Customer Reviews for

Priceless

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Truly Priceless!!!!

    This book was an amazing read, I couldn't put it down, read it in two days flat. Eye opening, riveting, challenging, and devastating. Once you have read this, you will be motivated to do something! And Tom Davis provides information and ways to do this, thankfully. Tom Davis is not only an amazing writer, but he is a man on a mission, with a mission. Children's HopeChest is a great organization, helping those that we read about in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read It!

    This is not just your average adventure story, although it has all the elements. It's for anyone seeking to go deeper- outside of their comfort zone and into the real world. This novel will open your eyes, and challenge you to step up and make a difference in a world that is dark and hurting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This book's title says it all. Priceless: A novel on the edge of the world. The story it contains is one of a horrific life for millions of children each day. Although we hardly ever hear about sex trafficking and sex slaves here in America, this book opened my eyes to the injustice that is happening right under our noses. The plot captured me in the first chapter. Tom Davis' writing style puts you in the action, although at some times, I wanted to close my eyes and skip past some of the scenes, but knowing that these things are going on RIGHT NOW made continue through it. This is a touching story, one that shows us that no matter where we are in life, someone else needs us to be brave for them, to risk everything for them. This is what Stuart had to do in this book. Although he had a wife and a young daughter at home, this one girl's life was priceless, and that is how God sees us. It reminded me that each day is a gift and each day I should make the choice to be someone's "Stuart," and be the one to help bring them out of their circumstances. After reading this book, I had to purchase the one before it, Scared, and am excited to see what else is in store for our friend, Stuart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Tom's first book Scared was good, but his second book Priceless is incredible! Though it is a novel in format the truths he brings forth are so revealing and heart wrenching. You can't read this book and remain unmoved. At times I had to put down the book and let what I had just read sink in. Other times, I had to read out loud to my husband passages that moved me to tears, only to see him moved to tears. Many times, I ended up in sobs, crying for the girls in the story, crying for my girls, whom I adopted as teens from Eastern Europe. This could have been their story. Tom's writings were so descriptive that I felt like I just jumped into the book and was involved myself. I felt as if I were in those scenes with the characters. I think every emotion I own rose up within me as I read this book. I cried with them, felt their pain and spewed angrily at the thugs. I cheered the girls on and rejoiced when they were found or rescued. I gasped, I prayed, I held my breath.
    The beauty of redemption, love and sacrifice are wonderfully portrayed in this book.
    I think Everyone needs to read this book. I've heard comments,when I've tried to tell other, about the book, I just can't read a book like that. I think everyone HAS to read a book like this. We can no longer ignore evil and let our children die. The Church has to step in and save them. - Melissa Carter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eye Opening & Chilling

    I'm thankful to have received a review copy of this captivating, surreal, suspenseful book that could have been ripped out of today's headlines. It was horrific to think the topic of this book is real and happening in current time. Although the story concentrates on the sex-trafficking business in Russia, this unthinkable industry is thriving world wide. Tom Davis states in his book Russian girls are taken and sent out of their country with promises of going to America, to enjoy the good life. Only one catch, they do go to American but end up in some of the booming sex-trafficking places such as Atlanta, Dallas and Seattle.

    You might be tempted not to read this book because of the subject matter and the fact that it might make you feel uncomfortable. It's not easy to read about little girls being promised one thing and forced into another. My heart ached for these dear ones as these evil doers promised them the moon, only to get sold into a lifestyle of no return. The only way out was death.

    Stuart Daniels returns in this book and is sent on another job. Stuart agrees to go to Russia because he feels this assignment is not as life threatening as the one he went to in Africa (in the last book Scared). After meeting his contacts in Russia, he's whisked into an unthinkable mission - one he can't turn down - not after having his world turned upside down in Africa, after meeting Adanna.

    "Adanna may not have meant much to many in this world. But meeting her was the beginning of life for me. It changed the way I saw God. It changed the direction of my life. She taught me that the small things I do matter. My decisions today can save a life tomorrow."

    I believe I've been disturbed to the core of my being while reading this book and I hope that you are gloriously disturbed too. Just as bothered as Stuart was when he met Adanna. Troubled in such a way it moves you into action and keeps you from turning your eyes and pretending this isn't happening to innocent children every day. Stuart Daniel's describes Adanna (above), a child he met in Africa who rocked his world, I pray your world is rocked as mine was and you begin to tell others about this novel and its message in hopes of bringing awareness to this global disturbance - a disturbance of epic proportions. Author Tom Davis lists ways we can get involved here in the states and overseas in the back of Priceless. He gives practical ways for us to love our neighbor as ourselves and shine the hope these children desperately need. Be Jesus' hands and feet! I believe Priceless is a must read novel for everyone.

    Nora St.Laurent
    The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking yet fast-paced and loaded with action

    Photojournalist Stuart Daniels found purpose and faith when he helped an African orphan (see Scared). Now he heads to Russia on his latest project. There his friend Katya asks him to say yes when someone calls him at his hotel room offering him a girl; she also says she will explain further.

    However, Stuart soon learns that the orphan child he met on his last stay in Russia is in trouble. Human traffickers are selling Marina Smolchenko to the highest bidder in a sex slave auction. His efforts to rescue Marina lead him to freedom fighter Katya who risks her life to liberate the sex slaves. His faith in the Lord is reduced with his observation of humanity's cruelty and he wonders how God can allow this to happen to the innocent.

    Like Stuart on his latest journey, readers will be stunned with what happens to people sold like commodities by human traffickers (Mr. Davis states 27 million with 1 million under eighteen years of age). The lead protagonist and the audience will ask why God allows such atrocities to occur while readers will also wonder if Stuart will rescue Marina and the others, and regain his faith. Thought provoking yet fast-paced and loaded with action, Priceless is not an easy read as this is Marina's profound shocking tale and the story of her "sisters" sold as sex slaves to wealthy clients around the globe (including Americans).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Priceless...painful in a good way, beautiful, realistic, heart-wrenching.

    I suppose I should admit my biases from the start. I know the Author. I know his heart. I've worked alongside him and his ministry in Swaziland. I've seen sex trafficking in Thailand, in Cambodia, and I've lived in Eastern Europe. What happens in this book, even though it's a work of fiction, is true.

    The "fictional" characters in Priceless are real to me. I recognized their names and their stories. I knew when I picked-up the book where it was going and still I was captured by the storyline and swept away into a culture and world I love (Eastern Europe).

    The story itself is engaging and exciting. It would make a great action movie! There's a reluctant hero, damsels-in-distress, genuine heroines, really evil bad guys and petty thugs (man have I seen a LOT of chain smoking, crew cut, men-in-black mafia type guys in Eastern Europe!!). If you've never been to Russia or a former Soviet country then you'll be transported there through the accurate pictures that Tom paints with his words.

    Finally- as if the story wasn't good enough to stand on it's own- this novel is a call to action and maybe a call to arms. If you read the book, put it down, and go about your life without joining the fight against modern day slavery, then you've "enjoyed" a good tale but missed the point. Of course, I recommend you read the book. And then pass it along to others. Buy copies for your friends and church and local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1