Customer Reviews for

Prey

Average Rating 4
( 518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Definately my choice of prey

Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges ca...
Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges can be solved with this book Prey by Michael Crichton. I initially chose this book on a recommendation from my dad. He had just recently read it and said it was an extraordinary book. Unfortunately, I wasn¿t very keen on reading a 300 odd page book however I was looking for something enticing and something I was interested in. He had recommended this book before but I had put the idea aside. Finally we were assigned an independent reading assignment, so I said ¿Ah, why not,¿ and I picked it up and started to read. Ever since then, I haven¿t been able to put the book down. If you¿re a person that¿s interested in today¿s technology and science this is definitely a book for you. This is a realistically based fiction of technology and modern science with a bit of romance. Jack Forman, a currently unemployed programmer is assigned the position of ¿house dad¿ and he¿s doing a heck of a job, but when things start going awry with his hard working wife Julia, he starts to suspect she¿s having an affair in Townsend 2 the office. She works at Xymos Technology, one of the leading technology distributors in the Silicon Valley. Jack is hired as a consultant to Xymos and takes a trip out to the companies¿ fabrication building. He is surprised to find out they are currently programming nanotechnology as a military weapon. After they get the technology advanced enough, the nano- bots begin to learn from experience and think on the spot. This ends up as a terrible outcome and could mean the end of human civilization as we know it. Crichton has done a magnificent job with his descriptive sci-fi action writing It really makes you think you¿re in the story so much, that it¿s scary. Though Prey is a great read, I would suggest limits and restrictions. It should be noted that if you are influenced by harsh language, this book is definitely not for you. There are feelings expressed in language that normally would not be accepted as polite or even correct for that matter. Also, there is slight sexual content but nothing to be alarmed about. Other than that, this book is a fantastic read and should be taken into consideration next time you¿re looking for a book worth your while. Prey is for those interested in today¿s modern science and technology, and for those looking for a good book. I recommend this book if you are looking for a good action adventure and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. But be careful, to be human¿is to be hunted.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

posted by SailorJan on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite

    Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I delayed reviewing this book ...

    I delayed reviewing this book because I hoped time would make me fonder of it, but it didn't. I just didn't care for it & I had to force myself not to abandon reading it. Perhaps I'm naive about what goes on in the world around me, but the story was just too over-the-top to even be intriguing & there was so little about the characters that made you warm to them. For me at least, I need a connection to a story or its characters, but sadly neither was there for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    I like sci-fi, but......

    Starts off good, but goes downhill towards the second half of the book. You simply have to suspend believe way too much in the second half of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Slow, but good

    I found the story a little difficult to get started and skipped, but when I picked up I enjoyed what I read and will read the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    plodding

    The story holds great potential, however, the overly frequent scientific asides slow the plot interminably. I really tried to get 'into' the story, but it couldn't hold my interest in the slightest.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    My biggest complaint about this article is that our protagonist is some computer/biological behaviorist genius but he is so slow and stupid. I found myself shouting at the cd player. What an idiot! However the concept is extremely interesting and would have made a great article in a science mag. Of course then he wouldn't have made much money off of it. The story could have been told in 15-25 pages. I felt the story developement was cheap. It had the feeling of being pumped out with little revision. I always liked that Michael Crichton's stories would be true except for one small detail. Jurassic Park could have happened if we were able to clone the dna from the bug in amber. Prey could happen if they were able to manufacture nano-particle-machines. I just can't stand a weak, dumb hero and over drawn out bad suspense.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    A crazy bedtime story

    I spend my days researching nanoparticles. At this moment, one of my roommates is plating genetically engineered bacteria. The other two roommates are busy with projects on artificial intelligence and machine learning, respectively. Predictably, we enjoyed this book, but for the wrong reasons. We spent time poking holes in the science, and laughing at the wrong parts, and wondering if we knew who the scientist characters were based on. We do agree that nanotechnology has dangers, but were surprised that Crichton chose a very silly form of expressing that danger. I strongly doubt that my nanoparticles will form 6' tall independently thinking mini-tornados. However, the fabrication of nanoparticles is environmentally deleterious, the particles themselves are carcinogenic, and antibiotic resistant bacteria are a serious problem. I wish that Crichton had chosen to write about these realistic problems. Then the book would have been a truly frightening thriller, rather than a frivolous bedtime story. (Though I definitely appreciate the mad-scientist glamour Crichton has added to my job.)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Prey

    This book is a waste of time. The characters are annoying. The long scientific rambling. I got so bored and forced myself to read it because I bought the book. Unless your interested in reading long passages about nano whatever. It gives a good message though.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Improbable Science

    A really good novel illustrating the potential danger of nanotechnology would be a welcome addition. Prey is not that novel. Here¿s the plot: Somewhere in the Nevada desert, a hi-tech corporation has been experimenting with nanotechnology swarms. Of course, the little critters get loose and begin evolving into fierce predators. Jack Foreman, an expert in designing computer programs that mimic the behavior of swarming animals, is called in to deal with the swarm. Jack¿s wife is a Vice-President at the firm, but she hasn¿t clued Jack into the big picture. I won¿t give it away, but the swarm evolves so rapidly ¿ and unbelievably ¿ it¿s difficult to sustain belief in the storyline. Actually, it¿s impossible. Adding to the disappointment are B-movie characters that blur into the background, their tracks sinking out of sight in the sand of a sluggish plot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Book not consistant with science

    Prey was definitely no Jurassic Park. In fact, of all the Crichton books that I have read, this book rates in the lower end. As a microbiologist with a university degree, I found that the science mentioned in the book that deals with bacteria and phages just doesn¿t add up. The concept is very good, but when someone who actually knows bacteriology will laugh at the silliness put forth in the book. But because it is Crichton, it needs to be in everyone¿s personal library.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    'prey' was not up to par

    Michael Crichtonâ¿¿s plot lacks direction. Prey consists of pages upon pages of laughable nanotechnology details and feels like a dose of dumbed-down Hollywood all the way through. The plot was not believable, the characters were flat, and i was disappointed. The swarms turn into a 1950's 'the blob' type joke (you'll see)and the reason for their free reign in the Nevada desert is even more far-fetched.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    disappointing

    I've read all of the Michael Crichton books, my favorite book is one that Crichton wrote (Timeline and Jurassic Park). But this book is a total disappointment, the plot is ludicrous, yes, other books that Crichton has written are farfetched, nevertheless, Crichton makes us believe it, but this plot is so bad and so unbelievably stupid that it makes you want to give up, you can guess what is coming up without trying very hard. The characters (if you can call them that) are not great (unlike those in Jurassic Park), Mae is as best as it gets. The book is simply bad, I expected much more from Crichton. This book was written simply for the purpose of movie making, I can almost see the special effects now.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Crichton has been better

    I'll admit I read it in one sitting. It is hard to put down. I was left very disappointed. It was pretty obviously written with the big screen in mind. That must excuse the gaping plot holes you are expected to ignore. The idiotic main characters, including the protagonist/narrator are thinner than the cellulose on which they will soon be filmed. MC has written some really good stuff. This time, color me dissatisfied.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Crichton's Prey needs prayer!

    I love Crichton's work and have read every single novel he's written. Unfortunately, Prey could be considered his worst ever. The whole nanotechnology element, while interesting, didn't come across right. For instance, the quantum physics element of Timeline was delivered a thousand times better. To top it off, I knew what would happen next and the characters stunk. Wait until your library gets it before you spend twenty-five bucks on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Flat, uninteresting dross from a literary has-been.

    I really do not understand all the hoopla over Chrichton's books. Except for the likes of Jurassic Park and the Andromeda Strain, most of the rest of his novels have been dull, overworked attempts at entertaining the action-thriller anaesthetized brain-dead masses(mostly men) that are the majority in this world. On top of that, his novels REEK of misogyny, and I, as a woman, prefer to read books that are a lot more genuine with concerns to my gender. No; this is one book I shall definitely not recommend to my book club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2