Customer Reviews for

Prey

Average Rating 4
( 518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Definately my choice of prey

Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges ca...
Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges can be solved with this book Prey by Michael Crichton. I initially chose this book on a recommendation from my dad. He had just recently read it and said it was an extraordinary book. Unfortunately, I wasn¿t very keen on reading a 300 odd page book however I was looking for something enticing and something I was interested in. He had recommended this book before but I had put the idea aside. Finally we were assigned an independent reading assignment, so I said ¿Ah, why not,¿ and I picked it up and started to read. Ever since then, I haven¿t been able to put the book down. If you¿re a person that¿s interested in today¿s technology and science this is definitely a book for you. This is a realistically based fiction of technology and modern science with a bit of romance. Jack Forman, a currently unemployed programmer is assigned the position of ¿house dad¿ and he¿s doing a heck of a job, but when things start going awry with his hard working wife Julia, he starts to suspect she¿s having an affair in Townsend 2 the office. She works at Xymos Technology, one of the leading technology distributors in the Silicon Valley. Jack is hired as a consultant to Xymos and takes a trip out to the companies¿ fabrication building. He is surprised to find out they are currently programming nanotechnology as a military weapon. After they get the technology advanced enough, the nano- bots begin to learn from experience and think on the spot. This ends up as a terrible outcome and could mean the end of human civilization as we know it. Crichton has done a magnificent job with his descriptive sci-fi action writing It really makes you think you¿re in the story so much, that it¿s scary. Though Prey is a great read, I would suggest limits and restrictions. It should be noted that if you are influenced by harsh language, this book is definitely not for you. There are feelings expressed in language that normally would not be accepted as polite or even correct for that matter. Also, there is slight sexual content but nothing to be alarmed about. Other than that, this book is a fantastic read and should be taken into consideration next time you¿re looking for a book worth your while. Prey is for those interested in today¿s modern science and technology, and for those looking for a good book. I recommend this book if you are looking for a good action adventure and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. But be careful, to be human¿is to be hunted.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

posted by SailorJan on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Definately my choice of prey

    Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges can be solved with this book Prey by Michael Crichton. I initially chose this book on a recommendation from my dad. He had just recently read it and said it was an extraordinary book. Unfortunately, I wasn¿t very keen on reading a 300 odd page book however I was looking for something enticing and something I was interested in. He had recommended this book before but I had put the idea aside. Finally we were assigned an independent reading assignment, so I said ¿Ah, why not,¿ and I picked it up and started to read. Ever since then, I haven¿t been able to put the book down. If you¿re a person that¿s interested in today¿s technology and science this is definitely a book for you. This is a realistically based fiction of technology and modern science with a bit of romance. Jack Forman, a currently unemployed programmer is assigned the position of ¿house dad¿ and he¿s doing a heck of a job, but when things start going awry with his hard working wife Julia, he starts to suspect she¿s having an affair in Townsend 2 the office. She works at Xymos Technology, one of the leading technology distributors in the Silicon Valley. Jack is hired as a consultant to Xymos and takes a trip out to the companies¿ fabrication building. He is surprised to find out they are currently programming nanotechnology as a military weapon. After they get the technology advanced enough, the nano- bots begin to learn from experience and think on the spot. This ends up as a terrible outcome and could mean the end of human civilization as we know it. Crichton has done a magnificent job with his descriptive sci-fi action writing It really makes you think you¿re in the story so much, that it¿s scary. Though Prey is a great read, I would suggest limits and restrictions. It should be noted that if you are influenced by harsh language, this book is definitely not for you. There are feelings expressed in language that normally would not be accepted as polite or even correct for that matter. Also, there is slight sexual content but nothing to be alarmed about. Other than that, this book is a fantastic read and should be taken into consideration next time you¿re looking for a book worth your while. Prey is for those interested in today¿s modern science and technology, and for those looking for a good book. I recommend this book if you are looking for a good action adventure and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. But be careful, to be human¿is to be hunted.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    This book is very interesting

    Prey is a book by the famous author Michael Crichton. He has written many other famous and award winning books that are also worth a read. Prey itself is a book that commands you to keep reading it all the way through. It is definitely worthy of anyone who reads love stories or science fiction romance novels. This book is also similar to some other Crichton books that follow the theme of massive technological discovery destroying humans for their insolence and hubris. The protagonist of prey is Jack Forman. He is a middle aged father of three that has a loving wife and a good job. Everything goes wrong from here, Jack has almost everything taken from him and events push him to the edge. It starts with his job being taken away and then his family is also hurt. This leads to other events that show how human expansion of technology can be very dangerous. Michael Crichton's style can be summarized by saying that he allows the actions to speak for themselves. He perfectly balances action and suspense, and romance and dialogue. He writes in a style that purely exemplifies the actions that are pushing you to your seat. Prey is also divided into 4 parts that all have specific problems and answers. Each part seems to answer one of the questions you are thinking, but as each is answered another is proposed until finally the final truth is revealed. I highly recommend this book as one that will entertain and surprise.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Best book ever!

    Starts slowly but stick with it by page 200 you wont be able to put it down! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All time favorite read

    I have read this book so many times (at least 4). I even have two copies, one paperback and one hardcover. As with all other books from this author. I love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    A quick and fun - though terrifting - read

    The plot is thin, some of the characters totally glossed over, and the big twist will only surprise you by being exactly what you expected after page 20 : but I still couldn't put it down. And he really expertly huts on the post-modern implications of hubris.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    This is classic Michael Crichton at his best.

    Keeps you in suspense for the entire read. Don't know much about nanotechnology, but the implicantions are frightful, if maybe unrealistic in this book. If you like suspense, this is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite

    Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Good read.

    Entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Excellent! I could not put this book down.

    Excellent! I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Awesome. It was a book i could not put down

    Need i say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Leopard to someone

    Id like 1,000 rabits 2,000 beavers 3,000 fish and 8,000 moles. thanks! ~ Leopard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Order for the plum tree result one

    15 squrills 15rabbits 15 mice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Prey order

    9,876 field mice 456,87653 voles 2456,23456 trout and 23,0000 frogs to kaos klan at kaos result four please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Mappleleaf

    *she looked at leopard's request*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Heatherpond to blackfeather

    Could l have some dock marigold and dried oak leaves?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Patches

    I best leave now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    To people who know about herbs!

    What's good for bleeding and infection?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    AutumnFire

    She looks a bit suprised to find AmazonLeaf here. "Do you have fish?", she asks BlackFeather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fun and educational read

    A fun thriller. I really enjoyed the technical aspects and thought they were just enough to add to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Amazing

    A grest book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26