Customer Reviews for

Prey

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Linda Howard provides her usual exhilarating romantic suspense

In rural Montana, thirtyish Angie Powell was operating a successful hunting business when former Iraq war veteran Dare Callahan came home to start up the same business. Three years as rivals has left Angie selling out as she lost this battle. She has one last final cl...
In rural Montana, thirtyish Angie Powell was operating a successful hunting business when former Iraq war veteran Dare Callahan came home to start up the same business. Three years as rivals has left Angie selling out as she lost this battle. She has one last final client to escort, Chad Krugman and his guest on a bear hunt in the wilderness.

However, the hunt goes ugly when Angie sees a murder and the killer sees her. Before either can react, a humongous black bear who has eaten humans attacks. Dare is nearby thanks to a mutual friend when he hears shots. He races to Angie to insure she is safe. As they flee together and confront their attraction, a killer and a five hundred pound beast pursue them while a storm makes survival more difficult.

Linda Howard provides her usual exhilarating romantic suspense as man, beast, and nature focus on two business rivals falling in love. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Krugman arrives for his trek into the wilderness. Loaded with action and well placed humor especially the banter between the lead couple, fans will enjoy the trek into a remote par of Big Sky Country.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I am a huge Linda Howard fan. This falls way short of her normal novels. I guess when the premise is a rabid, man eating bear, you have to take it all in stride. Don't waste your time or money with this one.

posted by 4832479 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Pretty good story line

    I've been a fan of Linda Howard for many years and this was a good book, but a bit tedious. The female lead was a little hard to like at first and I thought the sudden romance between two people who didn't like each other was a bit rushed, but overall enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    This wasn't my favorite Linda Howard book. It wasn't bad, but i

    This wasn't my favorite Linda Howard book. It wasn't bad, but it did drag in places. There were a few instances where you're reading from the man-eating bear's point of view which I thought was pointless and unnecessary. The level of suspense wasn't there either. The man-eating bear goes around debating when it wants to eat again, the killer, an indecisive accountant (really?) hides out in his tent during a storm for most of the novel posing no threat whatsoever, and the two main characters wait out the storm at their campsite like they don't have a care in the world. Finally when the killer gets around to showing some action, he gets eaten by the bear. End of story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Enjoyable

    The story was very good. Plenty of action and adventure.Most of Linda Howard's books are action packed. It does take too long for her hero and lady to hook up. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would rate this a five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Not her best in any way....very much lacking character developme

    Not her best in any way....very much lacking character development. Not sure what has happened to LH, her books used to be so interesting, sometimes funny, always interesting. The bear thing, really really gross!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Not her best

    I'm a big fan of Linda Howard, but this was not one of her best. I was a little let-down....I still would have bought it and read it, just not paid 8 bucks for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Exceded expectations

    I have read all of Linda Howards book and was a little leery after reading the description of the book and some of the critism. I was pleasantly surprise but the book loses points on the gruisome depictions of the killer black bear in action. But if you are in to guts and gore those scenes may be you ticket. I tended to skim those passages.

    This is not a mystery, Howard lays out the villians pretty clearly. Chad is chasing Angela and the Black Bear is chasing Chad but won't mind eating any human that crossed his path. Howard will go away from the Angela and Dare on several occassions to help reinforce the danger. Annoying to some readers but a necessary plot device. It made me read through those passages faster to get back to Angela and Dare.

    If you don't like cursing Dare will drive you nuts because he curses like he has spent most his adult life in the army, wait he has. On the romance side it the classic, man and woman get off on the wrong foot story (You know Liz Bennet and Mr. Darcy). The book starts with the Dare wanting Angela but she can't stand him. Dare is not a particularly social person so he lack the skills to get past Angela's anger. And while Angela's anger at Dare could be seems a little irrational you understand where she is coming from. The only way these two would get together is in a moment of crisis. Its a standard story telling convention for the genre and the writer isn't coy about using it. She even has a character acknowledge the convention. Sometimes its great when the author sort of winks at the reader. If you like the Howard sense of humor this book has some. Quote that stand out is "Bunny boiling nuts". But if you are looking for hearts and flowers, poetry and sonnets, Angela and Dare are not the pair for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best or worst

    This book was ok. It wasn't her best. I haven't really loved any of her books since Death Angel. The past three or so have just been mostly fillers. I think that more attention should have been paid to Dare and Angie, plus the ending was not surprising at all. I felt like their romance was pretty quick. I think there should have been a bit more backstory or history between them or maybe they could have spent more time in the cabin. Plus, the thing with the wedding cake was lame. I don't really know why so much focus was on the bear when it had very little interaction with Dare and Angie. Just ok- I would rent not buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Does a bear...eat you in the woods? You betcha!

    Angie Powell came home to take over her father's hunting guide business and found her niche in life. She had grown up helping him, went away to find her place in life, but found that in coming back home again, his way of life in the woods amongst the mountains was HER way of life, too. But a competitor has siphoned away most of her business and now she has put up her home for sale and is planning to move away and start up again. One last hunting trip in the mountains will be her way of saying goodbye. Dare Callahan has given Angie the flutters from the start, but she is not a fluttery type woman and a bad experience in romance has caused her to shut down on any suspicious flutters. She's angry that he has taken away all her business...he didn't do it in a sneaky underhanded way, but let's face it, most men going on a hunting trip in the mountains of Montana, faced with the choice between a slender young woman and a 6+ feet of scarred Iraqi war veteran are going to pick the man...especially with the superhero name of "Dare." That doesn't mean she's not going to hold it against him. Angie has a talent for holding on to hard feelings. When she heads up to the wilderness with her last hunting party, a creep and a milquetoast accountant, she hopes they'll find a bear quickly so they can cut the week-long trip short: 1) because the experienced hunter in this party is a rude jerk, and 2) because she's terrified of bears. And rightly so because the bear whose path they're going to cross has recently acquired a taste for human flesh...and one of her customers has a taste for murder. No, I don't like this as much as my early faves of Linda's books like Dream Man, After the Night, and Mr. Perfect, but it's still a fun adventure story. I can always personally connect with her heroines because they are down-to-earth practical women who will say what they mean and not suffer fools gladly...and her men! Well, her men are - to reference another of her titles - To Die For. Unlike a lot of romance authors content to stay in their niche, Linda has really changed it up in the last decade, writing a 2 book series in first person (so hard!) -To Die For & Drop Dead Gorgeous; a couple of adventure in the wild books - Cover of Night and Up Close and Dangerous; a book with a rogue CIA assassin as the heroine that the hero is supposed to kill - Kiss Me While I Sleep; a book where both the hero & heroine are bad guys - no, not FBI undercover people pretending to be bad, but criminals themselves(!), but with their own code of honor - Death Angel; and more recently a vampire book with Linda Jones - Blood Born. You go, Linda! If you like a great sense of suspense in your books, coupled with real characters, life and death action, steaming hot romance, and humor thrown in, you need to add Linda Howard to your list of must-read authors. I've been reading her for 30+ years and she has never disappointed me yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2