Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 54366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22535)

4 Star

(8893)

3 Star

(7889)

2 Star

(4668)

1 Star

(10381)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Read this Book! It is AMAZING!!

I just finished reading this book and was captivated by the way the cahracters and plot was portrayed. I will never forget this book and it is one of my all time favorite books. I have found that even though there were hard times for the Bennets, I want to have somethin...
I just finished reading this book and was captivated by the way the cahracters and plot was portrayed. I will never forget this book and it is one of my all time favorite books. I have found that even though there were hard times for the Bennets, I want to have something exactly like Elizabeth Bennet and be just like her. She is now my all time favorite fictional character. I highly encourage reading this book.

posted by 806690 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Love the original, don't like this edition

I have read 'Pride and Prejudice' at least fifty times, and I picked up this copy so that I could have an easy-to-carry one for my bag. However I didn't take a close look at it and didn't realize it had footnotes - which, at first glance, one would take to be helpful - ...
I have read 'Pride and Prejudice' at least fifty times, and I picked up this copy so that I could have an easy-to-carry one for my bag. However I didn't take a close look at it and didn't realize it had footnotes - which, at first glance, one would take to be helpful - but actually are so obvious that they are unneeded. The editor does explain some helpful things such as card games but some terms which need no explanation (really, who can't figure out that se'ennight means week?) just interrupt the flow of the text.
I also found the modernizations of spellings to be irritating and distracting - another unnecessary change by the editor.
I would not recommend this edition of 'Pride and Prejudice' but would certainly encourage anyone to read it in its original spelling and with more judicious editing.

posted by dreamwithin on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 8893 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 445
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    An awesome novel

    I really enjoyed Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. When the book picked up speed I couldn't wait to finish it. However, the first fourth of the book was pretty slow and I didn't want to read it. All throughout the book I found myself rooting for Elizabeth. I'm not usually this drawn in by books. It proves that Austen created very realistic characters that I couldn't help but root for as if I knew them personally. On the other hand, she did a wonderful job at creating characters that were unpleasant. Miss Bingley in particular I couldn't stand after a few chapters. Again, I usually don't hate characters either so once again Ms. Austen did a great job in creating life like characters. My favorite part of the book was that it ended happily. I'm a person that prefers the characters all ending up happy instead of someone being upset in the end. Jane and Mr. Bingley and Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy getting married made me very happy. For a while I thought Jane and Mr. Bingley weren't going to get married and I became a little nervous. Ms. Austen didn't disappoint me though, and she ended the book on a happy note. Basically, I enjoyed this novel a lot and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    What??????

    How do you delete a book off of your nook??please respond.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Haters

    You are all just haters all of you and i a 10

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Good Book

    This book is actually pretty good. I saw a lot of reviews that say that it is "for old people" and "its poo" but I found it to be quite interesting. And I'm only 14. I recommend this book if anyone is looking for a late night read or a good book to cuddle up to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My First Austin Book-A Great Success!

    I am so ashamed; and yet, so very proud. I'm ashamed because up until my power went out on Monday, I'd never ventured into the sweeping fiction of the late, great, Miss Austen. Now, I'm proud, because I read, understood, & loved my very first Austen book. (Pride and Prejudice, the very most commonly read of all the Austen lit's, but still...)
    Now, I've never claimed to be a literary genius. On the contrary, I threw Wuthering Heights against the wall, repeatedly, before finally gaining a tiny inkling of what on earth people were saying. I know it's written in English...but really it might as well have been Portuguese. Even when I finally dissected it enough to understand the broad strokes, I failed to see why ANYONE would fall in love with an A$$hole like the extraordinarily bone headed Mr. Heathcliff. If memory serves, Catherine was a piece of work in her own right. I found them to be a well matched couple, where each works to outdo the other to win the Oscar of the self serving miserable bastard awards. It was the last classic I attempted due to the PTSD that comes from reading a page, coming to the bottom, and saying, "What the hell did I just read?" Before going back to the top & starting over...for the fiftieth time.
    I expected the same of Austen. Ha! Can you believe that?
    So, to answer the question posed at the top:
    I love that I can read an Austen book and understand what's going on (from page one). Furthermore, I love that her love story, is a LOVE story. People make mistakes. They have faults greater than the San Andreas fault line; but in the end, they learn something & they are happy. Her morals lessons still ring true today(if this doesn't hold true for the rest of her work, please don't tell me. I downloaded all of it on my Kindle late last night). Lastly, I read a really great article about her inability to memorize the rules of grammar, thereby driving her editor to the brink of insanity.
    Yes, all of this points to a woman I would love to have sat next to & had a drink with. I'm a fan, tried & true. Are you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    i love this book

    It might be because this is one of my all time favorite books of all times, but this copy is rather satisfactory. a few typos but nothing you cant overlook since its FREE!!! most definately recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    better than the movie!

    I just finished reading Pride and Prejudice. I really enjoyed every minuet of this book. I saw the movie in the theaters when it first came out, and I got to say, I did not enjoy it half as much. But that is usually the case when a book is made into a movie. That said, it is easy to see why this book is a classic and so loved by readers everywhere! The story was great, I could not put it down until it was done. The ending couldnt have been better, either! I also loved the size of the book, its not too long and drawn out, its just long enough to tell a great love story. There is also a good lesson to be learned from this story, dont jump to conclusions about a persons charecter and first impressions can be false. This is the first Jane Austen novel that I have read and I am planning on starting another, Persuasion, shortly. If you are worried that Pride and Prejudice will be hard to read, dont be! although it was written in the early eighteen hundreds, it is incredibly easy to read. I recommend this book especially to those who enjoy a good romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Ok.....

    This book is ok.... not really sure what to say.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    @Taylor

    Hey there!!! How can I contact U??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Ipad

    Kiss hand 3tines post in 3books and loik nder pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    I like this books

    Girl tolt hulereis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Please read this review!

    What age is this book for?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    To madi

    Shut up ugly chick FROM HATER GIRL14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    :)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Many pages mlssing

    Many pages missing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Wow!

    I thought this book was bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    145348 Reveiw

    I thought it was an interesting choice to read. It does have some grammer that I dont understand at times and must simply look up the defintion. Other then that, I thought it was an amzing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I like it

    It is a very interesting book. I do admit it was a bit slow at first but it is a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Great book......but

    This is a great book but there are times that you have to go the dictionary our the back off the book to get a clear understanding of what Jane Austin is trying to say but other than that this book is a great read excellent characters Mr.Darcy comes of as an arrogant pompous you know what in the beginning but once you get to the letter you start to see his point of view and he isn't such a bad guy after all. I love the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Z6

    C c,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 8893 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 445