BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pride Mates (Shifters Unbound Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 517 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The key to the first Shifters Unbound romantic urban fantasy is the belief that the world of Jennifer Ashley exists

In Shifterstown in the Austin area, human attorney Kim Fraser is defending shifter Brian Smith from the charge of murdering his human girlfriend. Brian is the first shifter she ever met though their existence has been known for two decades. Like mots humans, she assum...
In Shifterstown in the Austin area, human attorney Kim Fraser is defending shifter Brian Smith from the charge of murdering his human girlfriend. Brian is the first shifter she ever met though their existence has been known for two decades. Like mots humans, she assumed shifters were beasts who needed collars to keep them from going berserk. In spite of her fears of shifters being violent bogey-beasts, she believes her client is innocent; so she comes to Shifterstown to obtain the help of the go to shifters the Morrisey brood; father Dylan and brothers Liam and Sean.

Liam informs Kim that Brian never came to him so why should he help him. Kim explains she got the short straw as the junior lawyer, but believes Brian is innocent because the collar prevents violent crime. She also says the prosecution, cops, and judge have not played fair and her client has given up, but she has not. Although he has doubts about getting involved because of his attraction to the brave lawyer who came alone, Liam is forced to intervene when a shifter without a collar threatens Kim's life.

The key to the first Shifters Unbound romantic urban fantasy is the belief that the world of Jennifer Ashley exists; especially the racism with parallels to America as humans even those who never met a shifter believe they are deadly animals needing control. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the feisty lawyer challenges the powerful shifter and never slows down as love and the law clash in what is a terrific tale of people's rights and dignities.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I liked it....BUT

I just finished reading Pride Mates. The book is about a subject that has been written about many times. Jennifer Ashley does a very nice job of adding her twist to the shifter subject. I really liked the topic of the book.....but the story itself fell short. The ma...
I just finished reading Pride Mates. The book is about a subject that has been written about many times. Jennifer Ashley does a very nice job of adding her twist to the shifter subject. I really liked the topic of the book.....but the story itself fell short. The main characters meet, mate, and bond in as little as a few days. Ok I am a true romantic at heart but this really annoyed me. The importance of a bonded mate was also down played. This actually made me sort of sad. I felt the story was rushed. The plot was great but the trip from start to finish left me feeling deflated.

posted by lmferguson on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The key to the first Shifters Unbound romantic urban fantasy is the belief that the world of Jennifer Ashley exists

    In Shifterstown in the Austin area, human attorney Kim Fraser is defending shifter Brian Smith from the charge of murdering his human girlfriend. Brian is the first shifter she ever met though their existence has been known for two decades. Like mots humans, she assumed shifters were beasts who needed collars to keep them from going berserk. In spite of her fears of shifters being violent bogey-beasts, she believes her client is innocent; so she comes to Shifterstown to obtain the help of the go to shifters the Morrisey brood; father Dylan and brothers Liam and Sean.

    Liam informs Kim that Brian never came to him so why should he help him. Kim explains she got the short straw as the junior lawyer, but believes Brian is innocent because the collar prevents violent crime. She also says the prosecution, cops, and judge have not played fair and her client has given up, but she has not. Although he has doubts about getting involved because of his attraction to the brave lawyer who came alone, Liam is forced to intervene when a shifter without a collar threatens Kim's life.

    The key to the first Shifters Unbound romantic urban fantasy is the belief that the world of Jennifer Ashley exists; especially the racism with parallels to America as humans even those who never met a shifter believe they are deadly animals needing control. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the feisty lawyer challenges the powerful shifter and never slows down as love and the law clash in what is a terrific tale of people's rights and dignities.

    Harriet Klausner

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great New Series!

    Jennifer Ashley introduces us to a new and unique view of Shapeshifters in Pride Mates , the first book in her Shifters Unbound series.

    This bool takes us to Austin TX where Kim Fraser is a DA assigned to defend her client, a shifter, in a murder case. Shifters had made their presence known to the world and 20 years ago they were given collars to control their animal instincts and keep them in line. The collars, made by a 1/2 Fae and half human, were to keep the humans safe. Knowing this Kim is determined to fight for her client's freedom. So sure of her client's innocence she is willing to face the unfamiliar Shifter world to prove it.

    Liam Morrissey was the man that Kim was told to go see if she had any way of proving her client's innocence. He was the "go-to" guy according to her client. Liam was an Irish Feline-Shifter and managed a Shifter bar on the edge of Shiftertown. Shiftertown were where the Shifters lived.

    When both Liam and Kim started being stalked by a feral Shifter, Liam trusted only himself to provide her protection. The only problem was whether or not she would allow him to.

    The main reason that I liked this book so much might sound weird to some. I liked it because as Kim and Liam's relationship blossoms, racism was addressed. Now you may say that that's an odd take on a PNR but you have to see it my way. As a bi-racial woman I am not unfamiliar with discrimination and it's a hot topic with me. The way that the Shifters were treated by the government is not unlike our own governmental history. Today, even in our supposed "enlightened age" prejudice and discrimination against people who are different still happens. Case in point? The treatment of Japanese-American citizens in WWII, the encampment of Native Americans in reservations, the Civil Rights Movement, as well as the treatment of homosexuals are all prime examples.

    Another reason That I liked this book is very simple. This book is yet another example of Ashley's excellent and spectacular writing.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    I liked it....BUT

    I just finished reading Pride Mates. The book is about a subject that has been written about many times. Jennifer Ashley does a very nice job of adding her twist to the shifter subject. I really liked the topic of the book.....but the story itself fell short. The main characters meet, mate, and bond in as little as a few days. Ok I am a true romantic at heart but this really annoyed me. The importance of a bonded mate was also down played. This actually made me sort of sad. I felt the story was rushed. The plot was great but the trip from start to finish left me feeling deflated.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it in only 5 days. It keeps you in suspense.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Jennifer Ashley does a great job with PRIDE MATES

    Jennifer Ashley is good. I can imagine that writing a book with a plot as Pride Mates consists of could not be easy. She captured your mind with the possibilities of how life for a Shifter could be. Being cast out or kept separate from what is considered "normal society or normal genes" was done quite well. The characters were very real; the history of how shifters came into existence was thorough and kept your attention. Liam and Kim were suitable "mates" for each other. The passion and love was sometimes raw; the lovemaking so explosive it was over too quickly with after the fact detail. Liam protected Kim, desired her above all others, protected his family.
    This is my second read by Jennifer Ashley. The first one I read by her was The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie. I recommend this one highly also.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    My favorite of the shifters unbound series

    This one is my favorite of the series I have read three and I like them all but this one is the one that got me all into the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this series. Wish there were more books to it.

    Loved this series. Wish there were more books to it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I liked it.

    I'm a fan of Christine Feehan and my Barnes and Noble account suggested this author as being similar in storytelling. While in my opinion it is not as good as Ms. Feehan's writings, it is very clever and does open up a whole new world for us paranormal romance readers. Ms. Ashley can tell a good story and she does develop the characters enough so that we care what happens to them and to their community. It's a great diversion for those of us who are waiting for the next book by Feehan or Sherrilyn Kenyon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Loved it

    Awesome!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    !!!!!

    Read it in less than a day. Couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Missed me.......

    Sorry, couldn't get into this one. Too much like Lora Leigh but not quite so much strength.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Great

    Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Awesome

    Worth the buy from start to finish........

    SA3542

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    fantastic start to a new shifter series. Shifters have been don

    fantastic start to a new shifter series. Shifters have been done almost to death, but this world is a little different and I liked that. The mythology behind the creation of the shifters is innovative and new. I loved Liam for his dedication to his peoples' welfare. He had a lot of responsibility. I'm really looking forward to reading all the books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Awesomeness in a book

    Completely loved the story and Kim is my new favoriate female!!! Don't quit talkin girl!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Good Read

    Enjoyed the story, writing was good, characters I wanted to read more about so have read all of the series. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys this jenre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    A DEFINITE MUST READ!

    THIS SERIES IS AWESOME! I LOVE READING ABOUT THE SUPERNATURAL & PRETARNATURAL. IT GETS ME AWAY FROM REALITY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Awesome Series~

    Couldn't ask for a better shapeshifter series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad I Found This One!

    This was great; I have shared with my friends and we are hooked on the characters but was very disappointed to find from her website the next book won't be until 2011.

    The Main and Supporting Characters are very likeable and intertwine wonderfully. The World she created was unusual and very well thought out. The action was continuous with the characters personalities shining through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to any romance library!!

    This is the first book I've read by Jennifer Ashley, and I definitely will be reading more! The plot was excellent. With so many shifter books out there, sometimes you get the feeling of "hmm I've read this before" but not with this book! It's definitely a unique take on the shape-shifter concept, with great characters that make the story come alive. This title is going into my permanent library and I will for sure be re-reading it again at some point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26