Customer Reviews for

Pretty Things

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    It's not THAT pretty. . .

    Vapid prep. Gay Boy. Chauvinistic Player. Angry Lesbian. Each of the individuals in Pretty Things can be defined by their sexual orientation and their stereotypes. This story is set in the United Kingdom and portrays the summer of four eighteen year olds who begin to dig deeper than the stereotypes that have previously defined them as a result of their participation in a drama workshop. The author¿s portrayal of sexuality, drug and alcohol use is a bit too liberal for my taste however, I found myself becoming invested in the characters as each person told his/her story of events through his/her own first person perspective. That cavalier, liberal treatment of behavior with some fairly serious consequences at such a young age would be my major caveat about this story. Still, the author does an amazing job of demonstrating how the boxes that we put each other into frequently keep us from appreciating how universal our struggles really are. Teen homosexuality appears to be a recurring theme in recent young adult literature. In this book, both of the young people who described themselves as gay (one male, one female) decided to dabble in heterosexuality which tends to support the ideal that homosexuality is a lifestyle decision rather than a genetic one. As a belief that many diversity teachers have tried to overcome, it seems a bit simplistic for the author to define her work in those terms. Overall, I think the book might have some curricular benefit with respect to discussing relationships and/or personal choices, but if I were to use it within a classroom it would be under some carefully facilitated discussions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    I agree with the reviews

    I have no clue why people like this book. I have all the respect in the world for homosexual beings and anyone who is an individual, but this book was just stupid. All it was about was four teens who end up sleeping with each other, and getting drunk (gee what does that sound like? Huh! I know Mannings other book Guitar Girl) I found the plot thin, and request to anyone who reads it to at least have some damn good music on do you're not bored out of your mind--actually you know what just dont read it. But feel free to listen to some good music. Oh, and by the way to the girl that thinks she relates to Brie PS thats not a good thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    A truly perfect book....if you want to sit for a few hours and rot your brain.

    Wooooww. I didn't know a book could be this...sucky. It started off with four confused teens, and ended with four confused teens. Two that were gay and stupid, two that were straight and stupid. No plot. Except Brie gaining confidence, and Charlie...actually no. Nothing happened really to Charlie. I'll never get those hours back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Not very good

    This book was pretty much a waste of time. Unless you like reading about two gay teens who are confused and two straight teens who are equeally confused, then you won't enjoy this book. Just like Guitar Girl made me feel sort of angry at the end, Pretty things seemed to have the same effect. I guess No More Sarra Manning books for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    :)

    It made me laugh out loud, and that's what I always search for in a book. At one point (When Charlie gets "excited") my eyes were watering so much that my mom thought i was crying. X)
    Its fun and quirky, just what a teen under stress needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Pretty Things Review

    Pretty Things by Sarra Manning relates to many now-a-day situations. This novel takes place in North London. The overall explanation of this book is about young love and drama. Brie love designer things such as Louis Vuitton bags and is in love with her gay best friend Charlie. Charlie has a crush on Walker, the most popular, outgoing boy. He's a ladies man who's never been in love until he meets Daisy. Daisy, unlike the other characters, hates everyone. This book was an easy read and I enjoyed it aswell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Pretty Things by Sarra Manning

    Brie, Charlie, Walker and Daisy are four teens stuck in a love rectangle. The four of them are involved in a local theater production of "The Taming of the Shrew." Brie and Charlie are best friends, and all Brie wants more than anything is for Charlie to be straight, because she is in love with him. Charlie just wants Brie to accept that he is gay, and madly in love with Walker. Walker is womanizer and madly in love with Daisy. Daisy is a strong- willed lesbian who is in love with her girlfriend. As the story unfolds Daisy and Walker end up together, Brie and Charlie have a falling out, and Brie finds her own boyfriend. It isn't until the end of the book when they are all brought back together when Brie's boyfriend tries to rape her. Brie and Charlie reunite and accept each other's sexualities, and Daisy ends up with both her girlfriend and Walker.
    Brie is a girl that tries to fit in with everyone. She is very weak and does not like to be alone. She always follows Charlie until he and her have a falling out, and she finds who she really is, a strong dependent woman.
    Charlie is a very flamboyant gay teenager. He is a "scene" kid that listens to punk rock bands like The White Stripes. He is the dominant one in his and Brie's friendship, until he finds himself switching roles with her in the end of the book.
    Walker is a womanizer. He does not respect women and has developed the name "Shagger." Walker thinks no woman can resist his "charm," until he meets Daisy who cannot stand him, which is part of the reason he is so attracted to her.
    Daisy is a strong- willed lesbian. She is anti-straight, and does not like straight boys, until she finds herself attracted to Walker, and then is confused about her sexuality. She ends up being bisexual at the end of the book and shares a relationship with Walker and her girlfriend.
    "And besides, I do believe in love and one day it will happen, I know it will. It won't be anything like the love I feel for my best friends, which makes me feel slightly sad at times. But it will be for someone who can love me back, who won't be able to live without me, and whose face will light up whenever I walk into the room. Someone who will send me cute texts just to say they're thinking of me. It will be perfect for me. And no matter when we fight and argue to huge extents, we will make up the next day, or hour. Yes, I do believe in love because if there wasn't that type of love waiting for the right moment to bring two people together, then what's the point of being alive?" -Brie
    I think this quote is important to understanding the novel because it pretty much is what the book is about, finding their soul mate. Unfortunately Brie and Charlie don't find that someone in the book, because they can't find someone that they love or loves them more than each other. They aren't a couple, and will never be a couple, but they have each other, and that's good enough for them. Daisy and Walker do find their soul mates, although Walker needs to share his with another girl, but that is good for him, because he loves Daisy enough to do that for her. I really do like this quote and I think it does a really good job of summing up the main point of this novel.
    I really didn't like this book. It wasn't bad, or painful to read, it just wasn't about anything. It didn't have a real plot to it, and I felt that it was a waste to read it, because I didn't get anything out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Things Ain't So Pretty

    Nah. I wasn't a fan of the book. I thought it would be more interesting and funnier, but it just pissed me off. The plot was very thin, the only real resolution was Brie gaining convidence. The only thing that happened over the course of the novel was that all the teens managed to get really drunk, sleep with each other, and get really really angry at one another. Half the book was just the characters complaining and using a lot of bad language. It didn't bring about any earth-shattering realizations about homosexuals, and made it seem that one can choose their sexuality. There are better books than this one, and I don't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Things.

    Pretty Things by Sarra Manning is probably my favorite book right now.
    I'm sure what happens in the story has happened to everyone.
    You fall in love with someone who either cannot love you back or just doesn't want to.
    Everyone has had a best friend who at times they completely despise.
    It's part of growing up, right?
    I've now read Pretty Things and Guitar Girl, and i must say that Pretty Things is better, IMO.
    Sarra Manning is a completely wonderful writer, and this story just potrays so much emotion.
    Brie is a little ditzy, but by the end, she is smart, brave, and stands up for herself.
    Charlie is the perfect guy, and he can't love Brie back. He's just not wired that way.
    Walker's a dickhead. He's the sort of guy you wish you were friends with, but once you are, you sort of realize how much of a 'wanker' he really is.
    Daisy is a hypocrite. That's all i have to say about her.
    These characters pissed me off, made me laugh, and almost made my cry.
    I'll say it again...Sarra Manning is brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable :)

    This book was full of humor, romance, drama and even a little but of action. It had a bit of everything you can say. It is a really cute story based of four totally different peoples' persecptive and so you just get everyones' opinion. It's full out twists and turns that keep you wanting to read more. This book also made song references which I really loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty things

    i got this book in the begining of the summer & when i started to read it i stopped after about 5 pages because it was boring. a couple of weeks ago i gave it another try and i stuck with it through the beginning and now its probabaly one of the best books ive ever read. i just fell in love with the storyline, characters, & the relationship between charlie and brie. the beginning is a little hard to get into but after that you get hooked. they also use a bit of british words like mates instead of friends, since it takes place over there. i would recommend this book to anyone! you wont regret reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    gained steam

    this book was sort of boring in the beginning but towards the middle and the end it got much more interesting. i ended up loving this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Fantastic Novel, Severely Underappreciated.

    This is quite possibly one of the best books that I have ever read. Maybe that's just because I relate to Brie so well. Even so, It shows character developement far beyond what is usually seen in teen novels, and brings up interesting points on gender issues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    FAVE BOOK.

    To be completely blunt about this book, I'm here to say that it's pretty much the best book I've ever read so far. I'm usually a person to get hooked on books and have something about them pop up into my mind when something similar apperas in my life. So basically, this book has many things I can relate to (In this whole nothing of this book has anything to dow ith my life, and yet I can relate to it in some weird way). So yea. ^o^ Big thumbs up for this book guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    charlie rocks!!!!!!

    as you can tell in my title i'm a fan of charlie. i like this book and i recamened that alot of teens should read it. its funny, interesting, and right down bloody brilliant. i think the writer did a great job!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Pretty damn good!

    I loved this book & I'm amazed by the bad reviews. Pretty Things is funny and reminds me of my friends and all theh different stuff that we go through. I loved that everyone spoke so British. I think that if you have a problem with this book, it's because you have a problem with the whole gay issue in it and that's really immature. Be open-minded like the characters in Pretty Things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    I am not disappointed and i don't know why everyone else didn't like it...

    I can truly say I enjoyed this book!!! I don't care what anyone else says, i enjoyed it. It let me learn more about homosexuals and respect them for who they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Now Hey

    this was a pretty darn good book. i mean it was just so sweet and all the charcters were very believable. and i like the plot. very different and good. theres like so many good parts to it. tho at the end it leaves you wondering, lol. but yeah, good. i'd recommend it to anyone whose very open minded. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    HORRIBLE!!!

    this was the worst book i have ever read, sure the story plot is good and all and it makes you want to read it but the author is truly bad! Do not read this book unless you are looking for a bad book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    amazing

    this book was very well written!!! never there was an uninteresting or boring part in the book! this took me about a day to read and i recommend it to any teenager!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2