Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Average Rating 3.5
( 1045 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(288)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Jane Austen ate my brain long ago!

And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of...
And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of Meryton where Elizabeth Bennet and her family reside nearby at Longbourn. Mr. Bennet extricated from his library has dedicated himself instead to training his five daughters from an early age in the deadly arts, traveling with them to China to attend Ninja finishing school with a Shaolin Master. His business in life was to keep them alive. The business of Mrs. Bennet's was to get them married. When Netherfield Park is let at last, Mrs. Bennet is hopeful that the new resident Mr. Bingley and his friends might marry one or another of her daughters. When Meryton society finally meets Mr. Bingley, they agree that he is was good-looking and gentlemanlike, but his fine friend Mr. Darcy with his noble mien gave immediate disgust even though he was reputed to have slaughtered more than a thousand unmentionables since the fall of Cambridge. After he slights Elizabeth, claiming her to be only tolerable and not handsome enough to temp him to dance, the warrior code in her demands she avenge her honour and open his throat with her dagger. Her warrior duty delays her instincts as the dance is suddenly invaded by a maraudring horde of unmentionables who break through the windows, attack the guests, and devour the head of Mrs. Long. Elizabeth and her four sisters rip out their razor-sharp daggers and make short work of beheading all the sorry stricken. Darcy watches in wonder, knowing of only one other woman in England that who could match her skill, her grace and precision. The spark has been ignited. The love, *cough* zombie story begins.

It is now "a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains." We continue along in this manner following Jane Austen's plot interjected with Grahame-Smith's fanciful parody of zombie bedlam. If the concept of Jane Austen's refined country gentry and gory zombie destruction are in conflict, think again. Like the warrior Bennet sisters who have refined their deadly skills into an art of precision and style, Grahame-Smith knows his zombie lore, skillfully incorporating a genre wholly at odds to the context of Jane Austen's elegantly refined prose, yet working within its strengths to achieve his goal to have fun with a literary classic, and well, lets face it, make money.

So who will like this book? Certainly not the Austen purist without a sense of humor. They will not even get past the gruesome cover. Not zombie fans, who will be annoyed having to trudge through a masterpiece of world literature to get to the scant zombie action. So that leaves the rest of us. Those loyal and devoted members of The Gentle Reprove and Witty Banter Society who, like Jane Austen, enjoy a good campy and gory Gothic novel, recognize tongue-in-cheek humor, and have been happily doing so for over 200 hundred years.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose

posted by Laurel_Ann on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Disappointing

I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wro...
I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wrong) and poor writing (not on Jane Austen's part).

My main problem was all the ridiculous nonsense about ninjas and dojos. I mean, come on. It is certainly believable that the sisters would have learned different fighting arts but traveling to the "Orient" and studying with martial arts masters? I doubt very seriously if they could have afforded to travel to China and it would have been much more realistic to have focused on European fighting methods. And the ridiculous "bloodlust" of Elizabeth Bennet and Darcy was completely out of character. Whoever said the characters remained true to Austen doesn't understand the characters. I couldn't get over the scene where Elizabeth kills three of Lady Catherine's ninjas and then eats part of one of their hearts.

The other major problem was the writing and editing. If you are going to try and follow another writer's style then you'd better get it right. It was painfully obvious that the author wasn't up to the task and that his editor couldn't catch his numerous mistakes. I haven't seen a book so poorly edited in quite some time.

I think this book could have been really excellent with a different author who isn't obsessed with ninjas. Honestly, it was like Kill Bill added to Jane Austen which if you like that movie, you might like this book. If they do make this into a movie, I hope they leave out all the ninja garbage and keep the characters true to who they are instead of modeling them after Uma Thurman in a Quentin Tarantino film. This book just had me wishing for the original.

posted by Hokie4VT on April 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1049 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So Much Fun

    If you can't get enough Jane Austen remakes or the retooling of her classic stories, then Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is for you. Seth Grahame-Smith carefully tweaks the Bennet sisters into skillful warriors, but keeps their characters intact. Jane is still exceedingly nice, Kitty is still silly, and Mrs. Bennett is still embarrassingly brash -- now they just have zombies to contend with. The plot is somewhat altered, some of the minor characters find themselves in different situations then the original, but the book is so much fun, the reader will not mind.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Disappointment

    Highly disappointed in this book. I thought it would be more intertaining, but went further and further into being ridiculous. I didn't expect it to be realistic (the title should give that away - Zombies), but the more I read the more uninterested I became. The beginning captured my interest, but it quickly faded. It was too easy to set aside and not feel the need to continue reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I've read this book and the other book (i cant recall the title) and these books i couldnt put down. I hope whoever reads this post will get this book.
    Hope I was helpfull!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    If you like Austen and you like Zombies, this isn't necessarily for you.

    I picked this book up hardopy--the special edition that has the pictures. I wasn't impressed. I love "Pride & Prejudice" and read it once a year. It's the only romance novel I can get behind because thr nonsense at least makes sense for the time.

    What do I love more than just about everything? Zombies. I eat, sleep, and breathe zombies. Romance is typically for the feeble of mind and those desperate to escape the lack-luster reality of the truth of love. What do I hate? A flimsy attempt to inject the new world zombie into the old world romance with inflated interjections of deeply insulting idea that only martial arts can be taken by those associated with title or be of unquestioned nobility. Honestly, it is a vast undertaking to mix the two sorts of drama. It is a deeper well of inspiration one must draw from in order to mix the slow-moving zombies with the omnipresent danger of a terrible blight, the walking-pace Darcy and Liz take to overcoming their humanity toward one another, and the dazzling fanciments of Asian martial arts. I just didn't get it. I have never been a fan of Asian martial arts movies...or stories...or comics. There is just so much material to try and blend with not only the three main topics but also the strange persistence of British behavior and tradition, toilet humor, and overall...lack of credibility. That sounds completely strange, I know. The P&P world is plausible on most levels and ludicrous on others. The idea of the dead rising from the grave--recent or otherwise--is completely irrational on every level and is entirely terrifying (due to the social and political overtones, more than anything). The world often prtrayed by movies regarding the Asian martial arts is fanciful and inspiring but unreal all the same. All of these plots bring out the incredulity in almost everyone but the common factor is that within their own frameworks they make entire sense. Mixed together, the three violate the laws of everything the others hold sacred. P&P maintains that women are dependent on men and are almost wholly without independence of body, fortune, and mind. This is overturned by the modern Asian martial arts theme that enable women to not only be independent but require all women to have strategic thought outside of marriage, kids, and money. Further, the idea that bodies can be simultaneously without the bounds of gravity due to presence of mind and yet nearly cemented to the ground in the proposed non-presence of mind defies the shared proposition by all three universes that people are still able to walk freely no matter how empty their minds are.

    In short, and in closing, don't assume that you will love or like this book just because you like one or all of the themes presented by zombies, Pride and Prejudice, or Asian martial arts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    absolutely pointless.

    I like Pride and Prejudice and i like Zombies. So the two together would be pretty cool right? well i will allow the jury to stay out on that, based on that fact that this Seth Grahame-Smith person has no writing ability what so ever. You perhaps might think that adding zombies to an already well written novel would be easy, well it might be, but as soon as Seth started adding extra zombie filled sections purely for more zombies, its gets amazingly dry, the opposite of what was intended. I have paid for this book twice now so I plan on finishing it, (something my 4 other friends who have attempted to read this haven't been able to do ) but i almost put it down for good when Seth added a completely random penis joke at Pemberly. I am not a purest, I am not saying he ruined Pride and Prejudice. I am saying he took an otherwise entertaining novel, and some how made it as boring as a 4th grad film strip on on the life cycle of the common moth. The person who decided this book should have been published did not apparently read more than the first few chapters and simply enjoyed the concept. It really boils down to great concept, very poor execution. Be amused by the idea and then don't bother reading it. Any expectations you have of it are much higher than the book could ever live up to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing in concept, lackluster in execution

    This book is ideally suited, I believe, for those who've never read Pride and Prejudice. For someone like me---who has not only read the book, but seen the miniseries, dabbled in fanfiction, read other interpretations of the same story, and inadvertently memorized whole passages---this was rather tedious than entertaining. Despite the inclusion of zombies, nothing changes. Certainly a handful of details are different, but the book remains in essentials unchanged. Which is a little hard to believe when you have zombies running around.

    Add to this that the editor, or perhaps the writer, cared so little for continuity that they allowed "Bennet" to occasionally gain an extra T; "Kilkenny" to shift back and forth from "Kilkerry;" and characters to consistently reference statements they don't actually make in this version of the classic (e.g., Elizabeth refers to Darcy saying his temper is "resentful"---a statement he makes in the original but not in this book), and it's hardly any wonder that by the last third of the book I was desperate for the end.

    If you've been meaning to read Pride and Prejudice, but can't quite bring yourself to struggle through early nineteenth century prose, this is the book for you. But if you already have a strong background in the book, you'd be far better off skimming this version for the zombie bits and paging through for the pictures.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Waste of money!

    I thought that this was the worst book that I have ever had the misfortune of reading. By far, the biggest waste of money ever! I was able to get through 3/4 of it (not an easy task) hoping that it would get better, but it never did. Finally, I just gave up. I hate spending money on a book and then having to give up on it. Do yourself a favor and don't bother wasting your time and money on it. If you are very curious about it, just borrow it from your local public library. I can't believe that the author was able to find a company to publish it. Whoever decided to do so must have been drunk that day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Austen - Not Zombies ... Missing!

    I love Pride and Prejudice. I love zombie movies. I thought that this book would be a no brainer. But, it turned out to be a dud. The battle scenes were fantastic. I loved reading about the parties and the fighting of the undead. But, the dribble about the men and the reasons that the ladies wanted or didn't want to get married was terrible. After about 20 pages I had had enough. The story was as boring as a local TV remake of pride and prejudice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WoW.

    This is one of the worst books that I've read... Yeah there was the action and the story line was the same but it was just all over the place... Its just better in this case to stick the original story..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A huge disappointment for me.

    I literally made an account just to write a review for this book. I've always had a love for the classics and horror, for the two to be combined in one glorious book (or so I thought) was too much for me. I really hyped myself up, and everyone kept telling me how great it was! But I found myself totally disappointed! I get it, its supposed to be funny, and quirky, and cool but it read to me as totally flat and boring and ridiculous (not in a good way). The parts that Grahame-Smith added are choppy and do not mesh with the original writing in plot or eloquence. Even the typical gore-hound would find it hard to enjoy because most of the action is as descriptive as back of a cereal box. And don't get me started on the martial arts thing, why would anyone go through the trouble of kicking a zombies head off when there are plenty of farm tools laying around perfect for hacking, slashing and dismemberment? (I know, I know, its "cool, quirky and funny") I don't know, maybe its just me. Obviously it's a pretty popular read, so it must have something going for it! I will probably go see the movie though. =)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Mockery of the Classic

    As Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book, I was hesitant to read this, however as it was selected for my book club, I purchased it. I found the book to be far too over the top and ridiculous and if you love the original, you won't love this. Out of 10 people in my club, only 1 liked it (not even the zombie lovers liked this book).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Get this book from the library

    I must admit, I'm not much of an Austen fan. I read Pride and Prejudice and found it postured, tedious and trite. So what happens when you add zombies to the mix? You get a book that's postured, tedious and trite; but, with zombies. If you're not a Jane Austen fan, you probably won't like this book. If you are an Austen fan, you may just be offended by this book. Either way, if you must read it, take it out at the public library; help drop it off of the best sellers lists.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    couldnt finish

    this one was just too boring, i didnt really care what happened to the characters. couldnt finish and i hate not finishing a book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tedious and boring

    Don't waste your time or money on this book. Just imagine how cool a book with this title could be, then leave it at that so you won't be disappointed. It's a dull boring read, but I muddled through just in case it had a redeeming quality. It never did make me laugh.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Austin meets ninjas

    a very funny, horrified version of the classic. As a Jane Austin fanatic, I've read a lot of take-offs. This one was more fun than most! 90% of the text is true to the original, with zombie-fighting thrown in to give it a thrilling, gruesome spin.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun

    This was just fun. fun fun fun. some people say that this helped them read Jane Austen. I could always read Austen, but this made if funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I love P&P, but initially resisted reading this book. After seeing it in the stores I finally broke down and bought it. I found myself eagerly reading to see how the book developed and what would be different from Austen's version. Hopefully this book will encourage people who would not normally read this book to pick it up and give it a try. My husband, who would NEVER read P&P, actually was interested in the book. From a guys perspective, everything is better with zombies and ninjas. I was not offended by the changes (I loved how the Darcy-Wickham relationship was changed) from the original.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Even serious literature lovers should laugh every now and then

    Even serious literature lovers should laugh every now and then. Pride and Prejudice has been reincarnated with some new characters, namely a few zany Zombies who run amuck. The classic has been given a makeover. This ghoulish tongue-in-cheek remake may be a new classic in making.

    -D.E. Boone
    Author of Legs Talk: A Modern Girl's Dating Tale

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was.....cute....?

    That is the word that comes to mind when describing this book. Pride and Prejudice happens to be my most favorite book ever. So naturally I wanted to read this one. This book to me is cute only cause of the zombies added to it. I am also a zombie fan and have read many books regarding them. Yet when I started to read it I was alittle confused. It is the pride and prejudice story sometimes word for word with zombie stuff thrown in every so often. The story of Austen didn't match with the zombies. You will be reading the Austen story word for word as the original then all of a sudden she spits out "but I'm a unmentionable killing warrior". It didn't match the timeframe of the characters. There were so few parts of the zombie invasion when it was finally brought up with a fight or something it was surprise since moments before your reading the original story. It would of been better had Smith came up with his own story based off the Austen characters. I might as well have read Pride and Prejudice itself since there were so few mentions of zombies! I can believe if Smith had wrote his own story, it may lets say, have only contained 15 pages. I wish I had not wasted my money on this book and just bought another. If I could you bet I would of taken the book back and gotten my money for it. I can say the good thing about this book are the pictures. Those were pretty cool. All 6 or 7 of them....I still love Pride and Prejudice and have read it 100 times. It will always be something I want to read. Adding zombies didn't make me love it more. Instead Pride and Prejudice and Zombies made me contemplate the intellegence of Seth Smith the writer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I gave into the hoopla about this book and my husband finally gave it to me as a birthday gift. I am reading it right now and the only reason I will finish the book is because it's a gift from my husband. It is funny and you do need a sense of humor but I don't really get it. I'm not that uptight and was looking forward to something delightful but it is so far-fetched and removed from reality that I just can't get into it. I would not recommend this to anyone because I don't want them to spend the money but I would lend them my copy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1049 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53