Customer Reviews for

Prey

Average Rating 4
( 518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Definately my choice of prey

Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges ca...
Prey By Michael Crichton Reviewed by Josh There are always problems with finding a good book to read. You want to try to find a topic you like, and then you see if the book has a well known reliable author, then you see how long the book is. All these challenges can be solved with this book Prey by Michael Crichton. I initially chose this book on a recommendation from my dad. He had just recently read it and said it was an extraordinary book. Unfortunately, I wasn¿t very keen on reading a 300 odd page book however I was looking for something enticing and something I was interested in. He had recommended this book before but I had put the idea aside. Finally we were assigned an independent reading assignment, so I said ¿Ah, why not,¿ and I picked it up and started to read. Ever since then, I haven¿t been able to put the book down. If you¿re a person that¿s interested in today¿s technology and science this is definitely a book for you. This is a realistically based fiction of technology and modern science with a bit of romance. Jack Forman, a currently unemployed programmer is assigned the position of ¿house dad¿ and he¿s doing a heck of a job, but when things start going awry with his hard working wife Julia, he starts to suspect she¿s having an affair in Townsend 2 the office. She works at Xymos Technology, one of the leading technology distributors in the Silicon Valley. Jack is hired as a consultant to Xymos and takes a trip out to the companies¿ fabrication building. He is surprised to find out they are currently programming nanotechnology as a military weapon. After they get the technology advanced enough, the nano- bots begin to learn from experience and think on the spot. This ends up as a terrible outcome and could mean the end of human civilization as we know it. Crichton has done a magnificent job with his descriptive sci-fi action writing It really makes you think you¿re in the story so much, that it¿s scary. Though Prey is a great read, I would suggest limits and restrictions. It should be noted that if you are influenced by harsh language, this book is definitely not for you. There are feelings expressed in language that normally would not be accepted as polite or even correct for that matter. Also, there is slight sexual content but nothing to be alarmed about. Other than that, this book is a fantastic read and should be taken into consideration next time you¿re looking for a book worth your while. Prey is for those interested in today¿s modern science and technology, and for those looking for a good book. I recommend this book if you are looking for a good action adventure and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. But be careful, to be human¿is to be hunted.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

Had to skim through several pages of technical mumbo jumbo that didn't seem to be key to the story. Much of the story line was good and definitely held my interest but overall a disappointment.

posted by SailorJan on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    This is classic Michael Crichton at his best.

    Keeps you in suspense for the entire read. Don't know much about nanotechnology, but the implicantions are frightful, if maybe unrealistic in this book. If you like suspense, this is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At his point in his career Michael Crichton had become a cliche.

    At his point in his career Michael Crichton had become a cliche. Average at best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    storyline kept me reading

    You're right. Couldn't put it down till I finished, but all the science stuff passed over often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    SUSPENSEFUL BUT TOO TECHNICAL

    I really enjoyed most of this novel. It was very suspenseful and I could picture such a failed experiment going wrong with all the rapid advances in science and technology. However, several chapters of the novel were filled with nano-technology, computer gobblety-goop ~ that unless you're an MIT graduate or a computer programmer, it's very difficult to understand (And I'm pretty good with computers). Too much jargon instead of writing it in laypersons language. For that reason I gave it 3 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Typical Michael Crichton. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Borrow from the library

    CD/abridged/Science Fiction: This book takes place over the course of a few days. The what if scenario in this one is nano-particles gaining intelligence and trying to take over humanity. I felt the book was weak and had several shortcomings. After just finishing Timeline, which was engrossing, I say borrow it from a library. The narrator does a fine job, but the whole story was missing something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Ok

    This was an okay and predictable book. It was slow at times. I would only purchase it if it is on sale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    preview for 'Prey'

    Prey By: Michael Crichton The book ¿Prey¿ would be classified as a science-fiction, man vs. creation. The major theme of this book would be survival of the fittest. New technology has allowed man to create A.I. or artificial intelligence. The creation consisted of millions of microscopic Nanobots that form together to create a ¿swarm¿ with the help of a computer technique called ¿predator/prey.¿ The technique allowed the swarm to react to its¿ surroundings and essentially, evolve, although there seems to be a huge flaw in the system. The Nanobots are rapidly evolving and are beginning to attack humans like they¿re the prey. The main character of the story is Jack Forman. Jack is a middle aged man who had just been fired from his job as a supervisor in a new technology department researching predator/prey instincts and connecting computer science with biology. He decides to become a stay at home father after being denied from all of his other job applications. Jacks wife, Julia Forman, is around the same age as Jack and is pretty good looking for her age. She has brown hair, hazel eyes, slender and is in great shape. Julia works for the government creating the new technology and is basically the main income of the family. The setting takes place far out in a remote part of the Mojave Desert in a giant building. This story could possibly take place some where else but it would dramatically change the story. The reason for this is because the new Nanobots that Julia and her colleges have created were set loose by accident and could not be controlled. The Nanobots begin to attack the wild life and people around the facility, restricting the workers from going outside. Now had this story taken place in the middle of a city then there would be a lot more drama and a lot more killing. It would be more like a horror story rather than science-fiction. Michael Crichton does a great job at making this story suspenseful. The beginning of the book tells about a normal man with a normal family when all of a sudden strange things start to happen. His youngest daughter turns to a dangerous tint of blue and is screaming bloody murder but as soon as she is sent to the hospital for and MRI scan, the strange problem instantly goes away. The doctors could not explain the event. Examples like this are set all across the plot of the story, leaving you constantly guessing without knowing till the end. Over all, this story was about a 6 on a scale of 10. The story¿s plot left you wanting to read more but as soon as it got towards the end it kind of fell apart. This is the kind of typical book that turns into a movie. It has lots of action and plenty of suspense. I would suggest this book to anyone out there willing to read a good action packed book but only if you are willing to read a good 500 pages. Lastly, don¿t seem intimidated by the amount of pages there are. The book is at a 9th grade reading level.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Crichton's back?!

    Prey, like many of author Michael Crichton's better efforts, is a tale of cutting-edge science succumbing to corporate greed. A nanotechnology firm has developed a new advanced application in the field, but they've let it get out of control and our unlikely hero has to save the day. With Crichton, you know what you're getting: the meticulous research of a master's thesis wedded to an unlikely plot populated with throwaway characters. At least the plot moves along at a rapid clip, and it will keep you reading -- if there is one literary device Crichton has mastered, it is the cliffhanger. Prey is a better, more interesting and readable effort than his last three books, Disclosure (better than the insipid movie, but still...), Airframe (not even good enough to make into a movie -- one of the only Crichton books about which that claim may be made) and especially Timeline (the stench of that one is going to linger for a long time). Literary types know better than to come near this kryptonite, but the rest of us will get a few kicks out of Prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Crichton's (On His Way) Back!?!

    Like many of Crichton's better books, Prey is a cautionary tale about science run amok, in which a nanotechnology firm develops a sentient 'swarm' of nanoparticles that it can't control. As usual in Crichton's books, corporate greed and short-sighted management (is there any other kind?) are the true villans. Crichton explains in (sometimes too much) detail the world of nanotechnology and the potential benefits and, obviously, disasters that could come from this field. With Crichton books, you know what you are going to get: meticulous research which supports a bare-bones (and usually far-fetched) plot populated by throw-away characters who are indistinguishable from each other except for their forgettable names. At least he keeps the plot moving (the one literary device Crichton has mastered is the Cliffhanger), and in Prey he has found a subject matter interesting enough to keep readers involved, but if you can't see most of the plot twists coming a mile away, it's time to see an Optometrist. Prey is not great, but it's OK, and it's much better than his previous three disappointments: Disclosure, Airframe and Timeline (a true stink-bomb worthy of note as perhaps Crichton's worst book ever). Literary types know better than to come near this Kryptonite, but Prey will keep best-selling thriller fans occupied until John Grisham's next hack-fest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Entertaining

    Probably would have given this one a higher score if Michael Crichton hadn't raised the bar so high with works like Jurassic Park and Sphere. Prey certainly doesn't fail where interesting new technology is concerned (Nanotechnology) but the plot is little inconsitent and for whatever reason, told in first person perspective. The book will entertain and I suppose that really is the goal of any novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    A Dissapointement, for me and Chrichton Fans

    The book was a great book. I loved the suspence and what was happening and the plot line, but the last 15 or so pages of the book was some of the worst, rushed writing. If you want to read this book..skip the last chapter. And like I always say in my reviews, It could not beat Jurassic Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    makes you wonder could it happpen

    Jack foreman was a programmer who lost his job at Silicon Valley. He has become a stay at home dad. Julia foreman and her biotec team at Xymos are using a program that her husband created. The Xymos team have a programming problem and they bring Jack in. By the time Jack joins the team the nano-particles have evolved and started reproducing some where in the desert. These swarms start to kill anything that moves in the desert, even humans. So jack's new job is to find and destroy the swarms. Over all I think the book was good but not great. I would recommend it to anyone who is in to science fiction books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    a reviewer

    The book is very intresting in the beginging but after he goes to the lab the book becomes extremly hard to understand. The characters weren't really believable and the ending was really dissapointing although i do really love how they finally find out how to stop the experiment. The ending just keeps you wondering if they really did stop the experiment and what happens in their lives afterward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Not to bad.

    I bought this book when it first came out in hardback. I thought this would be one of Crichton's best books, but I was a little disappointed. The book was slow and the characters wearn't that believeable. The book got better at the end ,but I think it would be better if you went out and check it out of a library or by Timeline or Jurassic Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Not his greatest, but okay overall

    My biology class required us to read this book this quarter. I'm the only student to have finished thus far, and I must say I was disappointed. Micheal Crichton is a wonderful author, thinking outside of the box. He brings truth to the modern-day, scientific discoveries. He shines the light on the fact that it could be more destructive than helpful, and that we could eventually destroy ourselves. he did do so with this book, but pulled the ending off very poorly. I will try not to go into main details, but I might slip. The book is divided into three, what I call 'Big Chapters', titled 'Home', 'Nest', and 'Prey' then divided further into 'Sub-Chapters' with dates and times. 'Home' and most of 'Nest' I enjoyed. I liked the suspenseful buildup, long and windy plot. I enjoy those, though many might not. However, as you get into the last bit of 'Nest' and all of 'Prey' it becomes dull and uninteresting. The way it ended was horrible; I felt like I was reading a bad action movie script. (I was even listening to this cool techno/rock CD that matched perfectly.) How a book ends is this most important thing, because that's the feeling readers are left with. When there's a bad ending, there's a bad feeling. Overall, a good read. It was sent to the publisher too soon, but my time was not wasted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Definitely not his best work.

    The science is sound enough as a basis for the novel, but Crichton seems almost irrationally worried about what could come of it. The entire book, then, serves as a vehicle for his main character to both educate us about the technical stuff and lecture us about humanity's knack for screwing up, even as his plot relies on humanity's other knack of getting itself out in the knick of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    it was ok but...

    I like the overall effect this story has on the mind when reading it. Looking at how man could eventually invent his way to his own doom is terrifying, because this stuff could actually happen. But Crichton went a little too far into detail about the mechanics and technical aspect of the concept of nanotechnology. It just took a lot away from the story. I either got confused or bored with reading the repetitive rambling about the computer stuff. Okay we get it already, on with the story please... I thought the foreward, or wherever the section was in the book, was sufficient enough to explain what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Waste of Time !!

    After reading Dan Brown's books I was very disappointed with this book. The story was dragged all along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Disappointed

    I gotta say this one let me down. Usually Crichton's ideas alone are good enough to overcome any kind of chracter or dialog letdown but this one just didn't work. The swarm idea became a little far-fetched and the characters were downright silly. Not near the tension or suspense of some of his past work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4