to point out. Sure, it's no longer the dance-pop sound of their first record, but there's a lot from AFYCSO that's carried into this record. So many of their fans "or perhaps now former fans" are young and haven't developed a diverse taste in what all types of music offer, but that isn't a good reason to write off this record completely. Even though it seems folky "almost on the border of what many of their younger fans are calling country", they really just took a lot of inspiration from groups from the 1960s and 1970s "The Beatles, Electric Light Orchestra, The Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, The Kinks, etc." and mixed it with the experimentation that they are known for "if they can be know for anything with only one record out". There are beautiful string and horn arrangments, they've been very open about some of the more obscure "at least in rock music" instruments they use, like the harmonica, ukelele, harpsichord, flugelhorn, and mandolin. I think it would be a great thing if their younger fans would listen to this with open ears and really hear the musicallity that the guys put into recording this record. I was hoping that their fans' musical taste would have grown with the band's, but, alas, it seems to have not... Although that make going to their shows easier if I'm not getting shoved around by 12 year olds. I love what I've heard, and I'm sure I'm going to still love it several years down the road. If Panic had put this out several decades ago, the fans then would have eaten it up. I'm just sad that so many fans now are so closed-minded about music that's so clearly influenced by some of the best bands in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cmon!

    Think about it. They tried make new cool music for us and ok.... they impress some of us. But You don't know how much trouble they must've been through. I heard they recorded a whole cd back in july and the songs were all smushed together. I'm happy they started over. Good for them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    It's definitly a group which you should look into. My favorite song out of all of them is "That Green Gentleman (Things have Changed)"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty. Odd

    All of the band's detractors must not really know what they are talking about musically. This record is so much better than their last attempt at songwriting, and their musicianship has grown tremendously. I would be more worried and less enthusiastic about this band if they had stayed the same. I wouldn't go as far as to say this is a record for the ages, but it does come pretty close. Recommended songs: "Folkin' Around", "Northern Downpour", and "Mad As Rabbits".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OKAY

    very not "panic". very different. one or 2 songs are okay but the rest are very bad. he has a bad voice and the lines dont make sense. i really wouldnt reccomend but give it 2 stars out of 5. :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We're not starving!!!!!!

    DON'T BEAT DOWN ON THEM! This is an amzing CD at worst! The songs are catchy and fun, but also can be read in a deeper meaning. Yes, they are trying a new look and sound, but it still really good. Listen to the first song, it really explains it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A 50-something loves it

    The only thing I ever heard Panic do was "This Is Halloween" from the 2nd sountrack release of Nightmare Before Christmas. I loved that and I am blown away by this album, uh, CD. It may not be what people expected, but change is good..even if it's only for this one CD. For someone who grew up with Sgt. Pepper and A Night at the Opera and Fragile and The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, this is pure fun and great for listening. And this is an album that you actually have to sit down and LISTEN to. A new concept for a lot of you, I'm sure. Even if PATD doesn't do another CD like this, I'm glad they did it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3