Customer Reviews for

Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease: The Revolutionary, Scientifically Proven, Nutrition-Based Cure

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Action plan for achieving or restoring good health diet

    This excellent diet book by Esselstyn along with the complementary book by T.C. and T.M Campbell, the 'China Study', subtitled ' The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted' and dubbed by the NY Times the 'Grand Prix of Epidemiology', unlike Ornish's books, were regrettably not found in at least one major book chain. Hence both have received minimal public visibility or exposure despite their enormous impact on individual and public health. The reasons for such apparent overt or covert suppression of the highly effective totally vegetarian Esselstyn diet compared to the less restrictive Ornish diet are discussed in these two books. For example, one former USDA official responded 'We can't have this' after being informed of a similar highly successful vegetarian school lunch program, used at more than 300 schools, based on the works of Campbell/Esselstyn. And this reaction is to be expected from ANY government or industry official who is expected to place profits and national economic well being over individual health or well being by discouraging or downright suppressing a major population shift to healthier vegetarian diets that would have catastrophic consequences for several industry segments. Such shifts would directly impact our processed food and meat industries, and indirectly, the full spectrum of health care providers as a result of fewer patient visits 'an estimated 50% of patients have diet related or induced health problems, or true mal-nutrition, in part due to over-nutrition with fat and meat proteins'. Luckily for the economy, such a beneficial diet shift is NOT going to happen any time soon on a large scale for a number of reasons: 1. Due to the restrictive and unpalatable nature of such vegetarian diets, and 2. Due to their complexity, adding to food purchasing chores and preparation time. 3. Too many of us are truly addicted to a diet of unhealthy meat, fat, fast food, and processed food and will not change their way, except possibly as a terminal patient when hearing their physician say: 'There is nothing else we can do for you', as actually told to several of Dr Esselstyn's patients, now leading normal lives. 4. Fats and meat proteins, especially in fast foods, big juicy steaks and pizza, are truly addictive like smoking. 5. Many of us as youngsters were forced to eat veggies and therefore acquired an intense dislike since childhood. Numerous documented case histories are recorded in the Esselstyn book and further supported by epidemiology from the huge Chinese population studied in the Campbell book fully supporting the effectiveness of the regenerative and life sparing Esselstyn diet. Especially notable are the numerous saved lives of terminal or hopeless cardiac patients in restoring their quality of life including heart function, e.g. at least one patient's heart ejection fraction rose from a near fatal 40% to 60% into the normal range. Further reported health benefits are substantial weight losses to optimal ranges and lower total cholesterol of typically under 150 mg/dL, in some cases still requiring statins. As a retired industrial health care scientist, I am convinced that NO other Rx-based or surgical procedure, has this regenerative or curative power in truly reversing, not merely symptomatically treating or delaying cardiac and a host of other degenerative diseases associated with aging, as currently practiced. Even under current dietary conditions, shifting the focus from therapy to prevention was recently estimated to lower the cost of national health care to less than 20%, hence probably even lower via vegetarian diets. But a formally mandated national dietary shift is unlikely in the foreseeable future or ever under our current political system dominated by powerful special interest groups and lobbyists which would suffer enormous economic dislocations and losses. However, all is not lost since we are a consumer based society in which de

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Compelling! Fast read, well documented. 1/2 recipes

    Life altering! All food choices are now made with the knowledge of their effects. Those without heart disease now know how to avoid it. I have cleared my pantry and refrigerator. Marketing is simplified and takes less time since most of the square footage is of no interest. The grocery bill is smaller despite buying organic when possible. No more oil stains on clothes, or greasy dishes... easy cleanup! I feel terrific, with even more energy! A win-win!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Easy to understand how-to-do-it guide

    It's rare to find a book that offers a combination of 20 years of scientific research relating nutrition to health, the experience of a distinguished medical practice and an easy-to-understand, straight-forward how-to-do-it guide to making yourself heart attack-proof. Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn's Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease does it all, clearly and convincingly. The author is authoritative, assuring and highly regarded for his credibility and professional ethics. This new book takes us back to the beginning of his ground-breaking research project yielding solid evidence that what we eat determines how free of heart disease we'll be, even more than the genes we often blame for this disease. We follow Dr. Esselstyn's earliest patients, who were told they were going to die, that there was nothing more that could be done for them, as they not only halt the progress of coronary artery disease, but actually reverse the blocked arteries. For any doubting Thomases, the before and after graphics of those arteries are included. The importance of a plant-based diet, absent of added oils and foods that are high in fat, is clearly explained. In simple, understandable language, Dr. Esselstyn examines the scientific studies and epidemiological evidence and draws logical and convincing conclusions. The first half of this book explores this as it explains exactly how such lifestyle changes can be followed. It also tells us about the vested interests and politics that would keep us from knowing the truth about what we are told about nutrition and health. The second half of this book is a treasure trove of more than 150 recipes, all plant-based (vegan) and all low in fat. This reviewer, who has seen so many books that seem to include the same recipes basic over and over, found most of the recipes in this book new, interesting, and creative. Starting with breakfasts, and progressing from salads, sauces, soups, sandwiches, main courses and desserts that appear decadent, but are satisfying and safe. The author's charming wife, Ann Crile Esselstyn, deserves credit for this bonanza. The Esselstyns practice what they preach the entire family follows this healthy lifestyle, and as their children began their own families, now another generation does also. The book has appendices that include lists of safe foods, resources, publications and references. --Neal Pinckney, Ph.D. -- founder & director: Healing Heart Foundation and author of the Healthy Heart Handbook

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    I was #23 on the library list to check out "Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease". After waiting over two months for my turn, it was due in 2 weeks. I had to go to the back of the line again! B&N solved my problem.

    This is a cookbook, a diet plan of sorts, and an inspirational explanation of why it works. The pictures of heart-disease reversals are straightforward for those who aren't readers (even though its an easy read), so it's a great gift for someone who doesn't like to read but is concerned about heart disease. Or put it on the coffee table when they visit. The basic premise is eat a vegetable/fruit diet that is oil, dairy and meat free; so I wanted/needed the inspiring stories, picures and recipes to help me stick with it until I began to feel and look better. Cheaper than statins, the price of a steak dinner and lasts longer. Hopefully, we will all last longer after following the strategies outlined in this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    as a doctor one of the best books on diet I've reviewed

    With the prvalence of heart disease, diabetes, and obesity in the USA this book is long overdue. It is a no holds barred book on diet and health;while not based totally onscience, the case histories are very pogninant. Most everyone can identify with the examples given. If you want to live a healthy life this is a great lifestyle to aspire. I recommend it for all ages who want to get and stay healthy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This book saved my life

    I used the book to follow a heart healthy diet and it worked! I recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid or reverse heart disease.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    My cholesterol had been inching up over the last few years and b

    My cholesterol had been inching up over the last few years and being a stocky short male at 5'6" hit 279 and my weight was at 200 Sept 2013. I had some bad side effects from the statin's prescribed and didn't want to stay on them. So I made a deal with my cardiologist that I would stay off the statins and that I would lose some weight. I didn't tell him about the diet I was going on. I had seen Bill Clinton and the remarkable change in his appearance... We were vegetarian prior to starting the diet but still had to make some major changes in the kitchen, learning how to cook and eat for this diet. And I should say here that this is a lifestyle change not a diet. Diets come and go, this is an eating life change. We (my wife Joanne, she lost 20 lbs too.) threw lots of things out of the pantry and we started over. I do the cooking at our house so it was up to me to figure this out. 7 months later I walked back into the Cardiologist's office and had lost 35 lbs and lowered my cholesterol 112 points to 167. He joked this number was un-American, and that I was going to put him out of business. I joked that I was a little concerned about a capitalist cardiologist. He was very interested in what I did and took the information down... No meds for me, I feel great, just seeing the doc once a year. The next day I headed to Nordstrom to buy my new clothes...vowing never to need the fat ones anymore...Thanks Dr. Esselstyn...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Totally recommend this book!

    It is excellent if you are interest in not having heart disease, a stroke, cancer or any disease! It is worth the effort to change your eating habits. The food tastes wonderful! You feel much better - more energy, etc. It is worth it to make up your mind and adapt to a totally plant based eating plan for the rest of your life!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    What an eye-opener !! A must read.

    For us, Dr. Esselstyn's book could prove to be a life saver. His approach to, and arguments in support of, a fat-free vegan diet are logical and direct. His recommendations make perfect sense, particularly to those with a personal or family history of heart disease. He cites study after study which support his ideas. There certainly is no down side, as the recipes are, without exception, delicious. Although we already were "pesco-polo-vegeterians", our cholesterol levels were high. We have been absolutely strict in following his plan (no oils, no dairy, no eggs, no meat, no poultry, no fish, no nuts) for three weeks and we both have lost weight but our energy levels are just fine. We will be having our cholesterol levels checked after 6 weeks to confirm what we already suspect - that this is the Recipe for Life !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best I've read on dealing with heart disease through nutrition. A must read.

    This book is a must read and is definitely the best I have read on dealing with heart disease through nutrition. Dr. Esselstyn presents compelling scientific evidence that diet is the problem and that changing to a plant-based nutrition regimen will make all the difference in becoming healthy. Easy to read and understand, and with many delicious recipes. This is another one of the books I feel presents the inconvenient truth about the rich, western diet and its problems. Don't pass on this book if you seriously care about your health.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Worth every penny!

    This book is amazing and I feel like buying a copy for everyone I know. People were surprised I was reading a book about heart disease because I eat well and am physically fit, but I want to PREVENT disease, not wait until it's too late and then panic about what to do. This book is worth every penny for just the recipes alone. I'm very discouraged in the grocery stores trying to find real food, so I can't wait to try all of these healthy recipes! Thank you Dr. and Mrs. Essy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Recommended for anyone who needs to address life's issues

    Seriously, if you are over the age of 20 and have a realistic view of life you should at least be aware of this aspect of caring for your health. Understanding the connection between diet and disease is better than denial. I've been reading and trying diets for over 40 years and this one makes the most sense from any aspect.

    This one can save your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Crystalstar's Orders

    Move to 'sickness' result one

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Darkness

    Outer den

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease:

    A book that should be read by everyone. Eating wrong can cause changes in our bodies and eating the proper foods may remedy these problems. It shows that other nations have better health until they adopt the Standard American Diet. The US ranks 1st in degenerative diseases and 26th in longevity. Bill Clinton is attempting to stop the blockages that have occurred after his bypass, angioplasty and stent procedures. The process that is causing the blockages have been reversed by others who changed their lifestyles. The book shows the results of heart patients who were told there was nothing else that could be done for them. A must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This book can save your life!

    Great gift item.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent resource for diet answers.

    It is a succinct explanation and direction for those concerned about heart disease or at very high risk for a cardiovascular event. It also provides proof that it does what it says it will do!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great book

    The product is great for getting healthy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Must read if you have heart disease or are concerned about your health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I have followed this diet for only 2 1/2 weeks. I have lost 6 pounds and am waiting to have my cholesterol checked. I do recommend it. This book is a "must read" for everyone who is interested in a healthy way of eating. It isn't easy to follow for me, but I do believe in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3