BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Im very happy with this book. Its hard to read when you first get started but after the first few pages you wont be able to stop reading! LOVE THIS BOOK!

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Want a refund!

This book does not tell you that it is only a sample so you pay to only get the first 22 chapters and don't even get to the best part! Waste of money! Want a refund! Please tell me which version of pride and prejudice is full and is what jane austen actually wrote! I lo...
This book does not tell you that it is only a sample so you pay to only get the first 22 chapters and don't even get to the best part! Waste of money! Want a refund! Please tell me which version of pride and prejudice is full and is what jane austen actually wrote! I love this book but have yet to find a nook version that is satisfactory! Very disappointed and slightly angry! I shouldn't have to buy every version to find a good one!

posted by 17341332 on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Great book

    Im very happy with this book. Its hard to read when you first get started but after the first few pages you wont be able to stop reading! LOVE THIS BOOK!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    An endless classic

    Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s most well known and popular work, is most defiantly one of the major classics of our time. The story depicts life in the 19th century where marriage was for money and love was a revolutionary notion. Jane writes about the Bennett family which consists of 5 girls: Jane, Elizabeth, Kitty, Lydia and Mary. The house is run by a very frantic mother and aggravated father. Mrs. Bennett’s sole focus in life is to find suitable, rich bachelors for each one of her daughters. Austin’s belief in rationalism triumphs with the union of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, who in the beginning despised each other. Each daughter, having a completely different personality faces her own struggle in the book making to relatable to all kinds of audiences.
    Elizabeth Bennett, who is mostly the main focus of this book is a smart, witty young woman who is not afraid to say what is on her mind. Elizabeth is pressured immensely by her mother to find a husband, but she will only marry for love- a notion laughed upon in that time. Elizabeth deals with many issues in life such as her ghastly cousin who owns her property, her sister being entangled with a wealthy man, and most of all her confusing, hateful yet tender feelings for Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy.
    It is an exciting and dramatic novel that will keep you at the peak of your interest. The very beginning draws you in. The odd relationship between Darcy and Elizabeth is frustrating yet so exciting to see the development of their love for each other. However, in order to be together they must both overcome the pride that consumes them- this is one of the many obstacles they face in arriving at their love for each other.
    Another one of these obstacles is Elizabeth’s wretched family. Aside from her elder sister Jane, and her father, Elizabeth’s family is quite a wreck. Mrs. Bennett happens to be the main problem. Despite her immense and sincere love for her children, she comes off as quite the “gold digger” seeking only rich and distinguished men for her lovely daughters. This attitude rubs off on Mr. Darcy who then convinces Bingley-who is in love with Jane- to severe his ties with the Bennett’s. In addition to her crazy mother Elizabeth deals with her 2 younger sisters kitty and Lydia who are the perfect description of teenage girls. However, In the end Darcy and Bingly see past the distracting family and let their love for the 2 Bennett girls overtake them.
    The title is of great importance to the novel, it gives incite to the novel which helps you to understand it more. Pride is self- explained. It is the main theme of this book and we see it throughout. We see it in the attitudes of Darcy and Elizabeth as well as Mr. Collins- the ghastly cousin who seeks to wed one of the Bennett girls. Pride is the major flaw in both Darcy’s and Elizabeth’s personality. It is a conflict that they had to overcome in order to put their love for each other first. Prejudice is not portrayed as much as Pride but it shows that sometimes negative attitudes like that can skew what love you can really find in life.
    I highly recommend this book because it gives you not only entertainment, but a lesson on love and how to find true love you must lay down your pride and listen to your heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    One of the greatest stories ever written!!!

    This is one of my all-time favorite books and I am still in high school!!! I love Jane Austin as an author and I love all of her books. She was the one who got me into this time period of writing and I now have a hard time reading modern books. I highly recommened this book and all of Jane Austin's works!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Great book

    Great book i enjoyed reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    :)

    A good book for all readers

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love it :)

    This is the kind of love story i want to have...hmmm i wish my life was a storybook so i could just look ahead to see the future... :((

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Excellent Edition

    I very much enjoyed this edition of Jane Eyre. The footnotes for obscure references were extremely helpful. This was much more than I expected for $.99!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    So good

    Even thow i was like what? On some of the rant and the way they talk i love this book. It shows that you may hate someone to strt you can fall in love with them anyway.:) and it is hrad to type stuf right on the nokk so i so get it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    This is my favorite book

    I highly recommend reading this witty love story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    True Lovestory

    This is the perfect classic lovestory. If you like love stories, this is perfect for you. I highly recommed this but only for readers with good concentration excellent reading edurance and patience. I loved this book. I loved Mr. Darcy from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    F

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Ana U Whats up

    Best classic story ever writen!!!!!!!!!!!!!














    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    One of my favorite

    One of my favorites. I've read it twice in two months.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    best ever!!!!!

    this is one of the best books to read and enjoy. the beginning is a little weird to read but u manage and the story develops and u just cant put the book down. i hope u give this book a chance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!

    Whats wrong with you people who are against reading this book. I promise you that you will enjoy Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy's arguements and then finally their happiness. Also you will enjoy Elizabeth crazy sisters some who have silly girly dreams of marry fine rich gentleman and having good sons and daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great rwad this review!!!!!

    I want to get this book so i just got the free sample.....its almost 300 pages long!!!!!! So if ur iffy on the buy(even if it only costs a buck) get he free sample!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    GREAT!

    Just amazing! All I can say!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I wana get it

    I really really really really really want this book but im on my moms stupid credit card and i cant get it and ………………… so yeah …………………………………

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Recommended!!!

    I loved this book. I have also watched the movie "Lost In Austen" prefebly the same most favorite combination on a friday night. Highly recommended. Both recommended. Highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Excellent

    I really like reading this book a lot. It sounds like a pretty great and awesome book to read. I don't think ages 5- 11 year olds should not read this story bby themselves before they go to bed or to sleep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2