BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Average Rating 3.5
( 1049 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(342)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(133)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Jane Austen ate my brain long ago!

And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of...
And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of Meryton where Elizabeth Bennet and her family reside nearby at Longbourn. Mr. Bennet extricated from his library has dedicated himself instead to training his five daughters from an early age in the deadly arts, traveling with them to China to attend Ninja finishing school with a Shaolin Master. His business in life was to keep them alive. The business of Mrs. Bennet's was to get them married. When Netherfield Park is let at last, Mrs. Bennet is hopeful that the new resident Mr. Bingley and his friends might marry one or another of her daughters. When Meryton society finally meets Mr. Bingley, they agree that he is was good-looking and gentlemanlike, but his fine friend Mr. Darcy with his noble mien gave immediate disgust even though he was reputed to have slaughtered more than a thousand unmentionables since the fall of Cambridge. After he slights Elizabeth, claiming her to be only tolerable and not handsome enough to temp him to dance, the warrior code in her demands she avenge her honour and open his throat with her dagger. Her warrior duty delays her instincts as the dance is suddenly invaded by a maraudring horde of unmentionables who break through the windows, attack the guests, and devour the head of Mrs. Long. Elizabeth and her four sisters rip out their razor-sharp daggers and make short work of beheading all the sorry stricken. Darcy watches in wonder, knowing of only one other woman in England that who could match her skill, her grace and precision. The spark has been ignited. The love, *cough* zombie story begins.

It is now "a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains." We continue along in this manner following Jane Austen's plot interjected with Grahame-Smith's fanciful parody of zombie bedlam. If the concept of Jane Austen's refined country gentry and gory zombie destruction are in conflict, think again. Like the warrior Bennet sisters who have refined their deadly skills into an art of precision and style, Grahame-Smith knows his zombie lore, skillfully incorporating a genre wholly at odds to the context of Jane Austen's elegantly refined prose, yet working within its strengths to achieve his goal to have fun with a literary classic, and well, lets face it, make money.

So who will like this book? Certainly not the Austen purist without a sense of humor. They will not even get past the gruesome cover. Not zombie fans, who will be annoyed having to trudge through a masterpiece of world literature to get to the scant zombie action. So that leaves the rest of us. Those loyal and devoted members of The Gentle Reprove and Witty Banter Society who, like Jane Austen, enjoy a good campy and gory Gothic novel, recognize tongue-in-cheek humor, and have been happily doing so for over 200 hundred years.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose

posted by Laurel_Ann on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Disappointing

I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wro...
I really, really wanted to like this book. I love zombie movies and Jane Austen and this book actually could have been really good. However, it suffers from some major downfalls, the two most grievous being an extreme lack of realism (for the context, don't get me wrong) and poor writing (not on Jane Austen's part).

My main problem was all the ridiculous nonsense about ninjas and dojos. I mean, come on. It is certainly believable that the sisters would have learned different fighting arts but traveling to the "Orient" and studying with martial arts masters? I doubt very seriously if they could have afforded to travel to China and it would have been much more realistic to have focused on European fighting methods. And the ridiculous "bloodlust" of Elizabeth Bennet and Darcy was completely out of character. Whoever said the characters remained true to Austen doesn't understand the characters. I couldn't get over the scene where Elizabeth kills three of Lady Catherine's ninjas and then eats part of one of their hearts.

The other major problem was the writing and editing. If you are going to try and follow another writer's style then you'd better get it right. It was painfully obvious that the author wasn't up to the task and that his editor couldn't catch his numerous mistakes. I haven't seen a book so poorly edited in quite some time.

I think this book could have been really excellent with a different author who isn't obsessed with ninjas. Honestly, it was like Kill Bill added to Jane Austen which if you like that movie, you might like this book. If they do make this into a movie, I hope they leave out all the ninja garbage and keep the characters true to who they are instead of modeling them after Uma Thurman in a Quentin Tarantino film. This book just had me wishing for the original.

posted by Hokie4VT on April 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Austen ate my brain long ago!

    And so Gentle Readers take heed. A mysterious plague has befallen Regency England killing the living and reviving them back to life as the undead who must feed on the living to survive. The conflict in town is fierce, spreading to the countryside and into the village of Meryton where Elizabeth Bennet and her family reside nearby at Longbourn. Mr. Bennet extricated from his library has dedicated himself instead to training his five daughters from an early age in the deadly arts, traveling with them to China to attend Ninja finishing school with a Shaolin Master. His business in life was to keep them alive. The business of Mrs. Bennet's was to get them married. When Netherfield Park is let at last, Mrs. Bennet is hopeful that the new resident Mr. Bingley and his friends might marry one or another of her daughters. When Meryton society finally meets Mr. Bingley, they agree that he is was good-looking and gentlemanlike, but his fine friend Mr. Darcy with his noble mien gave immediate disgust even though he was reputed to have slaughtered more than a thousand unmentionables since the fall of Cambridge. After he slights Elizabeth, claiming her to be only tolerable and not handsome enough to temp him to dance, the warrior code in her demands she avenge her honour and open his throat with her dagger. Her warrior duty delays her instincts as the dance is suddenly invaded by a maraudring horde of unmentionables who break through the windows, attack the guests, and devour the head of Mrs. Long. Elizabeth and her four sisters rip out their razor-sharp daggers and make short work of beheading all the sorry stricken. Darcy watches in wonder, knowing of only one other woman in England that who could match her skill, her grace and precision. The spark has been ignited. The love, *cough* zombie story begins.

    It is now "a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains." We continue along in this manner following Jane Austen's plot interjected with Grahame-Smith's fanciful parody of zombie bedlam. If the concept of Jane Austen's refined country gentry and gory zombie destruction are in conflict, think again. Like the warrior Bennet sisters who have refined their deadly skills into an art of precision and style, Grahame-Smith knows his zombie lore, skillfully incorporating a genre wholly at odds to the context of Jane Austen's elegantly refined prose, yet working within its strengths to achieve his goal to have fun with a literary classic, and well, lets face it, make money.

    So who will like this book? Certainly not the Austen purist without a sense of humor. They will not even get past the gruesome cover. Not zombie fans, who will be annoyed having to trudge through a masterpiece of world literature to get to the scant zombie action. So that leaves the rest of us. Those loyal and devoted members of The Gentle Reprove and Witty Banter Society who, like Jane Austen, enjoy a good campy and gory Gothic novel, recognize tongue-in-cheek humor, and have been happily doing so for over 200 hundred years.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A laugh, remember it's a parody!

    I was a purist at first. I'm such a purist that the ONLY P & P out there is the A and E version. So I immediately labelled this book as sacrilege and ready to burn the heretics that ever thought of such an idea and to ruin the most romantic book in the world (in my opinion). Then I slowly gave in. I went into a zombie phase were I watched the movies, and then read some books (World War Z as an example) and thought to myself. Fine, let's put my purist thoughts aside and give this book a chance.

    I do not regret it one bit. The moment I read the first few lines I just cracked up laughing. The thought of the sisters Bennett being a pack of Buffy's and instead of vampire slaying they're zombie slaying is just hilarious. They crash into a party, never fear! the Bennets are here! hahah. I loved every bit of this book. It stayed 90 percent true to the main plot with a few deviations here and there (you'll laugh about Mr Collins and Charlotte). Which I find perfectly acceptable. In my opinion, Elizabeth Bennet could kick Buffy's butt any day. She's got Shaolin training damnit! :D

    There are parts in the book where it can be extremely ridiculous but you will have to keep reminding yourself that this book is a parody of the actual story. To be prepared to take it all with a light heart (set all purist thoughts aside!) does help and makes the story much more enjoyable and a fun read all the way through. The book even supplies some very nice detailed illustrations for your viewing (or not) pleasure. Note, my favorite illustration? will have to be the last one. It made me laugh, but it gave me the warm fuzzies too. You'll see what I mean once you get there.

    I would say the only negative besides the little parts of over silliness? it's not for the faint of heart. Some parts are graphic and detailed. You just have to remember this is a parody and it's meant to be funny. If I can set aside my purist thoughts, I'm sure you can.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Call Colin Firth and make this movie now

    I have never been a fan of Pride and Prejudice but I am a big fan of zombies. this book is awesome, the satire is "biting" and the writing is really well done. As a bonus point my wife is happy I'm finally reading Pride and Prejudice.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So Much Fun

    If you can't get enough Jane Austen remakes or the retooling of her classic stories, then Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is for you. Seth Grahame-Smith carefully tweaks the Bennet sisters into skillful warriors, but keeps their characters intact. Jane is still exceedingly nice, Kitty is still silly, and Mrs. Bennett is still embarrassingly brash -- now they just have zombies to contend with. The plot is somewhat altered, some of the minor characters find themselves in different situations then the original, but the book is so much fun, the reader will not mind.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun

    This was just fun. fun fun fun. some people say that this helped them read Jane Austen. I could always read Austen, but this made if funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Definite "Unable to Put Down" Book

    When I first heard about this book, I was not interested at all. I was more insulted that this author had tampered with classic works of history. After hearing great reviews on it, I finally decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did. Seth transforms a literary classic into a zombie thriller in grace and style. It is not cheesy in any way. If I had never read Pride and Prejudice before, I would have assumed that this was the original book. Very well written, and flows perfectly. A great read for anyone who is interested in thrillers, or even just entertainment. It had me laughing and involved the whole way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My introduction to Jane Austen

    I've never been a classical literature person. I'm more drawn to sci-fi, fantasy and the occasional murder mystery, but I tell you, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was so captivating, I downloaded every Jane Austen novel to my nook! Grahame-Smith's introduction was key to my understanding and appreciating the project, so don't skip that part of the book.

    The audio book really made my drive time fly by. I wasn't able to listen to the entire book during my trip, so I finished it during my daily commute and would find myself sitting in my car upon arriving at my destination to hear a little bit more - I liken that to not being able to put a great book down.

    If you're new to Jane Austen and never thought you would find yourself interested in classic literature, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than I expected.

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is - as the British say - exactly what it says on the tin; a modern adaptation of the Austen classic where there happen to be Zombies. It goes a little beyond that - the Bennet sisters are master Zombie-killers, and there's rather more sexual inuendo - but in essence this is Austen's masterpiece simplified and modernized with a bucket of brains and blood thrown in. I wouldn't go so far as to say that Jane Austen would have approved of this adaptation, but I think she was capable of laughing at herself.

    I have a few nit-picky complaints about the book. One is about the illustrations, they are not of the highest quality (which is fine) but they misrepresent the period clothing. Anyone who has ever seen a Jane Austen movie knows about the cut of women's clothing from that era, and two second's research would have fixed this problem. Secondly, why does Elizabeth Bennet use a katana when she was trained in China rather than Japan? Surely she would use a Chinese sword. Katanas are the best swords in the world, yes, but a line about this would have been nice. I realise this book was essentially written as joke that just happened to hit the perfect note for thousands of people, but I must take it on its own literary merits. Over all I found it quite readable and enjoyable. I'd like to see more books in this vein; Mansfield Park with werewolves might be a great improvement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Young reader

    I like this book very much,and i love the movie Pride and Perjudice so I hope you will buy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Listening to a classic of English Literature being read by one w

    Listening to a classic of English Literature being read by one with a distinct British Accent, is a treat.  It is often difficult to distinguish all the words in this volume due to the Elizabethan language used in telling the tale and the various dialects used by the talented “voice” used to narrate this volume but this lends an authenticity to the book that I would have missed had I been the one reading it.  Add to the classic material of Pride & Prejudice the modern twist of zombies, without taking the original story out of its original place & the story loses only its “scared idol” status.
    The story found in the original Pride and Prejudice remains largely intact within this retelling.  Mr. Grahame-Smith “altered” the story line (according to the foreword, he made changes on every page) by adding a “plague of dreadfuls” being visited upon England.  The cause or origin of this plague is unknown to the reader.  This modern addition causes the comedy of manners, errors, class and culture that signifies the original to become less forgein to the 21st eyes now reading it.  The language of the “elite” who populate the majority of the story is stilled, laborious and over-stated, as would be expected. Match this with the opulence, strict rules of conduct that was typical of this era and the ever present possibility of being attacked by “members of Satan’s Army” and the result is a fun, funny, horrific, expected and delightfully fresh story.
    In the afterward, Mr. Grahame-Smith defends his choice in altering a classic piece of literature.  Citing the literary environment of the 18th century and the popular reading material of the time when Ms. Austin penned the classic, he reports that “monster” and “horror” stories, much like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, was published.  This book quickly became a best-seller, renewed an interest in the original and launched a new literary genre.  I imagine Ms. Austin would approve of his effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Very well done, Miss Austen would probably die of fright though

    I loved it! It kept the beauty of the story and added in that twisted bit we all love (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Not as good as Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter but still very ent

    Not as good as Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter but still very entertaining and surprisingly clever. Really liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good

    It was funnt and entertaning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good

    Finally I have finished, it just Zombies for me to actually read this classic. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Fun

    Note: 4.5 *'s
    Livened up the oringinal book. The illustrations were pretty impressive. A great read for those who have both read the actual P&P and those bored with P&P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    I did enjoy this book...an interesting take on the original, for sure. It was amusing how calmly they took the presence of zombies in the world, like it was no big deal! It is not Grahame-Smith's best effort though, but I can see how this prepared him for "Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter," which was a bit better overall. Still, all in all, was a good lunchtime read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great twist, really enjoyed it

    I loved the setting, keeping with Jane Austen's original text, characters and relationships. Who doesn't love a zombie story. I didn't see how it could be done and be interesting, but this was a lot of fun to read. I read all 3, but this was by far my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great Fun

    Perfect for the person who loves Pride & Prejudice, but also enjoys a good action movie every now and again. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Wow

    This book was not scaryat all! I like the blood and guts way better, this has nothing scary!!! So check it out ssee if you like it, and wright what you think about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Zombies are cool!

    Read this book in high school and thought the book was boring. My hubby loves zombies and suggested I read this. Still a boring read, but the zombies make it more exciting. Can't wait for the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15