Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Amazing

I didn't know how I would feel about this book when I first picked it up. I absolutely adored Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I didn't think it was possible to make a prequel. Elizabeth is as smart and snarky as you would expect her to be. I think any fan of Jane A...
I didn't know how I would feel about this book when I first picked it up. I absolutely adored Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I didn't think it was possible to make a prequel. Elizabeth is as smart and snarky as you would expect her to be. I think any fan of Jane Austen should definitely get into the zombified version of her books.

posted by Daniee on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I hated this book

I hated this book so much! I felt like it would never end! I never even finished the whole thing it was so bad. No one should ever read it!

posted by 10189110 on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Surprisingly Amazing

    I didn't know how I would feel about this book when I first picked it up. I absolutely adored Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I didn't think it was possible to make a prequel. Elizabeth is as smart and snarky as you would expect her to be. I think any fan of Jane Austen should definitely get into the zombified version of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Funny!

    Reviewed for MonsterLibrarian.com

    Yes, it's another mash up, a prequel to last year's smash hit Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. The dreadfuls fit rather well into the repressive, judgmental setting of Regency England (and into "stuffy" literature similar to what many were required to read in high school English class). The tone is wry, utterly sarcastic, yet intelligent as well. The story pits a young family of girls, whose father makes them pariahs by inviting a ninja master for the Orient to his home to train them, against the trickling return of the undead hordes from long ago and against love, society and preconceived notions. What follows is a classic comedy of errors.
    This book is simultaneously a mocking of classic literature, and a glorious example of fine writing, a metaphor for war against the aging and loss of innocence of children, and a call to stand up for what's right and not what's deemed proper by society. Austen's work hasn't been abandoned to a hack looking for easy money with this volume, but has been imprinted upon by an award winning, savvy writer who simply gets it, and deftly reminds readers that literature can be fun and unexpectedly poignant as well.
    Highly recommended for libraries, particularly those looking to expand a bare bones horror collection or meet the need of readers who prefer more mainstream tale to the hardcore horror books.
    Contains: Gore, poop jokes

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great fun, takes classic Jane Austen to a macabre new level!

    This is a great read for all who "had to read" any of Jane Austen for a required English credit.
    But such fun! Classic Victorian England combined with dare I say Zombies.
    This prequel sets the tone for all the series of classic "zombie" combinations.
    For those who enjoy the classics but like a wistful turn, read these!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Terrorific

    Seeing the Bennet sisters as zombie assassins was different. Lizzy was still mouthy self and Jane quiet but Mary was the change up. She was more a character than she was in the original pride and prejudice. Fast paced and if your a zombie reader this is a book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Loved it

    Knew i was going to enjoy this one from page one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not the full book but great

    I actually own the physical book and I love it. I have read it many times. I like that you get to see the Bennet sisters before they become the all powerful, weapon master, zombie killers that the are in the first book. Worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    So good!

    How can you not get to chapter 2? You have to read the whole book before you call it horrible, the first chapters are always boring. I loved the book, it wasnt as good as the first but it was still really good. I love Jane Austen and I love zombies; put 'em together.......that's my type of book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    I hated this book

    I hated this book so much! I felt like it would never end! I never even finished the whole thing it was so bad. No one should ever read it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Nicely done B&N!

    You matched Amazon's price! There is hope! Thank you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Loved it

    It was great. Spiced up an old classic... Im not a zombie fan but it was a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Great read!

    Took one of my favorite books and added such a new and interesting twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Good book

    Combined two of my favorite things zombies and pride and prejudice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Want to read

    I really want to read this book it looks very intresting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Fun read

    Great summer read. Laughed out loud several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    To below

    This book is soooooo worth the $$$$ but make sure u read the searys in order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Should i

    Im having a hard time deciding if i should read this.
    Please comment back if i should or not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    avid reader of off the wall

    this is my first reading of anything to do with vampires...I am not a vampire reader...I read again ,Pride and Prejudice before reading this version of the classic novel...I was greatly amused by the writers spin on a truly great novel...I found it very funny and well written...hope they do more...Trish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Fun read

    I am a big zombie fan and this was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    To, ?

    No, the athur that wrote this book also wrote ABRAHM LINCON VAMPIER HUNTER. He takes classics and puts zombies, vapiers and all of thouse things.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Looks cool

    I might try it looks cool

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11