Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 54518 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22624)

4 Star

(8916)

3 Star

(7902)

2 Star

(4679)

1 Star

(10397)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Read this Book! It is AMAZING!!

I just finished reading this book and was captivated by the way the cahracters and plot was portrayed. I will never forget this book and it is one of my all time favorite books. I have found that even though there were hard times for the Bennets, I want to have somethin...
I just finished reading this book and was captivated by the way the cahracters and plot was portrayed. I will never forget this book and it is one of my all time favorite books. I have found that even though there were hard times for the Bennets, I want to have something exactly like Elizabeth Bennet and be just like her. She is now my all time favorite fictional character. I highly encourage reading this book.

posted by 806690 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Love the original, don't like this edition

I have read 'Pride and Prejudice' at least fifty times, and I picked up this copy so that I could have an easy-to-carry one for my bag. However I didn't take a close look at it and didn't realize it had footnotes - which, at first glance, one would take to be helpful - ...
I have read 'Pride and Prejudice' at least fifty times, and I picked up this copy so that I could have an easy-to-carry one for my bag. However I didn't take a close look at it and didn't realize it had footnotes - which, at first glance, one would take to be helpful - but actually are so obvious that they are unneeded. The editor does explain some helpful things such as card games but some terms which need no explanation (really, who can't figure out that se'ennight means week?) just interrupt the flow of the text.
I also found the modernizations of spellings to be irritating and distracting - another unnecessary change by the editor.
I would not recommend this edition of 'Pride and Prejudice' but would certainly encourage anyone to read it in its original spelling and with more judicious editing.

posted by dreamwithin on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7902 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 396
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Love the original, don't like this edition

    I have read 'Pride and Prejudice' at least fifty times, and I picked up this copy so that I could have an easy-to-carry one for my bag. However I didn't take a close look at it and didn't realize it had footnotes - which, at first glance, one would take to be helpful - but actually are so obvious that they are unneeded. The editor does explain some helpful things such as card games but some terms which need no explanation (really, who can't figure out that se'ennight means week?) just interrupt the flow of the text.
    I also found the modernizations of spellings to be irritating and distracting - another unnecessary change by the editor.
    I would not recommend this edition of 'Pride and Prejudice' but would certainly encourage anyone to read it in its original spelling and with more judicious editing.

    30 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Funny book

    I have avoided reading "classics" ever since I graduated from high school because we were reading to analyze, not to enjoy. My thought was always, "How doe they know that's what the author meant? Aren't they just saying what THEY mean?".

    Once I decided to read this, I was hooked. Very amusing, great characters (some greatly stupid), written so that you can actually understand the language. VERY recommended.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Free

    Got+it+free+with+the+nook.+Best+Classic

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Fh

    Good, too many typos

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Dig her up and hit her with her femur!

    Half way through I knew just what Twain meant. You want to reach into the book, grab Darcy by the scruff of the neck, and scream, "propose to her, for Christ's sake, this book is already too long!"

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Why?

    This isn't a chat room. Anybody can see your post. It has less privacy than facebook.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Reading is good

    I just have to pick the right book fir me and it has to be funny and cnt have lots of hard words i cnt understand

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    I think it was okay but i think it could of have more details in

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Many typos Many mistakes

    When i donloaded this book i thought the reviews that said there were typos were just talking about british spellings. There is actually random letters throughout the first few pages. I haven't looked at the rest of the book yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    T wych

    Ajgqt z t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2015

    It's OK

    The books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Ummm ... not so sure wat 2 say ... (bryson) ?!

    What or who d bloody hell is bryson ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2015

    Meh

    I really have seen better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    To: to Crystal/ Haley

    THAT IS NO WAY TO TREAT A LADY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! B****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Havent finished it yet...

    But so far i cant really get used to the language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Horubul

    Werst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    DAPHNE

    OUTOFORDER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    I struggled a bit through this book. I know it's a favorite amo

    I struggled a bit through this book. I know it's a favorite among many, but I had a hard time working around the difference in how they spoke back then. Once I was able to get around that and actually get into the story itself, I found I really enjoyed it. I'm glad I've not seen any film adaptations of the original yet, I am looking forward to doing so now. I think fans of historical romance, or classics would really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    I need frends

    Fernd me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Why

    Why do you have to puin credit card when a book is free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7902 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 396