Customer Reviews for

Prey (Shifters Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(256)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy the latest werecat enforcer thriller as the stakes have gotten much higher with claws open and pointed at everyone.

Werecat enforcer Faythe Sanders and her Pride are in Atlanta escorting were-tabby Manx to her hearing. While there she runs into hunter partner and lover Marc Ramos, who was exiled from their pride. They barely purr hi to each other when strays attacked them. Both ar...
Werecat enforcer Faythe Sanders and her Pride are in Atlanta escorting were-tabby Manx to her hearing. While there she runs into hunter partner and lover Marc Ramos, who was exiled from their pride. They barely purr hi to each other when strays attacked them. Both are fortunate to survive. Before they can get a second purr together, Faythe is ordered home to deal with teenage tabby Kaci Dillon who refuses to shift; which is suicidal to a were.

Faythe makes some headway with stubborn Kaci when she learns Marc was abducted and probably killed based on the blood at the crime scene. Faythe believes she would know if her mate is dead so with her new partner Parker begins a quest to find and rescue Marc. They soon uncover a conspiracy challenging her father's alpha authority by insidious means, werecat civil war seems imminent.

The latest Faythe urban fantasy (see PRIDE, STRAY and ROGUE) is a terrific entry as the heroine tells the tale of being yanked in several directions at the same time so that she feels she never finishes anything (including quality time with Marc) to the level she expects of herself. The story line is fast-paced from the onset and Faythe is a wonderful center of gravity. Fans will enjoy the latest werecat enforcer thriller as the stakes have gotten much higher with claws open and pointed at everyone.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Natural Progression

The story picked up after the characters have had time to adjust to the changes thrust upon them in the prior book. Then it throws a series of curve balls, which gives everyone somethink to do and hold your attention. Faith is, of course, in the thick of most of it, thi...
The story picked up after the characters have had time to adjust to the changes thrust upon them in the prior book. Then it throws a series of curve balls, which gives everyone somethink to do and hold your attention. Faith is, of course, in the thick of most of it, thinking along with the reader: why is this happening, where is it going, is someone really this ambitious/crazy/desperate? And you're left with enough answers to leave you sane and enough questions still to make the next book not optional, you must see what comes next.

posted by dgd on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book did not disappoint.

    Like the rest of the books in this series I loved it. I really like the characters and the way the author tells the story. It is fast paced and exciting. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it changes everything.

    Pride and Prey are pretty high on the ratings, but i think rachel vincent's latest: Prey kinda blows Pride out of the water. there was so much going on!!!it was definitely a great book, and leaves you on a cliffhanger. cannot wait for Shift and Alpha which will definitely sate your appetite for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Natural Progression

    The story picked up after the characters have had time to adjust to the changes thrust upon them in the prior book. Then it throws a series of curve balls, which gives everyone somethink to do and hold your attention. Faith is, of course, in the thick of most of it, thinking along with the reader: why is this happening, where is it going, is someone really this ambitious/crazy/desperate? And you're left with enough answers to leave you sane and enough questions still to make the next book not optional, you must see what comes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    best of the faythe shifter series so far!

    this was by far the best of the series so far. the plot was thrilling and the suspense had me read the book in one sitting. great characters and story and i even cried at the end. i can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    They Keep Getting Better!

    What's it about?

    After being separated for nine weeks Faythe and Marc finally get to see each other again. Except while traveling through the free territory they (as well as Ethan, Vic, Manx, Baby Des, and stray Dan Painter) are ambushed by a massive group of strays working together. They make it out injured but alive, and continue on their way to take Manx to her trial. After returning home, Faythe and her family learn that Marc is missing. Not only does Faythe need to find Marc and fast, but her pride is under attack by Calvin Malone. The council member who had a hand in Marc being exiled in the first place, and Faythe's father losing his role as leader of the territorial council.

    Finding Marc is one thing, but Faythe also has to help raise Kaci, whose health is spiraling downword, and help Manx with her newly born son. All while trying to deal with her love life, being an enforcer, and making decisions no matter how right or wrong they may be.

    What did I think?

    Prey is an excellent follow up to Pride. The series only gets better the farther along we get into it. This one is intense and you can feel all the emotion that went into writing it. Rachel Vincent does a terrific job of writing believable story lines that make the reader care about this Pride as if it were their own family. You just want to reach out and help them or fight with them. Although Marc is missing through most of the story his presence is still felt in Faythe's thoughts and actions she takes to get him back. Her brother Ethan and fellow enforcer Jace play huge roles in this one, and Jace shows so much growth and potential for greatness. I always worry about political issues in books because they tend to be overwhelming, overly worked, and boring. But the politics in Prey are concisely written, and definitely have you rooting for Faythe and her family.

    I have to stay as far as consistency in series, Rachel Vincent is a winner with her Werecats. I expect many great new releases from her, and look forward to diving in when they are available.

    I'd also just like to add that...it has been a LONG time since I've sat through a book and cried like a little baby. Well played Rachel...well played.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy the latest werecat enforcer thriller as the stakes have gotten much higher with claws open and pointed at everyone.

    Werecat enforcer Faythe Sanders and her Pride are in Atlanta escorting were-tabby Manx to her hearing. While there she runs into hunter partner and lover Marc Ramos, who was exiled from their pride. They barely purr hi to each other when strays attacked them. Both are fortunate to survive. Before they can get a second purr together, Faythe is ordered home to deal with teenage tabby Kaci Dillon who refuses to shift; which is suicidal to a were.

    Faythe makes some headway with stubborn Kaci when she learns Marc was abducted and probably killed based on the blood at the crime scene. Faythe believes she would know if her mate is dead so with her new partner Parker begins a quest to find and rescue Marc. They soon uncover a conspiracy challenging her father's alpha authority by insidious means, werecat civil war seems imminent.

    The latest Faythe urban fantasy (see PRIDE, STRAY and ROGUE) is a terrific entry as the heroine tells the tale of being yanked in several directions at the same time so that she feels she never finishes anything (including quality time with Marc) to the level she expects of herself. The story line is fast-paced from the onset and Faythe is a wonderful center of gravity. Fans will enjoy the latest werecat enforcer thriller as the stakes have gotten much higher with claws open and pointed at everyone.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Prey by: Rachel Vincent

    This book was a huge page turner from beginning to end. I had tons of trouble putting it down every time I had to. For a more indepth review either watch the video review on youtube channel booknerd1993 or go to my review tumblr gypsewritter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Pretty much from the get go you are in for quite a ride in thi



    Pretty much from the get go you are in for quite a ride in this instalment in the Shifter series.


    This book is quite sad in places, like I mean...real...sad!


    Rachel snuck this up on me and I just didn’t see it coming. I was reading and then I was like.....*sniffle, blows nose* Two words just break your heart....*sob*


    Very sad.


    Tequila, Tequila, Tequila......not good to partake in when emotions are raw, not when you are swigging straight from the bottle. Nothing good can come of Tequila straight up.


    Rachel is quite brutal with some of her characters in this book.


    You really see Faythe taking control of the Pride and making decisions , showing she is Alpha material. She also shows us that underneath her stubbornness not to bend to the wills of the male cats, she has this nurturing side. Kaci is like a sister to Faythe and she won’t give up on her.


    There is action, lust, love, betrayal, several ‘stinky dead fish slaps" needed to be issued. Sad, sad moments, grief, sweet moments, the law has spoken, hope, loss and just keep the tissue box close by. I recommend man size tissues.


    Ms. Vincent doesn’t hold back, she writes to bring you to your knees with sadness. This book does leave a little bit of it inside you when you have finished. It also leaves you with this big question mark over what Faythe has done. Oh the complication she has just added to her life.

    Thank goodness I have ‘Shift’ ready to crack open because I think it will be a hell of a ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!!

    Excellent book which is packed with action. I could not put the book down. The author acquired and held my attention the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vincent Rocks!

    As the series continues, I find myself even more and more invested in the characters and their plights! Not only are the characters great, but I find the plot progressive and interesting as well. Each book is even better than the last, and I must say it is one of the best paranormal romances I've read in a long while. If you enjoyed this series, I bet you would also like "Moon Called" by Patricia Briggs, "Blue Moon" by Lori Handeland, "Full Moon Rising" by Keri Arthur, "Dead Witch Walking" by Kim Harrison, and "Magic to the Bone" by Devin Monk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved books with a strong female lead.. as another author put it "rather it end on a whale then a whimper"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a TWIST!!

    Where do I begin? So much went on in this book that I cannot seem to wrap my head around it all. Marc ends up getting abducted towards the beginning of the book and his trail of blood in his house leads Faythe and a couple of other pride toms on a wild chase to find him before it's too late. Meanwhile the sh*t hits the fan as Faythe's father tries to keep Malone at bay from overthrowing him on the council and booting him as Alpha. That isn't even everything but what fun would it be if I spoiled everything?

    Like I said above, this book was jam packed. I could not seem to put this book down because every time I tried, I would pick it back up a few minutes later. The detail that Rachel portrays in her novels just blows me away. I can picture everything clearly in my mind with no problems, even the partial shifts.

    The closeness of the family is still front and center. Even Kaci seems to be becoming part of the family and is comfortable around Ethan and Jace. With the tragedy at hand they all come together to help find Marc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Great series

    My only issue is that i could predict a lot of stuff....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Bloody Brilliant: Vincent is a Freak of Nature

    SHIFTERS series by Rachel Vincent. The first book, STRAY, blew me away. It was bloody brilliant. The second book, ROGUE, left me breathless for weeks. But the third, PRIDE, had me crying like a baby. Crying. Real tears. That's only happened three times before when I was reading HARRY POTTER, 13 REASONS WHY, and the NIGHT HUNTRESS series. PREY knocked me for a loop. Rachel Vincent is a freak of nature and outstandingly one of the brightest authors out there! She's a star in my sky. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    *

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 1, 2011

    As good as the last

    But with, i think, more action and an amazing twist ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked...

    LOVE THE ENTIRE SERIES!! WISH THERE WERE MORE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Wow Wow Wow

    I smiled and cried and nearly threw the book across the room. My second favorite Shifters book. It NEEDS to be read. It's begging you to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    prey review

    this by far is rachel vincents best! im dieing for the next one! rachel vincent has once again got me traped inside the shifters serries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    OK, I'm not gonna lie... about 2/3 of the way through I was cursing Mrs. Vincent to the high heavens swearing that she "better make it up to me!" But in the end, she did. This book broke the formula that the previous 3 had started to fall into, and for that I thank her. It also broke the formula of only having minor characters die (but no spoilers here, you'll NEVER guess who it is! MWA-HA-HA!) So although my heart was breaking a little all the while, the story line was great and ...moreOK, I'm not gonna lie... about 2/3 of the way through I was cursing Mrs. Vincent to the high heavens swearing that she "better make it up to me!" But in the end, she did. This book broke the formula that the previous 3 had started to fall into, and for that I thank her. It also broke the formula of only having minor characters die (but no spoilers here, you'll NEVER guess who it is! MWA-HA-HA!) So although my heart was breaking a little all the while, the story line was great and I enjoyed every moment of it that wasn't making me tear up. I was starting to think I could always predict her twists, but there were a few here that caught me off guard. Vincent does a great job of starting up the plot that will be the main focus of the next book, as well as having tiny cliff hangers that while having me giddy with anticipation, do not leave me feeling like there was something she didn't wrap up or left hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20