Customer Reviews for

Prey

Average Rating 4
( 518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Definately my choice of prey

Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges ca...
Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges can be solved with this book Prey by Michael Crichton. I initially chose this book on a recommendation from my dad. He had just recently read it and said it was an extraordinary book. Unfortunately, I wasn¿t very keen on reading a 300 odd page book however I was looking for something enticing and something I was interested in. He had recommended this book before but I had put the idea aside. Finally we were assigned an independent reading assignment, so I said ¿Ah, why not,¿ and I picked it up and started to read. Ever since then, I haven¿t been able to put the book down. If you¿re a person that¿s interested in today¿s technology and science this is definitely a book for you. This is a realistically based fiction of technology and modern science with a bit of romance. Jack Forman, a currently unemployed programmer is assigned the position of ¿house dad¿ and he¿s doing a heck of a job, but when things start going awry with his hard working wife Julia, he starts to suspect she¿s having an affair in Townsend 2 the office. She works at Xymos Technology, one of the leading technology distributors in the Silicon Valley. Jack is hired as a consultant to Xymos and takes a trip out to the companies¿ fabrication building. He is surprised to find out they are currently programming nanotechnology as a military weapon. After they get the technology advanced enough, the nano- bots begin to learn from experience and think on the spot. This ends up as a terrible outcome and could mean the end of human civilization as we know it. Crichton has done a magnificent job with his descriptive sci-fi action writing It really makes you think you¿re in the story so much, that it¿s scary. Though Prey is a great read, I would suggest limits and restrictions. It should be noted that if you are influenced by harsh language, this book is definitely not for you. There are feelings expressed in language that normally would not be accepted as polite or even correct for that matter. Also, there is slight sexual content but nothing to be alarmed about. Other than that, this book is a fantastic read and should be taken into consideration next time you¿re looking for a book worth your while. Prey is for those interested in today¿s modern science and technology, and for those looking for a good book. I recommend this book if you are looking for a good action adventure and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. But be careful, to be human¿is to be hunted.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

posted by SailorJan on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great book.

    I liked the parts about Jack's dreams.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At his point in his career Michael Crichton had become a cliche.

    At his point in his career Michael Crichton had become a cliche. Average at best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Warsun

    Niiice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    love it! great easy read....completely suspenseful to the end! l

    love it! great easy read....completely suspenseful to the end! love love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    storyline kept me reading

    You're right. Couldn't put it down till I finished, but all the science stuff passed over often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Greta Great read

    Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Action packed!!!!!

    Good and adicting. Very intense and could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Very technichal

    If you dont know much about science kepp pushing through the first 120 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    One of the best

    I am 15 and I just finished reading this book and my only complaint is that it went by so fast because i could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Caramelpaw

    *waits for Littlepaw*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I delayed reviewing this book ...

    I delayed reviewing this book because I hoped time would make me fonder of it, but it didn't. I just didn't care for it & I had to force myself not to abandon reading it. Perhaps I'm naive about what goes on in the world around me, but the story was just too over-the-top to even be intriguing & there was so little about the characters that made you warm to them. For me at least, I need a connection to a story or its characters, but sadly neither was there for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    The book Prey By Michael Crichton brought out many interesting i

    The book Prey By Michael Crichton brought out many interesting ideas and expressed the vivid imagination of the author. The basic rundown of the book is about a man who works for a company that has been experimenting with nanotechnology trying to find uses in the medical field. However, it goes terribly wrong and millions of the bugs escape and cause terror throughout the area. A major idea that I feel the author attempted to portray was that people have a hard time being patient. The reason the research went wrong was because they got too excited and began to rush the process when it was still not perfected. This is a common thing we see throughout our society where people are not willing to take the extra time to make sure something is working correctly before it is called "finished". Things I liked about this book were that is was very detailed with vivid imagery, it kept me attached with the excitement and it was an intelligent read for people who know somewhat about science. Things I didn't like about the book were that it used an excessive amount of vulgar language, the story line was very unrealistic and it went too deep into the main characters social life. I would recommend this book to anyone who is fascinated by science fiction and enjoys a fun and entertaining read. One of Michael Crichton's more popular works would be Jurassic Park which is also another excellent book. I would only give this book a 4 out of 5 though because it was still missing some key things that would have made it stand out more even though it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    SUSPENSEFUL BUT TOO TECHNICAL

    I really enjoyed most of this novel. It was very suspenseful and I could picture such a failed experiment going wrong with all the rapid advances in science and technology. However, several chapters of the novel were filled with nano-technology, computer gobblety-goop ~ that unless you're an MIT graduate or a computer programmer, it's very difficult to understand (And I'm pretty good with computers). Too much jargon instead of writing it in laypersons language. For that reason I gave it 3 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good

    good book. all of the technical stuff slows it down a bit, but if you are a michael crichton fan you expect the science lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    I like sci-fi, but......

    Starts off good, but goes downhill towards the second half of the book. You simply have to suspend believe way too much in the second half of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    Very thrilling. The author does a great job of grabbing you from the start. Some of the science can stretch believability but it's well worth it to give Crichton the benefit of the doubt and follow him on this journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Crichton at his best.

    I so look foward to reading"prey!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Cwood

    Were happy book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Best

    Rhis is the best book i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    4*

    Little filmy but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26