Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Average Rating 3.5
( 1051 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(133)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Jane Austen ate my brain long ago!

And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of...
And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of Meryton where Elizabeth Bennet and her family reside nearby at Longbourn. Mr. Bennet extricated from his library has dedicated himself instead to training his five daughters from an early age in the deadly arts, traveling with them to China to attend Ninja finishing school with a Shaolin Master. His business in life was to keep them alive. The business of Mrs. Bennet's was to get them married. When Netherfield Park is let at last, Mrs. Bennet is hopeful that the new resident Mr. Bingley and his friends might marry one or another of her daughters. When Meryton society finally meets Mr. Bingley, they agree that he is was good-looking and gentlemanlike, but his fine friend Mr. Darcy with his noble mien gave immediate disgust even though he was reputed to have slaughtered more than a thousand unmentionables since the fall of Cambridge. After he slights Elizabeth, claiming her to be only tolerable and not handsome enough to temp him to dance, the warrior code in her demands she avenge her honour and open his throat with her dagger. Her warrior duty delays her instincts as the dance is suddenly invaded by a maraudring horde of unmentionables who break through the windows, attack the guests, and devour the head of Mrs. Long. Elizabeth and her four sisters rip out their razor-sharp daggers and make short work of beheading all the sorry stricken. Darcy watches in wonder, knowing of only one other woman in England that who could match her skill, her grace and precision. The spark has been ignited. The love, *cough* zombie story begins.

It is now "a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains." We continue along in this manner following Jane Austen's plot interjected with Grahame-Smith's fanciful parody of zombie bedlam. If the concept of Jane Austen's refined country gentry and gory zombie destruction are in conflict, think again. Like the warrior Bennet sisters who have refined their deadly skills into an art of precision and style, Grahame-Smith knows his zombie lore, skillfully incorporating a genre wholly at odds to the context of Jane Austen's elegantly refined prose, yet working within its strengths to achieve his goal to have fun with a literary classic, and well, lets face it, make money.

So who will like this book? Certainly not the Austen purist without a sense of humor. They will not even get past the gruesome cover. Not zombie fans, who will be annoyed having to trudge through a masterpiece of world literature to get to the scant zombie action. So that leaves the rest of us. Those loyal and devoted members of The Gentle Reprove and Witty Banter Society who, like Jane Austen, enjoy a good campy and gory Gothic novel, recognize tongue-in-cheek humor, and have been happily doing so for over 200 hundred years.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose

posted by Laurel_Ann on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Disappointing

I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wro...
I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wrong) and poor writing (not on Jane Austen's part).

My main problem was all the ridiculous nonsense about ninjas and dojos. I mean, come on. It is certainly believable that the sisters would have learned different fighting arts but traveling to the "Orient" and studying with martial arts masters? I doubt very seriously if they could have afforded to travel to China and it would have been much more realistic to have focused on European fighting methods. And the ridiculous "bloodlust" of Elizabeth Bennet and Darcy was completely out of character. Whoever said the characters remained true to Austen doesn't understand the characters. I couldn't get over the scene where Elizabeth kills three of Lady Catherine's ninjas and then eats part of one of their hearts.

The other major problem was the writing and editing. If you are going to try and follow another writer's style then you'd better get it right. It was painfully obvious that the author wasn't up to the task and that his editor couldn't catch his numerous mistakes. I haven't seen a book so poorly edited in quite some time.

I think this book could have been really excellent with a different author who isn't obsessed with ninjas. Honestly, it was like Kill Bill added to Jane Austen which if you like that movie, you might like this book. If they do make this into a movie, I hope they leave out all the ninja garbage and keep the characters true to who they are instead of modeling them after Uma Thurman in a Quentin Tarantino film. This book just had me wishing for the original.

posted by Hokie4VT on April 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Awful addition to a great novel

    I was excited when I first got the book in, since I loved the book Pride and Prejudice and I enjoy zombie movies such as Night of the Living Dead. I started reading it and got confused what century it was suppose to be in. It sounded like Jane Austen at some points then sounded modern and crude at others. Then I looked at the additional author on this book and he only took one class in english literature. I was shocked they let someone unqualified to touch this great novel. He uses modern slang such as Darcy joking that Elizabeth has his balls. Ugh! People didn't talk like that then! There is a disconnect between the Jane Austene parts and the new writer's. Apparently life continues the same even though the dead walk and all the characters have great fighting skills; doesn't seem rational to me. I don't advise anyone to buy this if you truly enjoyed the original novel. You will just be disappointed. It is just a mockery of the great novel, Pride and Prejudice.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Warmed Over Meatloaf

    I love Pride and Prejudice and I love horror/fantasy. What should have been like chocolate and peanut butter ended up being warmed over meatloaf. Let me explain,I have watched the 1940's version of Pride and Prejudice many times,its my favorite movie. The book uses verbatim the script from that movie with a few zombie sentences thrown in. Seth Grahame-Smith gave credit to Jane Austin but he should have also given credit to MGM. I had a lot of difficulty reading this book because it was like reading the screenplay from the 1940 movie. Seth had a creative idea for a book but was lazy when he wrote it. Unbelievably he makes what should have been an exciting book,a boring one. Next time Seth use your own words.
    P.S. I would like to add that I have also read Jane Austin's original "Pride and Prejudice". Maybe the book would have been more interesting if he had written it in that same vein. Trust me rent the movie and you will be shocked at the uncreative plagiarism.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Forgettable

    Seeing this book prominently displayed at the Customer Service counter and being enthusiastically recommended by the employee as "flying off the shelves"and it being a "New York Times" bestseller, I bought this book. I am a fan of Jane Austen books and the recent deluge of "after books" (Mr. Darcy's Daughters, Captain Wentworth's Diary, etc) but I must say this is one of the dumbest books I have ever read. In the first place the author just repeats the original book practically word for word except for throwing in daggers, longbows and unmentionables periodically. It is not funny nor scary. It is not even the slightest bit interesting.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    How did this even get printed? Don't waste your money.

    It was worse than watching a badly dubbed B movie. Most reviewers applaud the concept, but I seriously wonder how this even got past an editor, let alone onto the B&N review. Did they read it at all? Or not past the first sentence? (Which is where they put all the advertising hype). It was as though the author got paid merely to insert cliche zombie-fighting phrases/scenes at random. I'm not an Austen snob, but this could have been made into something much more believable. Don't waste your time, and don't waste your money.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    I found this to be boring and not funny at all...I could barely get through it...don't waste your money...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Disappointment

    Highly disappointed in this book. I thought it would be more intertaining, but went further and further into being ridiculous. I didn't expect it to be realistic (the title should give that away - Zombies), but the more I read the more uninterested I became. The beginning captured my interest, but it quickly faded. It was too easy to set aside and not feel the need to continue reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    If you like Austen and you like Zombies, this isn't necessarily for you.

    I picked this book up hardopy--the special edition that has the pictures. I wasn't impressed. I love "Pride & Prejudice" and read it once a year. It's the only romance novel I can get behind because thr nonsense at least makes sense for the time.

    What do I love more than just about everything? Zombies. I eat, sleep, and breathe zombies. Romance is typically for the feeble of mind and those desperate to escape the lack-luster reality of the truth of love. What do I hate? A flimsy attempt to inject the new world zombie into the old world romance with inflated interjections of deeply insulting idea that only martial arts can be taken by those associated with title or be of unquestioned nobility. Honestly, it is a vast undertaking to mix the two sorts of drama. It is a deeper well of inspiration one must draw from in order to mix the slow-moving zombies with the omnipresent danger of a terrible blight, the walking-pace Darcy and Liz take to overcoming their humanity toward one another, and the dazzling fanciments of Asian martial arts. I just didn't get it. I have never been a fan of Asian martial arts movies...or stories...or comics. There is just so much material to try and blend with not only the three main topics but also the strange persistence of British behavior and tradition, toilet humor, and overall...lack of credibility. That sounds completely strange, I know. The P&P world is plausible on most levels and ludicrous on others. The idea of the dead rising from the grave--recent or otherwise--is completely irrational on every level and is entirely terrifying (due to the social and political overtones, more than anything). The world often prtrayed by movies regarding the Asian martial arts is fanciful and inspiring but unreal all the same. All of these plots bring out the incredulity in almost everyone but the common factor is that within their own frameworks they make entire sense. Mixed together, the three violate the laws of everything the others hold sacred. P&P maintains that women are dependent on men and are almost wholly without independence of body, fortune, and mind. This is overturned by the modern Asian martial arts theme that enable women to not only be independent but require all women to have strategic thought outside of marriage, kids, and money. Further, the idea that bodies can be simultaneously without the bounds of gravity due to presence of mind and yet nearly cemented to the ground in the proposed non-presence of mind defies the shared proposition by all three universes that people are still able to walk freely no matter how empty their minds are.

    In short, and in closing, don't assume that you will love or like this book just because you like one or all of the themes presented by zombies, Pride and Prejudice, or Asian martial arts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    absolutely pointless.

    I like Pride and Prejudice and i like Zombies. So the two together would be pretty cool right? well i will allow the jury to stay out on that, based on that fact that this Seth Grahame-Smith person has no writing ability what so ever. You perhaps might think that adding zombies to an already well written novel would be easy, well it might be, but as soon as Seth started adding extra zombie filled sections purely for more zombies, its gets amazingly dry, the opposite of what was intended. I have paid for this book twice now so I plan on finishing it, (something my 4 other friends who have attempted to read this haven't been able to do ) but i almost put it down for good when Seth added a completely random penis joke at Pemberly. I am not a purest, I am not saying he ruined Pride and Prejudice. I am saying he took an otherwise entertaining novel, and some how made it as boring as a 4th grad film strip on on the life cycle of the common moth. The person who decided this book should have been published did not apparently read more than the first few chapters and simply enjoyed the concept. It really boils down to great concept, very poor execution. Be amused by the idea and then don't bother reading it. Any expectations you have of it are much higher than the book could ever live up to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Waste of money!

    I thought that this was the worst book that I have ever had the misfortune of reading. By far, the biggest waste of money ever! I was able to get through 3/4 of it (not an easy task) hoping that it would get better, but it never did. Finally, I just gave up. I hate spending money on a book and then having to give up on it. Do yourself a favor and don't bother wasting your time and money on it. If you are very curious about it, just borrow it from your local public library. I can't believe that the author was able to find a company to publish it. Whoever decided to do so must have been drunk that day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Austen - Not Zombies ... Missing!

    I love Pride and Prejudice. I love zombie movies. I thought that this book would be a no brainer. But, it turned out to be a dud. The battle scenes were fantastic. I loved reading about the parties and the fighting of the undead. But, the dribble about the men and the reasons that the ladies wanted or didn't want to get married was terrible. After about 20 pages I had had enough. The story was as boring as a local TV remake of pride and prejudice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WoW.

    This is one of the worst books that I've read... Yeah there was the action and the story line was the same but it was just all over the place... Its just better in this case to stick the original story..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Get this book from the library

    I must admit, I'm not much of an Austen fan. I read Pride and Prejudice and found it postured, tedious and trite. So what happens when you add zombies to the mix? You get a book that's postured, tedious and trite; but, with zombies. If you're not a Jane Austen fan, you probably won't like this book. If you are an Austen fan, you may just be offended by this book. Either way, if you must read it, take it out at the public library; help drop it off of the best sellers lists.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Seth Grahame Smith Ruined a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Even though this book my be very funny it is a disgrace to ruin such a masterpiece of writing. Jane Austen is one of the best authors overall and just because twilight is the new thing it does not mean that every book has to deal with zombies, vampires, or werewolves. I myself like twilight and stories like that ,but you don't have to come around and ruin a book that is already one of the best novels ever written. Pride and Prejudice is supossed to be about love and the differences between people not stupid zombies. People are out of their minds if they believe this is a better book. Seth Grahame Smith just ruined my favorite book and I think he is stupid for changing such an outstanding novel. All the authors now a days think they can make a book popular if they have zombies, vampires, or werewolves in it. Well it can actually ruin perfectly good books too!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    A travesty

    Perhaps, were I to hate Austen as much as Grahame-Smith clearly does, I would enjoy this book. Instead, I find myself longing to separate Grahame-Smith from his head, as his brains have clearly already been eaten by one of his zombies, any talent he may have had for writing gone with them. This book sucks on so many levels, I don't begin to know where to start.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Dislike

    I hated this book. Completely trashed a fantastic story. I also thought the writing was poor. I enjoy zombie lit, but wouldnt have missed anything if i had not picked this book up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No

    Just....NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    What a fraud

    This was a classic novel and some bored and pathetic author ruined it. I am ashamed to know that I even read this. Whoever wrote this should immediately end their career as a writer or at least learn from the best of the best i.e. Jane Austen herself.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    They let just anyone write anything they want these days

    ok this was the stupidest thing i have seen in my life. why in Gods creation did someone ruin Jane Austen's book Pride and Prejudice and add zombies..real mature. way to go just ruin everything you imature people.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Austen is rolling in her grave

    This book is a slap in the face to Austen and anyone who loves her timeless novels. The plot is completely unrealistic, ruins the characters. The writing is childish and overall it ruins a classic staple of literature. I would never recommend this to anyone, even my worst enemy. This author should try and write his own book rather than ruin anymore excellent pieces of literature.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Utter Disrespect

    In addition to the fact that this "novel" is dreadfully written, this is such disrespect to Jane Austen and the genius of her creation. It is quite disgusting! I do believe and amateur authored this work. My two year old nephew could have done much better, but then again I would never allow him to make a mockery of one of the world's most talented and influential writers.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7