Customer Reviews for

Pretty in Plaid: A Life, a Witch, and a Wardrobe, or, The Wonder Years before the Condescending, Egomanical, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Phase

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Laugh Out Loud Hilarious Once Again

Jen Lancaster's books are hysterical. Anyone with an above average intelligence level mixed with an enviable ability to appreciate real wit & humor will LOVE them!!!

posted by Dr_Arrival on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Travel back in time with Jen...

Lancaster is always hilarious. This details her early years. While funny, it's not quite as satisfying as her first two books. Still, it's Lancaster and when is that girl not entertaining? Was hoping for a better ending or transition between her childhood and adult year...
Lancaster is always hilarious. This details her early years. While funny, it's not quite as satisfying as her first two books. Still, it's Lancaster and when is that girl not entertaining? Was hoping for a better ending or transition between her childhood and adult years she's already covered. She has an amazing memory of her childhood, and as with all of Jen's life, it's comical and great reading.

posted by SandWitch on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Hi

    I have never heard of this book in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Not her best

    She has made me laugh until tears are falling down my face, however this only made me giggle. I did enjoy it but fell far below her previos work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    LOVE IT!!

    i have read all of ms. lancasters books and have laughed through each one. very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    Hilarious, as always

    I love Jen Lancaster's books, especially how she uses footnotes throughout. However, I bought this book for my nook and the footnotes are nowhere to be found. Going forward I'll purchase her actual books rather than the eBook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat disappointing.

    I have read over some reviews and assumed Lancaster's books would be good. This was the first and perhaps last of her books that I will probably read. While there are parts that are somewhat humorous, I find her writing to lack style. It just got boring after the first 25 pages or so. I finished it hoping it would get better, it was just more of the same. Whining about topics that are not even worth writing about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Not my favorite

    Jen is my absolute favorite and I have read each of her books at least three times....that being said, I didn't love this one. It was pretty good but I could have waited for the paperback instead of preordering. Looking forward to the next book though!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Love her books!!!

    I don't usually get that into books, I'm more of a magazine person,however, I love Jeni Lancaster books! I think they just keep getting better and better by the book! I love to read at least 2 chapters a day!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Blah....

    I have read all of Jen's other books and loved them but this book just dragged on & on. It definitely was not as funny as her others. I bought the book several months ago & took me forever to finish it! What happened????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really funny...

    I love Jen Lancaster and want her to "keep 'em coming". She writes very well and has a great take on life! This was funny but the first 3 were a little funnier, by no means NOT a reason to read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Jen Lancaster Tells It All

    Just finished reading PRETTY IN PLAID and once again, Jen Lancaster makes me laugh out loud with her self-deprecating humor and very true to life stories about the eighties and beyond. Jen's writing makes me feel as if I am right there beside her watching her trials and tribulations, as well as the joys, of her life. I am sure Jen will correct my punctuation, but what the heck? I can't wait for the next book! (I have every one of them)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jen Lancaster is a funny, funny woman

    I was introduced to Jen Lancaster in "Such a Pretty Fat" An amazingly funny story of her battle witht the bulge. The only down side to her writing is her use of profanity, which isn't really needed to add to the mirth. I haven't read her other two books, but they are on my list. "Pretty in Plaid" is a walk down memory lane and a real treat for the funny bone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Hilarious

    I love Jen Lancaster's books, and this latest one did not disappoint. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    Not all it's cracked up to be

    I am a huge Jen Lancaster fan. I currently reside in Miami, FL and since she never made it here for her book tour I begged my friend who lives in Chicago to go to the book signing for me and get my copy autographed. As I was reading I belt out a few chuckles but didn't feel it was as funny as her first two books. I won't say I'm disappointed with this book I just expected a little more. However, I cannot wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An avid fan says Lancaster does not disappoint!

    I have read all 4 of her books. She continues to infuse her quick wit, sharp tongue, and Midwestern flair in her memoirs. Just like the last three, I could not put it down and finished it in the matter of a few days. Highly advise to pick this up. Totally worth the hardcover price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Such a Diappointment

    I love Jen Lancaster, and have read all her previous books. I was so excited I picked up PIP from my local Barnes and Noble the day it came out. What a disappointment. Not nearly as funny as her past books (Bitter is still my favorite). Don't waste your time or money on this one. Hopefully she'll be back to her hysterical writing ways in her next attempt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    As a Jen Lancaster fan I must say, this was my least favorite of her books. But that is like saying "This was my least favorite piece of chocolate". I still enjoyed it.
    Her other books are MUST MUST MUST READS!!!
    I JUST ADORE JEN LANCASTER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A FUNNY, FRANK LOOK AT THE PAST

    If you think you won't be captivated by a preternaturally manipulative little girl who holds out for lobster at ten dollars a pound for her eighth birthday dinner, you'll think again with the first few pages of the hilarious Pretty In Plaid. Not only is she demanding but also fashion conscious. It was a chilly evening when Jen, her parents and her brother, Todd, went out for that dinner and her mother wanted her to wear "a ridiculous pair of maroon tights." No way! As she says, "...I balked because my sweater is red and I refuse to clash, particularly on such an auspicious occasion."

    And, that laughing readers, is only the beginning in this flat out funny memoir following Lancaster's highly successful Such A Pretty Fat. Yes, there are weight issues to be faced again but she primarily focuses on her growing up years, each period remembered by her must-have apparel of that time.

    We begin with her days as a Junior Girl Scout - not only would there be camping and outings but she absolutely loved the green uniform. What was the all important accessory for that uniform? A sash laden with badges, of course. Only problem was you were supposed to earn those badges. Such details didn't stand in our Jen's way as she is soon sporting an eye-popping embellished sash.

    What a romp it is to revisit those early years with her as she goes from that childhood triumph to college co-ed where she learns the hard way that a rush party described as casual does not mean a jean jacket and that a Coach handbag is an absolute necessity and why another rushee "with streaky blond hair from a suburb of Detroit called Grosse Pointe" looked so smug. There was so much for her to absorb in college, and further lessons learned when she didn't make her grades.

    Later, she was ill prepared to find a job but that she did, and discovered what talents she possessed. No questioning her talent for writing a frank, funny look at her past which gives all of us some things to remember and lots to laugh about.

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Jen Lancaster returns to her same old tricks. Her fans will love it. Me not so much.

    Straight to paperback author, Jen Lancaster's first hardback book returns to her familiar and tired terrain of mean-spirited, self-absorbed, shallow and snarky commentary marketed as "humor". Airport sales must have been good for her previous efforts although I imagine this one will end up on the remainder table.

    As William F. Buckley famously said to his son Christopher about his last book, "this one doesn't work for me, sorry".

    A far better and funnier read is Bad Mother by Ayelet Waldman.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8