Customer Reviews for

Pride (Shifters Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Werecats

    This was a pretty interesting delve into the world of werecats. Rachel Vincent does a great job in this shape shifting tale. I love the way that she writes dialogue -- it's very authentic and doesn't seem at all "forced." A lot of other writers could take some notes from her. I also liked that the book was NOT predictable -- at all. It kept me guessing until the end. Overall a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The story just keeps getting better

    Pride picks up right where Rogue left off. Faythe is on trial for not only infecting but killing her ex-boyfriend. While on trial a series of events occur leading the trial a little off course while they deal with the new situation.

    I love how fast the story moved. You not only had the trial taking place with Faythe's life hanging in the balance but the falling out of Marc and Faythe, the stray attacks in the woods and the introduction of a new tabby. This installment in the series is definitely a page turner. I really liked the whole story behind the new tabby but again, the whole family aspect really shines through. There are a lot of times where Faythe points out how strong her father is and how proud she is of him. I cannot wait to read the next installment in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Continues Well...

    I am a fan of the characters in this series; I find them interesting and memorable. The plot in this one was a bit slow going, but I like the way the author writes well enough that a slower pace doesn't bother me much. Overall, this is a great series to keep paranormal romance readers engaged, and I'm very much looking forward to seeing what happens next! If you like this series, you might also like "Full Moon Rising" by Keri Arthur, "Dead Witch Walking" by Kim Harrison, "Grimspace" by Ann Aguirre, "Moon Called" by Keri Arthur, and "Blue Moon" by Lori Handeland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I really liked this book. The plot was varied from the previous books in this series and there were good new character additions. Whereas in the last book I commented on how great it was because my stomach was in knots... this one may have gone a little overboard. I wasn't sure if it was good or bad that I was on the edge of seat the entire time and thought it may have had a little too much drama. Give the girl an effen break! That being said, I also wasn't a huge fan of all the political scheming, that at times got a little dull and annoying. Although it was well done and relevant (even necessary) to the story, it's just not my favorite thing in real life or in a book. So while I've lost a bit of that 'beginning of a new relationship' feel that makes me stay up till 2 a.m. reading and speeding to the next book in the series, I still love the characters and the world and will be starting #4 next (just with slightly less fervor).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    Better than the first two!

    The first book was good and the second, this third got me very interested! It seems the more you read the better it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    pride!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book soooo much that i cant wait to read the 6th book. I love faythe and marc and all the charaters. IF you want to read this book you have to buy it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rachel Vincent has a winning series here

    Can I just say, I am really glad I'm not a were cat! I don't think I could survive! The series is terrific though, really keeps your intrest if you like the supernatural. There is a little bit for everyone, personal conflict, romance, fights, power plays, politics, the whole ball of wax! My only real complaint is that Ms Vincent can't really write fast enough. Included is an epic struggle for dominance that effects numerous people. Love and its many struggles, including love between family members, friends and lovers. Plus the personal struggle of individuals to be better people, leaders and weres.
    Ms Vincent keeps the books interesting with its many plots and sub plots, individual and group struggles and conflicts. The books are fast paced, well written and terrific reads. This whole series is worth reading there is so much going on in them I almost feel disappointment when I'm done with the book because I don't have the next one ready to be picked up and enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series, but this book got a little stale

    I understand that Rachel had some loose ends to tie up such as Faythe's trial but I really felt that this book repeated to many things from the first book such as Faythe's relationship with the new tabby. (Which I am guessing is supposed to elude to her motherhood instincts because in Stray she is also very protective of her young cousin)

    The character development of Faythe is slow, this is the first book and I haven't seen alot of change in her character. She is still a little bratty and tough as nails. At least she is finally admitting her feelings for Mark.

    Faythe's relationship with Mark is the only reason I am hooked on the series. I would like to see more of Jace too.

    Overall, the series is absolutely worth reading. It is an original theme and Rachel's style of writing is interesting and catching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book was well written.

    The characters are easy to get involved in. The lead character is a girl who despite disadvantages still wants to be an enforcer for her family. She gets into trouble in the earlier two books and is on trial for them in this book. However trouble seems to find her even though she is under guard while awaiting trial. Another young tabby is found and with it brings toms from outside the prides. The toms attack for the young tabby. By the end of the book there have been startling discoveries and many twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Series continues to do Vincent proud

    Rachel Vincent continues her shape shifting series with book 3. I'm enjoying these a lot. Her heroine is impulsive but learning. I'm looking forward to book 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pride is the third book in this series.

    The story itself is interesting and again builds on the first two, Stray and Rogue. It is a story of a girl who lives in the US, and who is rebelling against the patriarchy of her nation. The nation, however, is an undercover one of werecats. She is a person who stands out and does not allow the men of the nation to rule her life. It helps that her father is the leader of the nation and understands that she is not going to become as the other tabbies. In this story she is being tried for accidently shifting and changing her boyfriend and then killing him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series!

    Pride is the third book in Rachel Vincent's werecat series and like the ones before it, it begins in the middle of a mess and ends with the characters looking forward to the next challenge.<BR/> <BR/>Faythe Saunders is on trial for accidentally infecting her ex-boyfriend and being forced to kill him in self defense. There are three judges and two of them have problems with her father's liberal choices in running his pride--like his decision to let Faythe be the first female enforcer ever. The job that finally pulled Faythe into feeling like her pride valued her for more than the (potential) contents of her uterus is why she encountered her ex in the first place. As for the third judge in her trial, well, her uncle is technically on her side, but even he doesn't believe she can partial shift, which means he's not convinced that the infection was an accident at all.<BR/><BR/>However, the trial for Faythe's life is put on pause when Elias Keller, a bruin (werebear) who cares for the neutral land that the prides have gathered in for Faythe's trial, storms in angry at all the cats causing trouble on his land. The pride cats and Elias quickly put two and two together, realizing that not only are the mysterious noisy werecats not from any of the visiting prides, but they're probably also responsible for the two missing hikers the humans in the area are searching for. Things continue to grow more tangled when Elias brings in a tabby cat he believes to be Faythe, but in fact is a thirteen year old girl no one's ever heard of before.<BR/><BR/>Faythe has to prove herself useful, out maneuver one of the judges who is plotting not just against Faythe but also against her father and save the girl, from her past and the future the old fashioned alphas want to manipulate her into.<BR/><BR/>Even though this is part of a running series it would be easy enough for new readers to pick up the story, and the world, so far. Despite it's size Pride is fast paced with lots of action, both emotional and fight scenes. And unlike a lot of other urban fantasies that feature kick ass heroines, in this one the drive Faythe feels to be recognized and respected as a real person, not just a breeder, is integrated to the plot, as is the gender skewed world view that fuels Faythe's fight. Pride is definitely recommended, especially to women who are tired of princesses who need to be saved or women who's sole purpose is to be swept off their feet, impregnated and plopped into a Donna Reed role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pride by Rachel Vincent Review

    Overall i would say it is definatly a good read. The begining started off strong and exciting but after a while lost its stride. i wouldnt necessarily say its the best of the three though. it felt like at the end that it left something to be desired or a more final ending. It most absoultly kept me reading but wasnt a suspenseful. It was easy to guess what was happening next or who the bad guy was. I would reccomd this book but only to someone who likes the genre. And that you read 'Stray' and 'Rogue' first so you understand better. Otherwise it would be very confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Good Book!

    Stray and Rogue were both exceptionally good books that left you wanting to read the next one. Now that Pride is out and we learn more about Faythe, what happens now? Is is over or is there a next book? Very good overall and has you begging for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6