Customer Reviews for

Pride and Pleasure

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Pride and passion

Great,provocative

posted by 11079753 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Had some Good Points

Much better than her book "Bared to you". However if you are looking for great historical fiction I recommend Stephanie Laurens. If you are looking for hot steamy bedroom scenes try Toni Blake. Sylvia is OK, she is just not as great as the above mentioned authors.
...
Much better than her book "Bared to you". However if you are looking for great historical fiction I recommend Stephanie Laurens. If you are looking for hot steamy bedroom scenes try Toni Blake. Sylvia is OK, she is just not as great as the above mentioned authors.
The story line was good, the characters were alright but the bedroom scenes were a little lacking.

posted by JLLo on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Pride and passion

    Great,provocative

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Sizzling!

    I was skeptical about reading this book at first because i prefer novels set in modern times but since I loved Sylvia Day's book Bared To You I decided to give it a chance. It took me less than 24 hours to read it because I could not put it down!! The dynamic between the two lead characters, Jasper & Eliza, is enticing and SIZZLING!!! Plus I love that the author gives you both perspectives, so you know what they are both thinking. Great read, highly recommend it!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Had some Good Points

    Much better than her book "Bared to you". However if you are looking for great historical fiction I recommend Stephanie Laurens. If you are looking for hot steamy bedroom scenes try Toni Blake. Sylvia is OK, she is just not as great as the above mentioned authors.
    The story line was good, the characters were alright but the bedroom scenes were a little lacking.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Sylvia Day's usual quality I usually love books by Sylvia Da

    Not Sylvia Day's usual quality
    I usually love books by Sylvia Day, and find it a chore to put them down. I am a huge fan of her historical romances because of their intensity. This book however, read in such a slow manner. Every conversation that didn't involve the hero and heroine seamed to drag along at a snails pace. There were quite a few secondary characters, but none of them had enough depth to allow me to care about their welfare. The love scenes between Jasper and Eliza were hot and no less than I have come to expect from Day. Her love scenes are hot because both parties are not just expressing lust/desire for one another, but something stronger that runs much deeper. Day writes with so much passion, that it feels as if the characters need each other in order to survive. This book would have been a 4 or 5 star if more time had been spent with the couple or if the secondary characters and plot had been more interesting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Madrekh

    A black, powerful lion enters. "I would like to join."

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Captivating story but ended upbruptly

    I was truly engaged by the story and characters (and the romantic scenes of course), and kept reading and waiting for the story to take me away. But it never happened. The end of the story comes quickly, rushed almost, leaving me unsatisfied. Ok read to pass the time, but that is all.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great book, I can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Didn't care for

    Not my cup of tea

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Breathless

    I fell in love with this series. Better than 50 shades of grey. My heart breaks for Gideons struggles. I wish my name was Eva. I could not breathe towards the end of the book the scene in the elevator, my breath was stolen. Cannot wait for the final book wish it was already here. Eva hang in there Gideon is worth the wait :0

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pride and Pleasure BY Sylvia Day is another exciting Erotic Rege

    Pride and Pleasure BY Sylvia Day is another exciting Erotic Regency Historical Romance set in 1818 London. Re-issue edition from Kensington. Follow Jasper Bond,and Eliza Martin on a sexual journey that includes passion,mystery,seduction,danger,and client satisfaction. A compelling story where sex isn't everything. An erotic tale of a romp through England,but a very sweet tale as well. With charming characters who are intellectual,stubborn,realistic,sexy and lovable. The plot is intriguing as well as mysterious. A must read for anyone who enjoys erotic romance with lots of twists and turns.I love this author's historical tales,they are engaging and thought-provoking and yes, erotic. What's not to love? Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Ehhh

    I'm having so much trouble getting into this book! I love her Bared to You books but this one is no where being at the same level. The book just goes so slow...I had started it a while back and put it down after abut the first 20 pages because tge beginning did not "hook" me in. I'm trying with a huge amount of effort to stick with it, even now I've got about 100 more pages left and am extremely bored & want to quit reading it but want to just get it over with so I can archive it! The only positive about this book is the steamy sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    good

    It was a good book but confusing because of the period language. But as usual another good book from sylvia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Ugh

    Shekeeps taking out these otherbooks instead of focusing on her crossfire trilogy. Which has been succesfull but has pissed everyone of by pushing her dates many time. Really dissapointed. Thats whyIhavent bothered to read any of her otherbooks. Great books but not profesionql.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Fala

    *the white lion pads in her ice blue eyes shine like stars* may i join?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Karen

    Can i join the pride? *tilts head to the right*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Lani

    Chuckled. Got to have my beauty sleep. (Gtg. Bb tomorrow.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Ralik

    Goes to his den. ( gtgtb. Wont be on tomarrow night. Lani i guess your incharge while im gone get ppl to join)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Cute

    A fun read based in early times when ladies were supposed to be ladies hmmmm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    One of her better ones! Loved it!

    Eliza Martin believes her life in danger so she hires a bodyguard with unexpected results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4