Customer Reviews for

Pride & Popularity

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book is hilarious! The dream guy a happy ending who could a

    This book is hilarious! The dream guy a happy ending who could ask for more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just when you thought that you would never get over Colin Firth

    Just when you thought that you would never get over Colin Firth OR Matthew McFadyen as Mr. Darcy, Jenni James has come along and blown any previous perception of Mr. Darcy out of the water.
     This fantastic retelling of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice takes place in New Mexico and focuses on high school seniors
    Chloe Hart (Elizabeth Bennet) and Taylor Anderson (Mr. Darcy). Chloe despises Taylor and can't stand being around him.
    So of course she ends up in the same art class as him. The banter between them is brilliant and hilarious. The details follow Jane Austen's original story in a fresh way that pulls you in and at the end of the book you're dying for more! If you are look for a light, brilliantly written story, look no further.
    This is an amazingly well written tale of Pride and Popularity that will have you laughing and almost crying and wishing there was more (which, there is as this is the first in a series!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I have read hundreds of books through my life but I think this i

    I have read hundreds of books through my life but I think this is in my top ten! I loved it so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There's nothing like going out on a limb only to find the guy you're out there for has a chainsaw and no safety net." Chloe Hart--Pride & Popularity one of my favorite quotes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!! I love all things Jane Austen and Pride and Preju

    Amazing!!!!!!! I love all things Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is a big weakness of mine. Jenni James wrote this so well! The story overall is so cute, addicting, and absolutely fabulous! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I love Pride and Prejudice and find myself reading many spin-off

    I love Pride and Prejudice and find myself reading many spin-offs, and enjoying most of them. This one was soooo cute--a definite must read for YA/P&P fans. Jenni James took the story and completely molded it to a 21st century fit.

    Chloe Hart is apparently the only girl immune to Taylor Anderson's charms. He is almost a local celebrity at the high school and Chloe has a thing against popularity. He was almost mean at times, yet so utterly adorable.

    I love how the story was completely adapted to modern teens and current situations. It was cute, humorous, and completely clean!! The romance was almost knee-buckling. I can't wait for the other books in this Jane Austen Diaries series to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    This is a perfect modern-day twist to the great story with all t

    This is a perfect modern-day twist to the great story with all the important characters from the original Pride and Prejudice. I loved when I recognized a character and the part they play in this new version. Chloe is a red headed spicy girl who portrayed a modern Elizabeth; she is a very enjoyable character. Taylor Darcy Anderson is a dreamboat who grows on you. My favorite part is the party Chloe throws for Halloween; I totally want to steal that idea. This is a fun read and I couldn’t put the book down. I read the whole book in one day. I’m excited for the other books in “The Jane Austen Diaries” and see how Jane Austen’s stories adapt to our teenagers lives today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    WonderfulBook

    This is a great book that was very well written. The author captures a small town and describes her characters quite well. This is a great book for teens and for other readers. I was lucky to be able to meet the author and get her first part of her series autographed. I hope to see more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    I loved it!

    I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this book for review. When it came in the mail yesterday I paused the book I had been reading to start this immediately. Once my kids were in bed at 7:30 last night I started reading Pride and Popularity and couldn't put it down! I stayed up until 1:30 in the morning to finish. I've never been happier to lose sleep. I was still happy this morning. You can't help but be happy when reading this feel good book. Thank you Jenni for the fun night!

    I know I've said this before, but let me remind you. I love retellings! There is something peaceful and relaxing about knowing how a book will end but not knowing how it will get there. I love Jane Austen books and her characters. Before I began reading I knew I would love the "Elizabeth" and "Darcy" characters, and I was right. Chloe and Taylor are so fun!

    The chemistry between Chloe and Taylor is amazing! Don't worry, it wasn't steamy or anything. :) I loved every scene with Chloe and Taylor whether they were hating or loving each other. The tension was so great. Chloe was fiery, prideful, and afraid of getting hurt. She surprised and mesmerized Taylor. I don't think I'll say any more about how these two change throughout the book; I'll let you read and find out for yourself.

    This was a fun, light, clean read that I loved! If you're in the mood for a light-hearted fiesty romance go read this book!

    *I received a copy of this book from Amy at Inkberry Press. Thank you! I do not get paid for any of my reviews. My reviews are solely my opinion.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1