Customer Reviews for

Pride & Passion

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I could not wait to get the second book... I need more!!

    I cannot wait to read more from Charlotte Featherstone!!! The way she is able to put to words the feelings she is expressing in her writing is remarkable!! I cannot even think of another author to compare her to, Christine Feehan would be the closest but I have to say Charlotte Featherstone is one author I will read for as long as she writes!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Anaonymous

    Amazing. Love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Delete after skimming

    Read it. Hated it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    Wonderfully passionate. I adore Charlotte Featherstone's tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A haunting stay up all night read

    ***original & extended review posted at Romancing Rakes***

    PRIDE:
    Lady Lucy Ashton is dabbling in the occult trying to find her lost lover. He has captured her heart and enthralled her, only to die in a fire, or so she thinks. The Duke of Sussex, the man she is to be engaged to, brings proof in the form of her handkerchief (which she gave to her lover) as proof that he is still alive. She is determined to find him by any means and has branded Sussex as her enemy.

    Being a victim of her time and upbringing, Lucy was the only child born to her parents (no heir) so they ignored her. In turn, she learned to close herself off from others. As a child, she had a friend (the butcher's son) who she spent a lot of time with until her father sends him away. He gifts her with a handmade bed for her dolls, which she has kept as a reminder. Now, she cannot seem to get her childhood friend out of her head. There is something hauntingly familiar about the cold grey eyes she saw during her visit to the mystic.

    Refusing to cave into her father's arrangement of marriage to Sussex, she does everything in her power to dissuade Sussex from marrying her. But as the heavy staring and sultry, thigh clenching words flow and seduce from Sussex's all too kissable mouth do a number to her whole being, Lucy must not allow herself be lured in by that simmering passion underneath the controlled visage of the all too proper duke.

    She must find her lover and prove to Sussex that the man is not in league with Orpheus. She must also find out why her lover did not let her know he was still alive and she had to find out via her handkerchief that Sussex brought to her. But things take a dangerous and unexpected turn. She must decide whether to go back to her lover or allow Sussex's amorous attentions to grow into something more.

    PASSION:
    Lord Adrian York, Duke of Sussex is controlled, scandal-free and on the hunt for the man named Oprheus who has one of the relics that belong to the Brethren Guardians. Under all that control is a secret and a simmering passion for Lucy. He is determined to make Lucy his in every way but to do so, he must convince her that Thomas is the enemy, not him.

    He's held a tendre for Lucy for quite some time now and he wants her. Badly. But he must keep his passions in check so as not to prove to the ton that he is his father's son. At every turn, Lucy tempts him more and more even though, true to her hair color, she's feisty and fights him every step of the way.

    His sister and his father's mistress are the only family he's got left, not counting his fellow Brethren. Keeping them safe from Orpheus is at the top of his list after finding the man himself. Both know what Adrian is and they are willing to help him even if it is too dangerous and could pay with their life.

    He's held a deep dark secret for so long, it could cost him everything and everyone he loves.

    Pride & Passion:
    As Lucy gets closer to finding Thomas, Adrian must keep her from harms way even if it means opening up to her about Brethren business and showing her how he really feels. Together they each must set aside their pride and let their passions rule. Only then, can the truth be revealed and releasing their respective emotional burdens.

    Charlotte Featherstone has created a world of danger, intrigue, betrayal, forgiveness, anticipation, second chances, dark secrets and the occult. Just WOW.

    ***ARC from Netgalley***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Enjoyable, but not for everyone.

    I should not recommend this title. The plot is sex-driven and there is an extraordinary coincidence that is very hard to swallow even for a romance novel. Yet . . . it is a compelling story and I found myself eager to read the story and now I can't wait for the last title in the series. My best advice is that if you have read and enjoyed the author's previous novels, you will enjoy this title. If you have a hard time suspending disbelief for a good tale, then stay away from this book. Overall, I am glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enticing, seductive, hard to put down.

    Lucy was born into society to parents who cared about nothing more than appearances and duty. At the present the duty calls for Lucy to get married, and her father has his sights set on Duke of Sussex. Sussex, in Lucy's eyes, is a passionless pawn to society. Proper and stiff in all the ways of a ton gentleman. Lucy longs for passion and desire, something she had gotten just a brief taste of with her lover, Thomas.

    Adrian wants nothing more than Lucy, will stop at nothing to have her. He was taught to be the Duke, to obey all that is right and proper. He was also trained to be a Brethren Guardian, protecting secret artifacts - a job that has recently become more dangerous. The secrets of his life, of his past and his duties keep bound and distant, but beneath the pompous exterior lies a wealth of feeling and desire that he is finding harder and harder to contain.

    REVIEW: I simply loved this book! Charlotte Featherstone's writing was so beautiful and captivating and seductive. It's funny, because as far as graphic imagery goes, this book was a bit mild compared to some books I've read recently; but the sensations and feelings that are provoked with her writing go far beyond that of exaggerated descriptive words.

    It was so easy to fall into friendship with both Lucy and Adrian. Their voices were so strong and believable. When you were with Lucy, you feel the frustration of being bound to society and all that it means, and the desperation of finding some sort of happiness and escape from it all. You understood her desire to stand up for herself, but also the need to bow to her duties. It was easy to see how Adrian didn't seem like a good match, though he was the obvious one. On the other hand you felt nothing but frustration and fury toward Lucy when you were in Adrian's head. It was so obvious that he loved her, in every breath and every move he was screaming it from the rooftops, and why oh why couldn't she just see it. He had his own trappings in life, his own duties that were keeping him confined. Adrian's emotions were at a constant simmer. He had a dark and almost poetic way about him, and his words. I want so badly to quote the book - to lay some out for you, but alas, I am going to keep it a mystery because half the fun of this book is to watch him torture and be tortured yourself with his brief touches and sexy vocalizations of his feelings and the feelings he'd like to provoke.

    The relationship between Lucy and Adrian played out exactly as I thought - hoped - it would. Even though in the prologue and first chapter I thought for sure Thomas was our hero, in my mind I had started writing the story with Adrian coming out of the box that Lucy placed him in and becoming something so much more. Little did I know (obviously I didn't read the synopsis very well, eh?!) I was in the same mindset as the author - happily so. I saw many of my thoughts on the story's progression come to fruition but am still completely impressed with Charlotte Featherstone's ability to draw out the story line, to hold on to the puzzle piece even when you think the idea is dead and gone. She does nothing but keep you captivated and reading until the very end - and then sets up the final novel in a frustratingly glorious way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1