Customer Reviews for

Pretty in Plaid: A Life, a Witch, and a Wardrobe, or, The Wonder Years before the Condescending, Egomanical, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Phase

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jen Lancaster has become one of my favorite authors

I love this woman and her writing. She says things we all want to say but in a much better way than any of us can communicate. Her books have me so engrossed and laughing out loud. I am of the baby boom generation and my daughter is in her late 20's and we both love a...
I love this woman and her writing. She says things we all want to say but in a much better way than any of us can communicate. Her books have me so engrossed and laughing out loud. I am of the baby boom generation and my daughter is in her late 20's and we both love all of her books. We can't wait for the next one!

posted by PaulaAnnP on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Travel back in time with Jen...

Lancaster is always hilarious. This details her early years. While funny, it's not quite as satisfying as her first two books. Still, it's Lancaster and when is that girl not entertaining? Was hoping for a better ending or transition between her childhood and adult year...
Lancaster is always hilarious. This details her early years. While funny, it's not quite as satisfying as her first two books. Still, it's Lancaster and when is that girl not entertaining? Was hoping for a better ending or transition between her childhood and adult years she's already covered. She has an amazing memory of her childhood, and as with all of Jen's life, it's comical and great reading.

posted by SandWitch on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Jen Lancaster has become one of my favorite authors

    I love this woman and her writing. She says things we all want to say but in a much better way than any of us can communicate. Her books have me so engrossed and laughing out loud. I am of the baby boom generation and my daughter is in her late 20's and we both love all of her books. We can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh Out Loud Hilarious Once Again

    Jen Lancaster's books are hysterical. Anyone with an above average intelligence level mixed with an enviable ability to appreciate real wit & humor will LOVE them!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The only thing missing is Jen's childhood photo's

    Having read and loved all of Jen's previous memoirs as well as being addicted to her snarky website, I knew I was going to enjoy this one. However, I have to say hands down it is the best Jen Lancaster I have read. Jen perfectly describes the decade (along with a good chunk of the 90s) which took my generation from elementary school to our first jobs with her trademark wit and sarcasm.

    My first laugh out loud moment (and there are many) happened on page 76 as a 10 year old Jen gets badgered on the school bus by 2 popular girls. Jen's childhood seems to be remarkably like my own, although I never realized how dorky I was until 7th grade. For me, the the early 80s signifies a time when even though I couldn't afford new clothes and cool sneakers, with a pair of home-made braided ribbon barrettes holding back the sides my permed mullet and 3 pounds of friendship pins on my generic K-mart Keds I felt pretty and loved. Pretty in Plaid takes me back to those days and the confusing times later when I was desperate to be accepted by the popular pack and for a cute guy to like me back. Jen also perfectly describes what it was like in the mid 90s starting entry level jobs where your co-workers don't take you seriously and your corporation was flooded in new technology at the same time clinging to their bottles of white out and 1950s filing systems.

    If you got to know Jen in Bitter is the New Black, you will love reading about her formative years. But if you haven't read bitter, don't worry...You won't be lost as you laugh along through young Jen's journey cause it is probably similar to your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Is this moonclans camp? MEOW?

    I will be a medecine cat apprintince -PebblePaw32

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Arcticspirit

    "Hello. May i join?" The white she cat meows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Red fox

    Licked her snout. "Thats right my pet."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    She's done it again

    Jen lancaster is an incredible writer and I'm so happy to have found her books. Her mouth is as dirty as the martini in her not-so-well-manicured hand (there's a story about it in this book). She will make you laugh out loud at her trials and tribulations. I can relate to her ups & downs and most women probably can.HIGHLY reccomend her books- ALL of them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    She just keeps getting better.....

    I love love love Jen Lancaster and this book was just another in a line of great books by her. I adore her, reread every book and tell everyone they should read her books. And her blog!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Too Funny

    Too funny! Loved every word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    More like Pretty in Hysterical

    Jen Lancaster is a master when it comes to honest, comical, memoir writing. No detail is off limits to her reader, which makes her even more relateable! Pretty in Plaid is just another example of how Jen's real life is more entertaining than any fictional piece of work I have read! Her sharp tongue and hella funny wit will have you reading from cover to cover in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    GOTTA LOVE

    I must say I didnt read any of the previous books and the reason i got this one is because of the cover *haha* but I really did LOVE this book and would recommend any & everyone to read it. MORE THAN ONCE. i've already pre ordered her next book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Hi

    I have never heard of this book in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    LOVE IT!!

    i have read all of ms. lancasters books and have laughed through each one. very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Love her books!!!

    I don't usually get that into books, I'm more of a magazine person,however, I love Jeni Lancaster books! I think they just keep getting better and better by the book! I love to read at least 2 chapters a day!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Jen Lancaster Tells It All

    Just finished reading PRETTY IN PLAID and once again, Jen Lancaster makes me laugh out loud with her self-deprecating humor and very true to life stories about the eighties and beyond. Jen's writing makes me feel as if I am right there beside her watching her trials and tribulations, as well as the joys, of her life. I am sure Jen will correct my punctuation, but what the heck? I can't wait for the next book! (I have every one of them)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Hilarious

    I love Jen Lancaster's books, and this latest one did not disappoint. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An avid fan says Lancaster does not disappoint!

    I have read all 4 of her books. She continues to infuse her quick wit, sharp tongue, and Midwestern flair in her memoirs. Just like the last three, I could not put it down and finished it in the matter of a few days. Highly advise to pick this up. Totally worth the hardcover price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3